We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large rooms - but a bit outdated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Large rooms - but a bit outdated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at the SpringHill Suites for 2 nights on a business trip.

The room was a little pricy ($200/night) and outdated, but gigantic!

The hotel outside is nice looking and in good shape. It is conveniently located along the Waterfront, right in front of the Downtown Market (Mondays, 4-8 p.m. in June, July, August, September). There is a great walking/running/biking trail that runs eastward on the south side of the river.

The lobby and breakfast area at the front were very nice and large.
Two computers and a printer available to guests.
There is a small fitness room, larger pool and Jacuzzi on the 1st floor.

2 elevators (quite slow) serve 6 floors.

I was on the 5th floor and my room was totally non-smoking, clean, quite sound-proof and equipped with black out shades which was handy for the summertime.
The room decor is outdated - pale green theme.

Room amenities:

- Alarm clock
- Small fridge
- Microwave
- Coffeemaker - no tea, only coffee
- Plastic utensils
- Working desk
- Free WiFi - moderate to strong signal
- Large flat screen TV

Room ventilation includes a fan, and a wall-controlled AC which regulates the temperature very efficiently.

Breakfast is complimentary and served from 6:30 - 9:30 a.m. on weekdays; 7:00 - 10:00 a.m. on weekends. There is a variety of hot and cold items including: oatmeal station, waffle maker, breads/muffins, eggs/potatoes/sausages, yogurts and fruit.

CONCLUSION:
I liked this hotel, no major complaints, however prices were a little steep.

The Good:
- Conveniently located
- Large rooms
- Staff are friendly
- Good breakfast given that it was complimentary

To Improve:
- For breakfast, swap out the Styrofoam plates and utensils (not ECO friendly) for non-dispensable ones.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smirshner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    247
    74
    22
    12
See reviews for
112
184
54
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmi, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent 10 days in Fairbanks staying at the Spring Hill Marriott, it should have a 5 star rating. The hotel is incredible with a very inviting and modern lobby. The rooms are very spacious and clean with excellent views of the riverfront park. The free breakfast is more like a breakfast buffet with everything you could ever want for breakfast. The swimming pool and hot tub are nice,clean and very well maintained. The gym is amazing although we did not use it. The hotel is centrally located to everything in Fairbanks and walking distance to museums and several wonderful restaurants. At last but not least we can not say enough about the staff, they were friendly and courteous answering every question we had and always greeting us at the door with a smile. When we come back to Fairbanks it will be where we stay and we highly recommend the Springhill Suites Marriott to everyone.

Room Tip: The 6th floor is very quiet and has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

i've stayed at both the westmark and springhill - the springhill clearly beats the westmark. the lobby is a little old and can use an upgrade, but the rooms are well kept, very clean, and quiet. free parking, standard springhill amenities, will stay here again if i'm back in fairbanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noriyasu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANCHORAGE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Chena River is across the street with a bike/walking trail that passes the Cultural Center, a great stop for tourists, with very friendly folks working there. The hotel is nice and clean; free breakfast included with lots of choices: fresh fruit, eggs, cereal, pastries, bagels, etc. There are several restaurants in the area (Thai, Mexican, Greek, Italian, BBQ and several deli's as well). The only 2 things that were a little disappointing were that the TV in the room does not have a guide to see what's playing when, and there's no TV listing in the daily newspaper (which is free, at the front desk). Hopefully, you'll only go to your room to sleep! And if you need something from a drugstore, there aren't any close by within a few blocks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor for the best views, with the gentle Chena River flowing right acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Finally a hotel where you are not afraid to sit on the bed. The bedspread is white and clean. The rooms are spacious; you have a separate sitting area with a kitchenette, so you have somewhere to heat up leftovers, refrigerate water and make coffee. The showers have good pressure and ample hot water, while the sink and mirror are outside the shower area, which is convenient. It has a restaurant associated with it (Lavelle's) that is said to be one of the best, although pricey. I have not yet eaten there. It is in a good location, near the water, near the ice museum and the courthouse. The only downside is the breakfast area uses styroform pllates and bowls. It is very disconcerting to pour hot oatmeal in one of the bowls and you can feel the bottom getting thinner and know how dangerous that is for your body. Very disappointing and I hope it changes. The eggs at times were griddy too, but there are other options that taste good. The workout area is small but doable if you are alone and they do have an indoor pool. They do have a few cookies in the afternoon but not enough so hurry down.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and next to the elevator. It was still very quiet in spite of the location n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainiershadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We liked this room and the foyer for the glacier-like colors and decor. As others noted, the beds were very comfortable, the room was clean and spacious, and --a plus--the attached bistro restaurant, LeVelle's or some similar name, had really great food. A bit spendy but great.

We also ate at Frontier Pizza at the Co-op Diner across the street, and their food was great and a much better price. Homey plain atmosphere but super friendly husband and wife owners.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Myself and my family stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2014. The hotel is in an excellent location and was within walking distance of many services in Fairbanks, including the Morris Thompson Cultural Centre and the excellent Soapy Smith's Pioneer restaurant. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help. Rooms were large and clean with coffee making facilities, free WiFi, comfortable beds and a tasty free breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay there and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 132DanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.8 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Property: SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Address: 575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in downtown Fairbanks next to the Chena River. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing