We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place has a 10 on my scale for everything. The room was clean, breakfast was excellent, we took a walk after breakfast the surrondings were very clean from hotel plus all the staff were very helpful. Thanks again

Nelson & Angelika

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 352 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

On entering the grounds you are struck ny the gorgeous baskets of summer flowers and the immaculate grooming of the grounds. The resort is made up of what appeared to be mobile homes, but upon entering the lovely unit it is obvious they are simply individual rooms which are nicely appointed and squeaky clean. Don't let appearance fool you. A very nice stay we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

7/22-23/13
We had a cabin on the main walk booked through NCL on a tour. Several other cruise lines use this site as well. We spent two days there and ate in the old main dining room. The dining room has been beautifully restored to back when only the rich traveled. We only ate breakfast there twice. Found the food very good. Tne complete buffet breakfast was about $16 and the continental was about $12. Had both. There was plenty to eat on the continental breakfast unless you wanted meat. All meals in Alaska are pricey and one just has to get used to it. Never got to eat in Chena's. Did sit up on the porch when the restaurant wasn't open in the morning. Heard from my friends that the crabcakes were very good. I flew to the Artic Circle instead. I was picked up at the office. The price of cigarettes is $11-12 for comparison if you haven't been to Alaska. This puts prices in perspective. About like eating at the Cheese Cake Factory for every meal.. The river had a path along the edge where you can see eagles flying and sitting in trees. Bench there too. One was sitting in a tree in the RV park next door about 15 feet above my head.. The cabins are charming, super clean and the beds are good. The cabins look like they were just built and they are about 5 years old. Two cabins are connected so thaey can be used by families. Couldn't hear noise from the other room; Coffee in the room. Hearsay is that the owner is from old gold money that filtered down through the ages. If so they have certainly provided a good place to stay. Believe they have a local shuttle. I was picked up by Priemier Tours. Really great tour company that operates out of there too. Check other reviews on trip advisor like I do.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool; There is the Chena River but you can't swim in it because of the curr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Cute, roomy, clean cabins. Staff very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast is good but closes earlier than us late risers would have liked. On premises restaurant was very good for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A great little cottage but not close to town. The flowers are absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The onsite restaurant was excellent. We ate there both nights and eating outside was very special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portogreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was disappointing to have a cabin overlooking the main road when I had booked several months earlier.I had personally gone into the hotel several days before our stay to arrange a pick-up from the airport and, despite it being written in the diary, no one arrived to pick us up and we had to arrange our own transfer.
The cabins are really nice and well -equipped but there was quite a lot of traffic noise from coaches picking up Princess cruise guests - perhaps they had all the rooms away from the road!
The Chena restaurant was excellent and continental breakfast at the resort was a very good value $7.95.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice surprise. Individual cabins that were clean and private. Very good value for the money. Many of the cabins overlook the river. Members of the staff were very accommodating. Would recommend this place as a nice alternative to the hotel chains.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wi_travelor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.7 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Address: 4200 Boat St, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $192 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An afternoon on a sunny riverbank exemplifies the best of Interior Alaska; this place is built around that knowledge. Trim little cottages stand in a grassy compound along the gentle Chena River. Inside, each light, airy cottage is an excellent standard hotel room, with high ceilings and two queen beds. Outside, they're like a little village, where guests can sit on the patio, watch the river go by, soak up the midnight sun and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Fairbanks
Rivers Edge Fairbanks
River's Edge Resort Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing