We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aurora Borealis Home Base in Fairbanks, Alaska”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Center of town and near everything, comfortable, serviceable hotel for a northern lights adventure. Breakfast included, but it's a mob scene. Rent a car; go out to Cleary Summit around midnite. Sleep late, go to Sourdough Cafe across town. Come to Fairbanks during the ice sculpture competition. Ignore the staffs' bruskness; you are there for aurora and its soul healing magnificence.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 574 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed two different nights at this hotel (before and after chasing the aurora at Chena Hot Springs) - both stays were great. On one night, we overlooked the river; the second stay, we overlooked the town. Rooms were great, refrigerator/coffee maker a plus, the beds were super. Breakfast was great.

The biggest plus? The staff! From the time we were picked up at the airport to the time we left, everyone was simply terrific. Thanks to Sadie, Elizabeth and Liz for giving us a warm welcome to Fairbanks and Alaska, for patiently answering our questions, helping us out and going out of their way to make our stay special!

Room Tip: Upper floors and river view are great, although we also liked the city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed a few nights at this hotel. On the plus side: Beds were very comfy and so were pillows. Spacious enough though the desk area is tucked into a corner with no natural light. It is located across from the Yukon Quest finish line, so easy to trek mushers and go to see them arrive. Coffee, tea and water 24/7 in lobby. I liked the location. Gary, the handyman, could resolve anything and was very helpful. Lavelle's Bistro downstairs means you don't have to put on outerwear to eat, however, is not open for breakfast or lunch. On the negative side: Took about 45 minutes to get picked up from the train station. My first room was above the restaurant service door so I was getting a very loud BAM constantly. Had no internet first night either. Moved the next night to non-river view. Never got the river view again as they said they were always full yet I would be in the lobby when people walked in off the street and not only got a room, but a better rate, too. Rarely had more than 1 person on the desk (saw 2 about 4 AM one night) so whoever was working was always too busy to take care of everyone in an efficient manner. Never made sense they stopped serving breakfast at 9:30 AM when most are there to see the Aurora Borealis which meant I was usually getting back around 4 AM and getting to sleep even later.

Room Tip: AVOID room 219. It is above the restaurant service door which is constantly being slammed and is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiveTheGalapagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Nice breakfast, free wifi, nice views over fairbanks from spacious and comfortable accommodations. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free shuttle to and from both train station and airport very handy.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RenegadeFruitLoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spacious room, reasonable price and easy access to all parts of the town! Free wifi is an added bonus, and not to mention that the bed was really comfortable and all amenities are equipped as well. Breakfast was simple yet nice ; the lift seems to be a little slow but that is not really a big problem. This is a nice place to stay over for a night or two in Fairbanks if you are planning to explore downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had 2 seperate nights here and enjoyed our visits. The front of house staff were excellent. So friendly and helpful.the breakfast was ample as you could help yourself with a good selection. The hotel was warm but not too warm. Location was excellent right in town and not too far to walk in the snow. They shuttled us to the university museum and picked us up when we had finished. This is good service. Thanks ladies it was great meeting you.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pukek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've stayed at Pikes, the Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn and this SpringHill Suites and can easily that the SpringHill is the best in Fairbanks. Located in the heart of downtown Fairbanks and attached to an award winning restaurant, Lavelle's, this relatively new hotel has all the amenities to make your stay in enjoyable. A nice free breakfast buffet, a small but modern gym and indoor pool and spacious rooms with refrigerator and microwave. My only complaint is their "business center" is only one computer and printer in the lobby. But that aside the staff is friendly and helpful and I greatly enjoyed my stay. Another worry during busy summer months is parking is at a premium, but they do have overflow lot across the street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bosox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
399 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks

Address: 575 1st Avenue, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $113 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, an all-suite hotel in downtown Fairbanks, Alaska located next to the Chena River. Our accommodations feature separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, and they provide guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites By Marriott Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing