We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Broome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week on our trip to see the Northern Lights. Hotel was great. The rooms were large and clean and the staff were always helpful. We had a problem with our heater the first night and the maintenance man was very prompt in sorting it out, he even kept checking with us (when we were in reception) to make sure it was still running ok. The only thing about this hotel is the location can be inconvenient without a car. There is a Fred Meyer across the road (store has everything, even hot food) within walking distance, otherwise everything else required transport. We did use the town bus from Fred Meyer but often it was just too cold. Catching taxis was never much fun as they always took so long and often were stolen from us! This is one thing the hotel could have helped with when ordering the taxi, tell them our names so another guest cant come down claiming to have called it! Other than that, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    259
    69
    29
    12
See reviews for
194
271
68
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location was good and the rooms clean and comfortable. It was a pity that the staff were so inefficient!
Our stay was average but we had three issues with the hotel that impacted our satisfaction, namely: 1. We called Britt when we arrived at the airport and she promised to send the taxi to collect us. We waited almost 2 hours and had to call 3 times before we were collected because the staff were busy having their Christmas party and the guests were treated as an inconvenience. 2. The staff don't read the Make up room sign and mistake it for a Do not disturb sign and the housekeeping staff leave at 12pm so no hope of having your room serviced! 3. The breakfast is minimal and guests are allowed to take all the yoghurts and pastries upstairs for a room occupied by 2 people.
The manager, Shalanda Rosemond does not bother to respond to your concerns. Don't expect any level of service at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Good:

- Rooms are large, with microwave and fridge and table for eating and using laptop. Beds are comfortable.
- Breakfasts are very good, and include bacon, sausage, waffles, yogurt, toast
- Housekeeping employees are flexible and honor your requests for when and what to clean
- Location is convenient to airport and downtown and Fred Meyer is across the street
- Nice large flat screen TV
- Excellent value; reduced rates for stays of 3 nights or more (about 2/3rds the cost of similar chain hotels I checked on in Fairbanks)

The “Needs Improvement”:

- Temperature in the room was impossible to control. The thermostat setting did not work. If the heat switch was on, it got hotter than the thermostat reading. If the cooling switch was on, it got colder than the setting. If you turned all settings off, sometimes it would work, and sometimes not. For the entire week we were there, we tried every possible combination with limited success. Fortunately, we could usually control the range of temperature differences within a few degrees, plus or minus. We did ask a housekeeping employee for help on the first day, and did what she said, but nothing consistently worked.

- The refrigerator setting, if not on “1”, would freeze everything in it. If we had been told at check-in, this wouldn’t have been an issue.

- Not enough plug-ins, or extension cords, for cars. Arriving at 2 AM after aurora watching one night, front desk employee was asked for an extension cord to reach a plug-in. Said she couldn’t find one – that they “weren’t where they were supposed to be” and that she wasn’t using a plug-in for her car. That was it – no attempt to further address a customer request. Fortunately, we were able to wedge the car into a space, climb over a snowbank, and finally get our car cord to reach a plug-in.

- Ran out of eggs toward the end of the week. No orange juice until juice machine was replaced on the last day of our week-long stay.

- Toilet paper and tissues are poor quality

- Can hear every door close and every conversation in the hallway. We were on the top floor (3rd), so no noise from overhead.

Room Tip: Top floor, as far away from elevator as possible. We faced the front, and never heard airport or ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whencanwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albequerque, New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is pretty new, looks great, for Interior Alaska.. Plugins available in the parking lot. Good front desk service. The problem was the heater; it sounded like a grinding mess of machinery-inexcusable in a new midscale hotel; this sounded like a 1970's Motel 6. I had to turn the TV to maximum volume to understand the words spoken; and my hearing is not bad. I called the front desk to ask for relief, and she said "oh, they all sound like that.. is that the noise I hear in the background?" So, I didn't move, and tossed and turned all night when the heat cycled on (which it did, at -42F). Bed was very comfy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picky_traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had an overnight after arriving in Fairbanks enroute from Denali by train in late August 2012. The Folks at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were nicely appointed and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was better than most hotels that I have stayed at of this class, they even had flavored coffee creamer. The folks at the desk were happy to get you a cab or any other information you needed. The hotel is in a quiter side of town but still within a few miles of most attractions and the airport. Couldn't say a bad thing about this place. We really enjoyed our stay, and should we find ourselves back in Fairbanks I will be glad to stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godzcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Best Western Chena River Lodge is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!!! i wouldn't recommend anywhere else in Fairbanks, Alaksa. The location is close to the Airport and there is a complimentary taxi service which saves me a few bucks every time. The Complimentary Breakfast is awesome, waffles, fruit, eggs and bacon, sausage, and even potatoes, and biscuits and gravy!! Now the staff is exceptional, Shalands Worthington is amazing, Nolan Burcell is extremely friendly, and Thomas (although very quiet) is great!

Samantha Koeller

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Being so cold outside, it was really nice to be able to have such a comfortable place for our home base. The staff was laid back and friendly and the breakfast was definitely fantastic with lots of hot food options (eggs, sausage, waffles, etc). The exercise room was small and consisted of just a treadmill, elliptical machine, and recline bike, with one comprehensive weight machine, but it got the job done for a weekend.

Overall, we had a great experience and felt that this hotel was an excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rider1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Property: Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing