We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Very nice and affordable. Offers nice rooms, parking, open showers. The only problems ... No microwave in our room and the eggs provided with the breakfast were awful! But the waffle maker ... Awesome. And the juice machine and hot chocolate were nice especially upon a late arrival. I love the bathroom. Very spacious all around!! I will definitely be staying there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oreillyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 791 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

The room was comfortable, but sound proofing is only average. The big problem was trying to turn down the heat. When the thermostat was turned down on the wall, the system did not perform properly, and instead, heated the room to 87 degrees in the middle of the night when it was -20F outside. No room other rooms were available, and I simply unplugged the heating system at the wall. There was still enough heat circulating through the wall heater and the temperature was fine. The night desk mentioned the new digital upgrade had occasional bugs.... I did pick the hotel for its location and reasonable price, and would stay again if the price is competative.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DrAstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

You’re absolutely correct about the new heating system. There were some bugs that had to be worked out. Our maintenance seems to have figured it our; now its about going back through every room and fine tuning.

Thank you,

Shalanda Rosemond
General Manager

*COMING TOGETHER IS THE BEGINNING. KEEPING TOGETHER IS PROGRESS. WORKING TOGETHER IS SUCCESS*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Newer Hotel In Fairbanks. Close to the airport and shopping alike. Great beds and helpful staff. Everything went smooth from check in to check out. Was even given a wake-up call for the northern lights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Check in was unpleasant. The gentleman at the front desk was down right nasty and appeared to be very unhappy in his job. The staff overall was unhelpful with answering questions about the area. The room was very noisy and could hear every footstep taken by the people upstairs. The bed was comfortable and room was clean when I checked in. Maid service was very lacking. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Generally, the entire staff is happy; I sincerely apologize that your encounter with front desk was so unpleasant. We collect information and visit local businesses just to have a feedback so I was really sad to hear that we were unable to answer any of your area questions. On the subject, of the soundproofing of your room I was shocked to read that comment. The hotel is located right on an airport flight path.

Thank you,

Shalanda Rosemond
General Manager

*COMING TOGETHER IS THE BEGINNING. KEEPING TOGETHER IS PROGRESS. WORKING TOGETHER IS SUCCESS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This hotel was great for our needs--affordable and clean, with helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hotel was clean and comfortable but service was lacking. Had to hunt for plug ins for the vehicle, not many available. TV remote did not work, so left a note the first day (stayed 4) and the following days but it was never fixed. Last day did not get maid service. Called front desk when I returned to my room at 10 pm and asked for more towels but they never came.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

When I read your comment about the television remote I thought now what a simple fix. It is obvious to me that this was an overlook on our behalf that could have easily been addressed immediately. Then I thought as management we try to train our staff on a lot of complex issues and sometimes forget about the basics. You truly inspired my back to the basics training for my entire staff. When I say I am truly thankful for your comments I mean it. Concerning the towels I really don’t know what happened but I intend on finding out. We usually ask for occupants to come downstairs for additional items after 2pm for safety reasons.

Thank you,

Shalanda Rosemond
General Manager

*COMING TOGETHER IS THE BEGINNING. KEEPING TOGETHER IS PROGRESS. WORKING TOGETHER IS SUCCESS*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My first time to Fairbanks and this hotel was very nice. Clean and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Top floor and away from elevators and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,245 reviews
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $74 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing