We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good enough for a couple of days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good enough for a couple of days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Loved the hanging baskets and the staff! The staff was really nice and the food was very good at the Chena Alaskan Grille. They even do carry out. One night, I brought my food back to the room. As for the room, don't expect much because every hotel in Fairbanks is really expensive in Fairbanks compared to the lower 48. The TV in my room mostly didn't get any of cable channels, but who wants to watch TV while in AK? The bed was pretty hard and isn't one of the fancy kind that they have in many chain hotels these days. Also because of the humidity and age, the rooms have a musty smell that probably can't be avoided in the little huts. They did provide shampoo, etc... useful for those who fly in. It is really close to the airport, so they can arrange pick up and drop off. The Internet was spotty in my room, but worked fine in the main part of the hotel. Overall it was okay for a couple of nights.

This place would be great for young couples or families with kids. I liked it there. Don't expect it to be like a Hilton or Marriott. It would be okay for vacationers, I think. Not so good for folks who have to be at meetings or doing work.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedsNEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    118
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
64
149
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Carson, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

What is not to like. The hotel staff was great in everything they did from the service of the rooms to the service of the food/breakfast/lunch. For our retreat, we had breakfast with the full menu and coffee always available at anytime. The rooms were nice and cozy. Great for a traveling couple or a small family.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

They said they had high speed internet, but that was broken for the first 4 days, and after that it was so slow I could not download my email. They said they would provide shuttle service to and from the conference (university) but balked on that (we ended up renting a car). The room service was very inconsistent (some days no clean towels). One of the women at the front desk was rude and unfriendly. Would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighBStoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I loved these little cotteges. They were cute and comfortable, overlooking the quiet river. I ate at the restaurant on site, and it was good. The breakfast is not included, and it's not spectacular...though it does foot the bill. Overall, I was pleased with the stay, and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcgreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel is ok, remember to choose the cottages with number inferior to 160 because they are not facing the highway. The real problem is Fairbanks: there is very little to do. We took a flight to the arctic circle and it was great, if you are going to Fort Yukon bring some food or buy it with the airline (do not believe to the front desk of the hotel who tells you that there are two restaurants there!). In Fairbanks don't spend more than two hours. Internet connection is very very weak, but they have a business center with a good internet connection and a printer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zazzo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed here through a Princess Cruise tour. The cottages were very comfortable, clean and quiet. Our cottage was near the highway, and we never heard a thing. The only complaint I would have is there is only one restaurant available for lunch and dinner, and the prices are kind of high, eventhough the food is great. The breakfast buffet offered by the resort was plentiful and delicious, good price. The staff was very helpful with arranging transportation to area locations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our night at the Rivers Edge Resort! The cabins were surprisingly modern and comfortable. We had a riverside one, very peaceful and private. The dinner at the Chena restaurant was delicious, expensive (everything in Ak seems to be). The breakfast buffet was excellent, but there are no other options if you're not hungry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txstransplantnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#6 of 24 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
3.4 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#11 of 24 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Property: River's Edge Resort
Address: 4200 Boat St, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An afternoon on a sunny riverbank exemplifies the best of Interior Alaska; this place is built around that knowledge. Trim little cottages stand in a grassy compound along the gentle Chena River. Inside, each light, airy cottage is an excellent standard hotel room, with high ceilings and two queen beds. Outside, they're like a little village, where guests can sit on the patio, watch the river go by, soak up the midnight sun and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Fairbanks
Rivers Edge Fairbanks
River's Edge Resort Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing