We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit outside”

River City Cafe & Espresso
Ranked #2 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Fairbanks
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
243 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Sit outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We ate at the River City Café and sat outside. You can access it from either street. Good soup and meatball sandwich and French dip. Desserts looked really good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GloriasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    43
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to grab lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent sandwiches with a "hole in the wall" ambiance. Convenient location in "downtown" Fairbanks. We ate here a total of 3 times while in Fairbanks because the food was good and the location so convenient

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Central Coast
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Loved the cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Springhill Suites and were searching for coffee one very cold morning before a sled dog race on 2nd Ave. We went to this cafe based on a local's recommendation and loved it so much we went back several times during the week for coffee, breakfast, and lunch. The menu is varied with breakfasts, soups, salads, and sandwiches. Our lattes were always perfect, and the breakfast and lunch wraps were terrific. In addition, the cafe folks were very friendly and efficient. There were always a number of customers, a mixture of locals and tourists, which was a positive sign. We recommend this cafe highly and hope to go back if traveling to Fairbanks again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalmSpringsVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

They have a variety of food to choose from and its within walking distance to most downtown shops. I like having a variety working in the downtown area. We also have local events and it helps tourist find food easily.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConnieK331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I ended up having lunch here two days, both soups and both excellent. Popped in one night for hot chocolate...best I had in Alaska.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveTheGalapagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Cafe & Espresso also viewed

 

Been to River City Cafe & Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing