We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed in a cottage 2 nights. The cottage was very clean and neat. The bathroom was updated but small. The staff was very friendly. The cottage was pretty private but near the highway (wasn't noisy), would have preferred a riverfront view but away from all of the buses that idled near the lobby. Very neat grounds (the tons of rocks help). Breakfast on-site was reasonable. This was my boyfiend's favorite place to stay out of the five we stayed at while in Alaska.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letitride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 352 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only spent one night but really enjoyed the cabins. Like others have mentioned, it is nice not to have a common wall with another room. We thought the cabins were very comfortable and good sized.
The fact that I didn't rate it excellent has nothing to do with the resort. It is because it is so far from everything.
I agree with the guest who mentioned that the wi fi was non existent. But they do have a free computer in the lobby.
Flowers are beautiful

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick and Mer... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of our land cruise in Alaska. The property is well maintained and the cottages are very quiet since there is no connecting wall to your neighbor. The grounds are pretty, although we arrived too late to enjoy them. Not many of the cottages are on the river with a view, but on a one stop night, it didn't really matter. There is a restaurant on site and another within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The little cottage room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. The bathroom was small but had nice ammenities, a hair dryer, plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The hotel staff was friendly and the flowers all around the property were gorgeous. While I wouldn't say this is a resort like you'd find with spas and golf courses, for a property that is open only a few months each year it is well maintained and operated. It was pleasant for a quick stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HikinChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a waste of money. We booked because the "resort" represented itself as having charming river front cottages with wifi. The cottages were barely acceptable, the bathrooms tiny, and the wifi non-existent. The manager kept blaming the wifi problems on Apple products (IPads, IPhones, etc) instead of accepting responsibility for their failure to provide working wifi service.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzaleaWarne_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The photos and descriptions of this place are somewhat misleading. Yes, they are individual cottaqes with SOME of them located overlooking the river. What they fail to tell you is that they are also next to the highway. We had what had to be the worst room, located at the entrance, next to the driveway and the highway. The traffic noise was very loud, as was the noise of the cars turning in and driving on the gravel driveway. Not to mention the cruiseline buses, which were the worst.

We went to the front desk after the first night of very little sleep and requested to move to a riverfront cottage away from the highway. Gregory told us that he had one for us, and we asked him if we needed to do anything to hold it. He said "No, I run this front desk so I would be the person taking care of it." He promised us a move the next morning. After a second night of listening to traffic and tires crunching gravel, we went to the front desk and the girl working told us that they were sold out and we could not transfer. I asked her where Gregory was, as he had promised us the move, and she said he wasn't in that day. So much for running the front desk.

Positve points - the individual cottages mean that you don't hear neighbors through the walls or above or below you, and you can park right in front of your cottage.

Negative points - our room had signage designating it as non-smoking, but it smelled awful, like an old ashtray. I don't know if the non-smoking is a new direction for them, if so they did nothing to remove the smell of a lot of previous smoking. Our room wasn't all that clean, there were hairs on the baseboard heater in the bathroom. I cleaned them up myself with an antibacterial wipe as I couldn't stand to look at them by the second day when they still didn't clean them up while freshening our room. Breakfast is only served until 9:00 am, which is tough to make if you don't get to bed at a decent hour. And of course, the noise. The endless traffic noise from the highway and the gravel driveway. We didn't get very much sleep during our stay, and what we did get was interrupted when someone would drive into the driveway. I was exhausted after 4 nights of this and happy to leave.

Room Tip: Get a river front room as far away from the highway and driveway as possible. It's your only hop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A decent place to stay for a couple nights. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Good service and a nice breakfast! The one concern was the shuttle buses should be routed differently. Shuttles come in and out all night right outside the Main Lodge and were left running for long periods of time so we did not get very good sleep. It appeared that if you would stay in some of the cottages this could be avoided.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNSalesman1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
399 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Address: 4200 Boat St, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#5 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $192 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An afternoon on a sunny riverbank exemplifies the best of Interior Alaska; this place is built around that knowledge. Trim little cottages stand in a grassy compound along the gentle Chena River. Inside, each light, airy cottage is an excellent standard hotel room, with high ceilings and two queen beds. Outside, they're like a little village, where guests can sit on the patio, watch the river go by, soak up the midnight sun and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Fairbanks
Rivers Edge Fairbanks
River's Edge Resort Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing