We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cottages with beautiful hanging flower pots”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Cozy cottages with beautiful hanging flower pots”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights on the land portion of a cruise. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was tasty, and we enjoyed the two meals at Chenas restaurant next door. We were especially happy to see the air conditioning, as it was 95 deg. outside

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jehorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    140
    50
    12
    6
See reviews for
81
165
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is past it's prime and needs some redoing, especially in view of new competing chain hotels in town. It appears that its tour group business is what keeps it going. Wireless doesn't work in 400 to 600 rooms so one has to sit in the lobby access the net. Fairbanks is the hottest place in Alaska yet the air conditioning is so-so, especially in the public areas. The associated restaurant next door has great food but suffers from the same need of a redo. Weakest point of what was otherwise a great Alaskan trip.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building rooms 100 to 300.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The AC works great, the beds are comfortable, the cabin was clean, had private patio, and it was lovely to walk along the river. We are more comfortable here than we were the night before at Princess Danali, and the Chena Restaurant has amazing food!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cottages which have the same footprint as a small to average size motel room. Everything was clean and the air conditioner worked. Their restaurant was amazing is probably the best thing of this motel. The wildfires were burning while we were there so we tried not to spend very much time outside.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihatescreennames51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Cute little cottages along the Chena River. Nice grounds--loved the hanging flower baskets. Clean and comfortable.
Glad for the air conditioning during what was unusually high heat--high 80s.
Last night of our Princess land tour, so more interested in comfort which River's Edge provided.
Calling the front desk from room was a joke! Each time I tried, I got a busy signal. Easier just to walk to desk.
Breakfast buffet was tasty. Enjoyed the dinner at Restaurant on the premises, salmon Caesar salad good but maybe a bit pricey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2JsNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The rooms are not clean. I pulled down the bed sheets and found wadded up tissues. There were two beds in the room and both beds had used sheets. It was 1:00 in the morning and the desk clerk had no clue how to resolve the problem. By 2:30 am we were finally in a clean room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the quaint cottage on the Chena River that I rented for 5 days. The cottage was very clean and the grounds are well kept with beautiful hanging baskets. The location on the river with a small sliding glass door that opens to a private patio with chairs and table made for a wonderful location to read or have a glass of wine while watching the locals float down the river or buzz by on boats and jet skis. As expressed in other posts, the bathroom is small but I found it adequate. The decor is a cottage motif with flowers and decorative pillow which is not my style but suited the cottage atmosphere. The ceiling in the cottage is vaulted which gives a nice open feeling to the interior.

I found the free airport shuttle timely and the driver a delight to converse with. The two gentleman that checked me in were friendly and helpful. I did eat at Chena's Alaskan Grill which is on the property and found the food good as compared to other resturants I have tried in Fairbanks. I will review it seperate of this review also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.4 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#12 of 23 in Fairbanks
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Property: River's Edge Resort
Address: 4200 Boat St, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#5 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An afternoon on a sunny riverbank exemplifies the best of Interior Alaska; this place is built around that knowledge. Trim little cottages stand in a grassy compound along the gentle Chena River. Inside, each light, airy cottage is an excellent standard hotel room, with high ceilings and two queen beds. Outside, they're like a little village, where guests can sit on the patio, watch the river go by, soak up the midnight sun and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Fairbanks
Rivers Edge Fairbanks
River's Edge Resort Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing