We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cringed at the price, but best hotel room we ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I'll start off saying I am cheap to a point, but we always are careful of the location and hotels we do pick out to stay in. I consider us the Comfort Inn types and in the lower 48 you can usually get one of their rooms for less than a hundred.

I only stayed at a Hampton Inn once before and was truly disgusted. In my AAA book it said the last Hampton Inn ( back east) was $79-$119. Maybe it was a misprint, but after a half hour of checking by the manager he gave us a room for $119. It was really tiny with no refrig or microwave. All our friends rave about Hampton Inns so because I really had a difficult time trying to get a room (called almost 3 weeks ahead of dates needed) in Fairbanks (tried Princess, Pikes Lodge, and Marriot first) I called them and secured 3 nights. Only problem was that the only thing they had available was a king suite at a very hefty price.....$235 a night .....wow for my pocketbook!!!

We absolutely loved the room. It was very large. Had a counter, sink, refrig and microwave as you walked in the door. A desk and couch were close by. They could have repositioned the silk plant as it was a little difficult to walk between it and the desk, but that was no biggie. Had a great closet, wonderful TV and nice bathroom.

Saw that several people said the breakfast was okay. I thought it was great! They did switch around some of the hot choices...one day it was omlette , sausage and potatoes, and another day, eggs with ham, sausage and biscuit, etc. They had a nice variety of sweet danishes, bread, bagels, fruit, cereal, and waffles. They have available all day and night hot coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. The pool and spa were great. The business center had two fast computers. Pat, one of the staff was extremely nice, and served cookies around 4:30. The girl who served the breakfast area asked all the time if we needed anything else, etc.

I was more than satisfied and now know why my friends rave about the Hampton Inn. Only wish I had the pocketbook to afford to stay there more often.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kconnell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 721 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

Agree with most other posters here that this Hampton is a great choice. Not downtown but as Fairbanks isn't a large city, you can get around town very easily & quickly from this spot.

We had a room on the opposite side of the bldg. from the expressway so it was very quiet and actually scenic overlooking a small glade across the street. Typical Hampton ammenities (the pool is nice) including a roomy, very clean room. What distinguishes this property from others is the staff - very engaged, conversational, always willing to help the guests to make sure their stay is enjoyable and meets expectations.

Hated to leave - hope the seagull down the street wasn't disturbed in her nesting by the curb. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Room on side of bldg. by main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Hampton Inn was very quiet and comfortable. The staff was very nice and willing to chat with you about anything. The breakfast was decent. The room was clean and nice and came with lots of towels. It had great internet service. The location is right across for the big box shopping (including Barnes and Noble) although you have to cross a big highway to get to it. The Hampton is on the same side of the road and right next to the McDonalds. The parking was also very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeedsNEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Found the room to be very clean and comfortable. My room faced the expressway but was not too noisy [of course it was March, so my windows were closed]. I chose the Hampton because they were close to the Steese Highway, and I stayed at this hotel two nights; once before heading up the Steese to Cleary Summit, and once after coming back down.

On both occasions the rooms were just fine and different staff members were courteous and helpful. There was a variety of items for breakfast, coffee was available most any time, and I never had trouble with internet access in their computer room.

The shuttle driver, Erin, was especially helpful--on my first arrival at the Hampton, I discovered I had left my prescription eyeglasses on the train. She immediately offered to drive me back to the railroad station, and back again to the hotel. She was very friendly and concerned, and literally went the extra mile.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Staff is courteous. Breakfast is middle of the road OK. Rooms are quiet, great work area, decent internet. HDTV. Bathroom is large. Had both a refrigerator and microwave in my room.

Try to get a room not along the expressway as it can be noisy from the trucks until about 10PM if your windows are open.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Convenient location. Free hot breakfast. Free cookies in the afternoon. Free wifi. Nice clean rooms. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tippi_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

No surprises here good or bad. This was a very well cared for and up to date Hampton Inn. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone traveling through the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin_Man069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,234 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks

Address: 433 Harold Bentley Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $104 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Hampton Inn And Suites Fairbanks
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing