We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
WEST MILFORD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location of the hotel is pretty central in Fairbanks so walking to attractions is not a problem. The room was very nice, big, comfortable. The front desk is extremely helpful and friendly. The restaurant serves nice stuff but is rather pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvbeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    247
    74
    22
    12
See reviews for
112
184
54
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

One night stay here. Central location, with parking, which is limited. The room I had was clean and modern. Nice colours. Bed comfortable. Fairbanks is pretty dead downtown at the end of April, so you will have to drive to get something to eat though. Breakfast was one of the better ones I had at a hotel on this trip. Saying all of this, there are better values in Fairbanks.

Room Tip: High room is suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briantoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
363 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We are 'Marriott People' and use our Marriott points at hotels when we travel. For our Alaska vacation we stayed at Marriot hotels in Anchorage (Residence Inn Midtown) and in Fairbanks - SpringHill Suites Fairbanks. We arrived by train and had a snafu right away - the desk attendant told us their shuttle would arrive at the train station in 15-20 minutes; we called again after 25 minutes and the manager told us the shuttle had gone to the airport to get some other people and wouldn't be at the train station for another 30 minutes. So, that was disappointing because we were a total of 5 cranky adults who'd traveled to 4 Alaskan cities together in 7 days but the manager called a local taxi which arrived quickly and the hotel picked up the cost of the taxi - which seems to be a tradition in Alaska because that also happened to us in Anchorage when the shuttle was not available when we called them from the airport. However, when we arrived at the hotel our rooms were ready and keys were already in their little folders, we played some kind of 'spin the wheel' game and won 2 free items from the marketplace (my husband - the one with the sense of irony - chose 2 Klondike Bars), and when we saw our rooms on the 6th floor we were happy.

I've never seen such a large room at a SpringHill Suites - and I've stayed in about 10 over the past several years. This was vast with a view of the river - half of the room was a long counter with microwave, fridge and several cabinets with an 8 foot couch on the other side of the room. The other half of the room was a King Size bed, and the bathroom was divided into a sink area and a toilet and shower room. As is usual with SpringHill Suites, the flat screen TV was in between the bed and couch and you could swivel the TV so that if one person was sleeping in the King Size bed the other can still stay up and watch TV - my favorite feature of a SpringHill Suites. The bed was comfortable, the shower was easy to use and I really liked that room. The next morning the breakfast was very good - standard waffled, scrambled eggs, sausage, juice, fresh fruit coffee but this breakfast included zucchini bread which was a nice touch as well as a platter of ham, cheese, and hard boiled eggs. After breakfast the staff kindly drove our group to the Museum of the North on the campus of the University of Fairbanks - about 5 miles away - saving us a $30 taxi ride.

Other perks in the area are a nice river walk along the river in a small park filled with flower beds and information about the history of the area. A gift shop just a block behind the hotel (away from the river) called If Only had a great selection of items and good prices. So, we were glad to stay here on our night in Fairbanks and would stay here again. Which employees were standouts? Ellen was fantastic and Jenny was also very helpful.

NOTE: This hotel has a pool which we did not try. However, the number of people coming to breakfast in bathing suits and towels told us that many guests do try the pool.

Room Tip: Our family had 613 (2 Queen Beds and a couch) and 615 (King Size Bed). These rooms face the river a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HistoryLover2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel staff at the reception- Jenny and James- in particular were very helpful. We need a few prints of a ticket, and the business center computer was not allowing us to open a pdf. Jenny and James gave us their official email address, opened the attachment and printed it out for us. We were able to go on our trip thanks to their help! Even the following day, while we were going on an Arctic circle trip, one of the hotel cleaning staff (short lady with light hair- kicking myself for not remembering her name) loaned us a thick blanket so we could keep ourselves warm on the trip. The hotel is run by very considerate people and we so appreciated it.
Our flight was 6hr after our check out, and we waited with another couple in the lobby for 3-4 hrs. We had complimentary internet and unlimited coffee while we waited. They also had an airport/train pick up/drop- make sure you call in advance or they may be out on a trip and it could be a long wait. Additionally, it also seemed like they allowed customers to use the shuttle to go to the local walmart to pick up things for their trips. Really really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A standard Marriott Hotel which provided me with what I expect from my preferred hotel family chain. As you can typically expect, the rooms are well designed, well appointed with above average amenities. The beds are comfortable and the room was clean.

I have no complaints or compliments in regards to my stay at this particular hotel. The only thing I found odd was the light staffing of the front desk. There appeared to be one person at the desk with a manager/supervisor who was not interested in helping guest check out. I didn't need to wait more than a few minutes and it was early but struck me as different than other hotels where I have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucketjack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Marriott family hotel, all rooms are suites with a fridge and microwave... Rooms are nice, mattress firm (good firm)
Gym is pretty good and the breakfast is included and has lots of variety.
Location is good, close to restaursnts

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murlirao2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulmarra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked here for four nights before a trip to Coldfoot in March 2013. Room was great value, spacious, comfortable and had a senior's rate. Phone call to the room to see the Northern Lights was greatly appreciated. Breakfast supplied each morning was standard but adequate. The location was very good, being on the main street (Cushman) and easy access to highways etc for sightseeing drives. Parking generally ok, but retuning after 1am, only 3 handicapped spaces were available, which carried a $125 fine.
While there was usually only one staff on duty at the desk, patience and good manners were rewarded with great service.
Unfortunately, my husband had a fall and broke a leg on the Coldfoot trip so I ended up staying a further three weeks at the hotel while he was in hospital. During this time, the staff were most obliging. The use of the hotel shuttle to transport me to and from the hospital at no cost extended to the use of taxis if the shuttle was not available, all at no cost to me.
Locals staying at this hotel displayed the friendly nature shown by all Alaskans encountered by us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurieandvanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
0.5 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Property: SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Address: 575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in downtown Fairbanks next to the Chena River. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing