We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Chena River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is right on the Chena River. It is typical Springhill, which we enjoy. It was crazy at breakfast with some tours involved, but the staff did a great job. We were checked in within minutes, and our room was fine. Everything was clean and the staff did a great job taking care of their guests. They do not have enough parking in their lot for all the customers, but you can park on the street in front or in a parking ramp(they will pay for it). Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RLM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 580 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel overlooks a beautiful river and is within easy walking distance of the visitors center, art gallery, and shops and restaurants. The restaurant on property, Lavelle's, is quite good although it is not a Marriott restaurant and you cannot charge your meals to your room. We enjoyed leisurely walks around the scenic and beautiful riverfront and appreciated the complimentary shuttle service that provided both train station pickup and drop off at the airport, as well as transportation to and from the wonderful Riverboat tour. I highly recommend the riverboat tour, which unexpectedly was a highlight of our 12-day Alaskan adventure. We took the train from Denali to Fairbanks and the ride was very scenic and beautiful. Guides explained much about the topography and wildlife and we learned a lot about the geology and history, too. The hotel is among the best in Fairbanks. The rooms are spacious and comfy with a desk and fridge. The hot tub, pool, laundry facilities and buffet breakfast were all welcome amenities which we used and enjoyed. Surrounding the hotel are gift shops, restaurants, the visitor center, a small history museum about Fairbanks. Ask for a room facing the river and enjoy the view. I'd recommend the staff add postage stamps to their supply so guests writing postcards don't have to go looking. It's a small courtesy and I'm sure your guests would appreciate being able to buy them. We appreciated the cleanliness of this hotel and the location in the center of town. Don't miss the art gallery about a mile from the hotel. It's filled with regional artists. And the museum at the visitor center is quite worth the time spent. The movies there are also very interesting, especially the one on the Northern Lights. And it is free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

After trying 6 different hotels in Fairbanks, I finally stayed in Springhill Suites by Marriott and can affirm this is the best hotel in Fairbanks. The price is not much higher than other hotels, but it has a lot of advantages: nice swimming pool and hot tub, modern gym with 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical trainers and many weights, very comfortable and quiet rooms with a kitchenette (microwave, fridge and coffee maker), a wonderful view to the river/park and very nice and attentive staff. I highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: A view to the river/park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The suites by M. are really nice. I loved the small kitchenette and the separate areas for sleeping and eating. The beds are comfortable and the room was impeccable. One morning we had the free breakfast and it was great. No complains at all. The staff was extremely courteous and professional. I liked the location right in the downtown area. Griffin park is within walking distance.
My kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Everything was clean and nice. The tv reception was not working well, but we really didn't care. The hotel has some restaurants walking distance and gift shops as well. The Ice Museum is closed by and it's a must go.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 11Gladness11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel was very nice. The suite was large and comfortable. We arrived early and the shuttle met us quickly. We were unaware of the local festival in Fairbanks so our early check in wasn't possible but the staff were very helpful by storing our luggage. The bout tub and pool were nice and relaxing and the morning breakfast had lots of choices. Overall, a nice experience.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CCW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed by awesome staff on the front desk !!! Being a regular Marriott customer we were provided a huge suite with terrific views of mountains !!

The breakfast served was nice and the servers were courteous and nice. The location is very central to downtown Fairbanks and walkable to all restaurants ....

I will surely stay here again

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Harry37NewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice downtown location. I liked the design and comfort of the room however it had a very bad smell. It looked clean but the odor was strong. Room had a microwave and small refrigerator yet the refrigerator did not work. Nice flat screen TV but very poor quality on the channels.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Hello Ty B,

I recently received a copy of your review and want to thank you for the feedback. Our goal is to provide great service and great rooms, but it sounds like on your stay we didn't meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology.

There is no excuse for the refrigerator not working or for the odor in the room, I will pass your comments on to our maintenance and housekeeping managers, and they will address it right away. I too would not want to stay in a room with a bad odor.

Thank you for the positive comment as well.

Great journeys,

Rebecca Eaton
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,245 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks

Address: 575 1st Avenue, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $116 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, an all-suite hotel in downtown Fairbanks, Alaska located next to the Chena River. Our accommodations feature separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, and they provide guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites By Marriott Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing