We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean, and unique rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alaska Heritage House
Ranked #2 of 41 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I would HIGHLY recommend the Alaska Heritage House. We stayed for the month of August and enjoyed every minute. Delicious and different breakfasts daily and friendly and helpful owners and staff made this stay quite memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

I stayed in the above B&B for 1 night during Dec'10 and I can rate my stay as at most moderate. It's a nice antique house located very near to downtown Fairbanks. One can spend hours inside the house looking at the furniture, antiques, etc and it also has a nice living room. Plus, the place is conviniently located and easily accessible.

However, I felt that the maintenance of the place is not up to the mark. My room (bathroom) was dirty when I checked in and I had to mention to the inn keeper. The owner/s don't live in the house and it's up to the inn keeper on how the place is maintained. One thing that bothered me was that the person looking after the place called me a couple of times saying that she will be away during some hours of the afternoon and I can't check in during that time as there won't be anyone in the house. I feel that alternate arrangements should be made in case the inn keeper is not present at the house and there shouldn't be any constraint on the guest for the same. Another issue that left me in bad taste, was the difference in price quoted over phone for one night's rent and what I paid at the end for the room rent was different (based on what I remember and I am pretty sure that I haven't mistaken). The difference was not significant and I didn't want to create much fuss on that but this was not what I hoped for. Overall, I feel that this place is way over priced for the service one receives.

To sum up, I do like the house with it's history and I am glad that I stayed 1 night but the standard of service is poor compared to other B&B's I have stayed at Fairbanks. Sorry, can't give a higher rating than 3 (maybe 2.5 would have been ideal for my experience, though I just rated a bit more on the positive side).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrasunChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia N, Owner at Alaska Heritage House, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

The owners, Bill Albee and Van Newstrom moved to Fairbanks in May 2011 and our efforts to personally manage, clean and maintain our wonderful historic B&B are reflected in the more recent comments. The 3 suites were all redecorated this summer. Van is a gormet cook and we serve a varied menu reflective of our world travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Egal welches Zimmer sie sind alle sehr schön.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank romanal690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jameslC5369QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Elles sont toutes magnifiquement décorées si vous appréciez le charme ancien, pensez juste à réserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
2.5 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.5 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Heritage House

Address: 410 Cowles St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range: $79 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alaska Heritage House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alaska Heritage House Bed & Breakfast (listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Mary Lee Davis House) was the most elegant home in early Fairbanks. Eight antique filled rooms are equipped with claw-foot tubs, historic photographs and books, and such modern amenities as Wi-Fi, Cable TV, mini refrigerators, and gourmet breakfasts year around inspired by the owners extensive international travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alaska Heritage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Heritage House Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing