We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
$194
$155
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$251
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
$194
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wedgewood Resort(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveler rating
396
282
77
37
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
282
77
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportwafflesfred meyerthe breakfast areaconvenient locationplug inschena riverfront desk stafffree breakfastgreat place to staybeds were very comfortablenice roomclean hotelup to daterooms are largestaff was very friendly and helpfulthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 806 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel exceeded all our expectations! We've used it mostly for 1-2 night stops. Service is so good- everyone has been really friendly (even at a 2 am check-ins)!

We loved:
Free wifi
Free breakfast with hot foods
The rooms are really clean and updated
Thermostat in your control
Microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge in the room
Free cab (to and from the airport) as long as you book with the staff
They were giving the hotel some touch up paint when I arrived this past time- bonus in my book that they were putting in the effort and no weird paint smells to boot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKtravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week on our trip to see the Northern Lights. Hotel was great. The rooms were large and clean and the staff were always helpful. We had a problem with our heater the first night and the maintenance man was very prompt in sorting it out, he even kept checking with us (when we were in reception) to make sure it was still running ok. The only thing about this hotel is the location can be inconvenient without a car. There is a Fred Meyer across the road (store has everything, even hot food) within walking distance, otherwise everything else required transport. We did use the town bus from Fred Meyer but often it was just too cold. Catching taxis was never much fun as they always took so long and often were stolen from us! This is one thing the hotel could have helped with when ordering the taxi, tell them our names so another guest cant come down claiming to have called it! Other than that, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location was good and the rooms clean and comfortable. It was a pity that the staff were so inefficient!
Our stay was average but we had three issues with the hotel that impacted our satisfaction, namely: 1. We called Britt when we arrived at the airport and she promised to send the taxi to collect us. We waited almost 2 hours and had to call 3 times before we were collected because the staff were busy having their Christmas party and the guests were treated as an inconvenience. 2. The staff don't read the Make up room sign and mistake it for a Do not disturb sign and the housekeeping staff leave at 12pm so no hope of having your room serviced! 3. The breakfast is minimal and guests are allowed to take all the yoghurts and pastries upstairs for a room occupied by 2 people.
The manager, Shalanda Rosemond does not bother to respond to your concerns. Don't expect any level of service at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Good:

- Rooms are large, with microwave and fridge and table for eating and using laptop. Beds are comfortable.
- Breakfasts are very good, and include bacon, sausage, waffles, yogurt, toast
- Housekeeping employees are flexible and honor your requests for when and what to clean
- Location is convenient to airport and downtown and Fred Meyer is across the street
- Nice large flat screen TV
- Excellent value; reduced rates for stays of 3 nights or more (about 2/3rds the cost of similar chain hotels I checked on in Fairbanks)

The “Needs Improvement”:

- Temperature in the room was impossible to control. The thermostat setting did not work. If the heat switch was on, it got hotter than the thermostat reading. If the cooling switch was on, it got colder than the setting. If you turned all settings off, sometimes it would work, and sometimes not. For the entire week we were there, we tried every possible combination with limited success. Fortunately, we could usually control the range of temperature differences within a few degrees, plus or minus. We did ask a housekeeping employee for help on the first day, and did what she said, but nothing consistently worked.

- The refrigerator setting, if not on “1”, would freeze everything in it. If we had been told at check-in, this wouldn’t have been an issue.

- Not enough plug-ins, or extension cords, for cars. Arriving at 2 AM after aurora watching one night, front desk employee was asked for an extension cord to reach a plug-in. Said she couldn’t find one – that they “weren’t where they were supposed to be” and that she wasn’t using a plug-in for her car. That was it – no attempt to further address a customer request. Fortunately, we were able to wedge the car into a space, climb over a snowbank, and finally get our car cord to reach a plug-in.

- Ran out of eggs toward the end of the week. No orange juice until juice machine was replaced on the last day of our week-long stay.

- Toilet paper and tissues are poor quality

- Can hear every door close and every conversation in the hallway. We were on the top floor (3rd), so no noise from overhead.

Room Tip: Top floor, as far away from elevator as possible. We faced the front, and never heard airport or road traffic at night. We rated the room average because of the inability to control the temperature.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whencanwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is pretty new, looks great, for Interior Alaska.. Plugins available in the parking lot. Good front desk service. The problem was the heater; it sounded like a grinding mess of machinery-inexcusable in a new midscale hotel; this sounded like a 1970's Motel 6. I had to turn the TV to maximum volume to understand the words spoken; and my hearing is not bad. I called the front desk to ask for relief, and she said "oh, they all sound like that.. is that the noise I hear in the background?" So, I didn't move, and tossed and turned all night when the heat cycled on (which it did, at -42F). Bed was very comfy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picky_traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews