We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Mostly Clean, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Central Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Mostly Clean, Good Location”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The staff here was very friendly and helpful, the television was large, and the location was very near to the airport. Great free wifi. The parking lot had places to plug in the cord extending from the nose of my rental car. I say "mostly clean" because there were some nasty stains on the shower curtain and the room had that, "well, I got rid of the top layer of dirt" look that my mother used in her own cleaning. The breakfast was pretty good for an American hotel: eggs and sausage, sweet rolls, various kinds of cereal. There is a large mall with a Fred Meyer's nearby. I'm a fan of Best Western and this was almost up to the best of the Best.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicureSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    259
    69
    29
    12
See reviews for
194
271
68
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I can't say enough good for this Best Western hotel. When I stay at chain hotels, I don't expect much. This experience proved the exception to the rule. This hotel is a little bit out of the way for those without a car -- though a colleague drove me to the university, downtown, and surrounding areas -- not a good location if you depend on walking. The HVAC control is perfect -- very important when the outside temp in March hoovers around zero, but the rooms were never stuffy, overheated or too cold. Staff was delightful, and they provide shuttle service to and from the airport

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calliesingh
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Second time to Alaska, brand new hotel, big rooms comfortable beds. I will definitely stay here again. Customer Service was great. I am in the hospitatily business and was impressed with the quality of the rooms and the price point.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calliesingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at with us. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction. I have passed on your comments to the staff member. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Fairbanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

booked this hotel for the good price. found out this hotel was new, with large rooms, very good beds and a large bathroom with a shower, no bath, liked the shower.
the included breakfast is "continental". for us more than enough. there are not many tables to sit by, but so we did meet fellow travellers. When we asked for a good restaurant in the neighbourhood they offer us to bring us and pick us up again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
I want to thank you for using our facilities. We are delighted that you found your stay so pleasant.

I have passed on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2009

way nice, new
flat screen, with hbo, very fast wireless, air conditioning
the beds are way comfy and soft
great shower
right across the street from freddies and safeway, taco bell too and quiznos

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob28369d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write such a complimentary review.

Thank you for your kind comments regardnig our staff and service to you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasington state
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

New hotel, very nice, clean rooms, comfortable beds. Very noisy, seems that the room doors slam shut when let go and you can hear every door close. The breakfast is nothing special, but it's food

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit at the Best Western Chena River Lodge.

Your cooment on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts are effective and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Property: Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing