We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice New Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, IL
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice New Place”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Very, very, nice hotel. New construction. When we pulled in and priced it, the desk attendant told us that it would be $190. plus tax. We got on Hotels.com and got it for $125 plus tax, plus the $5 service fee that Hotels.com charges. The rooms were nice and spacious and clean, the exercise room was nice and the breakfast was fabulous!!! It wasn't your average conteniental breakfast, it had meat, biscuits, and waffles with strawberries plus all the others things that you expect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moodymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    262
    71
    30
    12
See reviews for
198
275
69
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This hotel was by far the cleanest, most modern and comfortable place my husband and I stayed on our vacation. The bed was better than mine at home. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaretmcborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The staff at this hotel failed to coordinate charges to the correct credit card, failed to coordinate check out time with housekeeping, and failed to tell me that the clerk made my reservation through priceline. They refused to provide a receipt at check out. Food served at breakfast consisted of watered down eggs...although the sausage is good. The room lacked sufficient workstation comfort. Overall the personnel need to readjust their attitudes to focus on the needs of the customers. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdbaleut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My family and I stayed here 2 nights in July 2010. The price for this hotel was a good value ($115 for first night and $145 for 2nd night - 3 adults). The beds were comfortable and the room clean. This is a fairly new hotel so that's a plus.
We had no complaints about the breakfast, as a few others have had, and all 3 in my party thought it was better than the Springhill Anchorage breakfast we had the day before.
This hotel is directly in the flight path to the airport but we didn't really hear much airplane noise. I am a very light sleeper and no aircraft noise woke me up -- probably due to the quad-pane windows. That's right, there are 2 sets of double-thermo pane windows which really block out the noise. I would recommend this hotel for the price.
One other note -- the rooms are average to perhaps under-average in size.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MIKELEWIS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juniata
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights - the rate was really reasonable and the location was great. Easy to get to everything we wanted to see. Room was so clean and an excellent breakfast with lots of food choices. Would stay here again on a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl55_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasington state
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Second stay at this hotel. Clean rooms and bedding, comfortable beds. Still doors slamming loud. The staff was helpful and nice.
The bad - Breakfast was terrible, microwave scrambled eggs in a bag, paper thin bacon, and strange tasting sausage. The rest of the breakfast was ok if you don't mind being the food service manager while you are on vacation. The only way items are refilled is when guests tell the food service staff that they are out! Maybe the management should try eating breakfast there. I will look at other optioins on my next stay in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, ORegon, USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed in this hotel two nights and both nights the hot water was not working. If I had been here for business, I would have been furious. As it was, taking a shower was not practical unless you were lucky enough to time the periods the hot water was working. Location is close to the airport. Rooms are nice enough. But the lack of hot water was a major problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulf-to-gulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
370 reviews
3.4 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
283 reviews
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Property: Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing