We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly staff”
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wedgewood Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed August 6, 2008

The Bear Lodge was very clean. Staff was helpful and very friendly. We ate lunch at the lodge and it was very good. After reading the other reviews I was nervous about staying here. We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonnie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 287 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2008

Stayed for one night as part of a Princess pre cruise land tour. We had hoped to be staying at the Princess Lodge but received confirmation about two weeks prior to the trip that we'd be staying here, disappointed.

During our transfer from the airport the coach driver described this lodge as an overspill hotel for the Princess lodge. Like a previous reviewer we were surprised to be stuck in an overspill hotel considering we had booked so far in advance.

We had problems straight away with our tour excursions and spent sometime trying to resolve this with the Princess staff based at the hotel, they needed a lot of prompting and pushing to sort it out however we got there in the end.

Sorry non cruise people about the start of the review if its not relavant to you but there are a lot of cruise people staying here.

Now for the hotel...

Our bedroom was big, clean and comfortable. Our only gripe was the inadequate Air Con. Being on the ground floor we couldn't leave the windows open.

The facilities were good and the staff friendly. We enjoyed the bar food.

We ate out at a local Salmon bake venue so cannot comment on dinner at the hotel. As to the location we didn't really have time to explore however we were told Downtown fairbanks was 5 minutes by cab.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

I've stayed at motels all over Alaska and this is one of my favorites. The staff was always very helpful and had an employee assist in taking our luggage up to the third floor. Like most places there is no elevator. The location is far enough out there is little traffic but close enough in you can get to anywhere in town within a few minutes. The rooms are spacious and clean. I have stayed here twice and was just a pleased the second time. This is not a Princess hotel though and if that is what you are expecting you will be disappointed. But, then, I feel that type of hotel is like Disney World in Alaska. Not quite real. If you enjoy birds then you will be next to one of the best birding areas in Alaska, Creamer's Field. When we go back to Fairbanks, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank phillipsnblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Let me preface this review by saying that we were not happy from the moment we arrived at this lodge. We had been deemed "spillover" on a Princess Cruise Tour and were not pleased with the fact that even though we booked our trip a year in advance, we did not get to stay at the Princess Fairbanks Lodge. Then to top it all off, they misplaced our luggage!

Although this hotel was clean, the location was not that great (there is NOTHING around this hotel), and because we were there through Princess, the staff was not exactly helpful, including not allowing, in any way, shape, or form, late checkouts for those of us who had late afternoon flights the day we were scheduled to depart. They were calling our rooms at 11:10 AM on the day of checkout and we were forced to go sit in the lobby, at which point some sort of manager came around and "nicely" convinced us that it would be better for us to go for a walk around the property than to sit in the lobby and wait for our airport shuttle.

Beyond that, the rooms were very dated. All in all, I just did not feel that the quality of this lodge made it "worth" being a spillover lodge for Princess, and I certainly do not recommend anyone staying here if they can avoid doing so.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ageeksaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Staying at the Wedgewood Resort was a very wonderful experience as it is located next to the nature trails of Creamers Field with lots of peace and quiet and away from the bustle of the town. Moose would occasionally wander the grounds at night and early morning and the Northern Lights were visible from my balcony.
The front desk staff were friendly and personable and willing to assist as needed, and housekeeping and security did an excellent job also. My stay at Wedgewood as a travel nurse so far from my home in the lower 48 helped make the Alaskan experience one that I hope to relive again and again. I would recommend Wedgewood Resort to every traveler as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MoEski-mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

This was my last stop on a 14-day Princess CruiseTour. It was the worst place that we stayed. The rooms were bare, the location remote...there was little we could walk to. It was not up to the high quality of the rest of our Princess Cruise and stay in Denali.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank WhereToGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed here for five nights (actually four because we left most of our stuff here one night while we were up at Coldfoot and Wiseman) on our driving trek from New York to Alaska. This is a multi apartment building complex. There appeared to be three floors to the various buildings. We were in a first floor apartment in the Harding Building, near the entrance to the building. Our room did look dated but it didn't matter to us. It was clean. There was a living room, two bedrooms, bathroom, and small walk-through kitchen. The couch opened up to a bed.

You are on your own for breakfast (there is no continental breakfast). We like to eat in on our trips. We bought foodstuffs at the local Fred Meyers and Safeway.

Our rate was $265 but this is Alaska in the summer when you can expect to pay more than in the Lower 48.

The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. We used the free shuttle to take us to the airport for a day trip to Barrow. Also used it to go to the Tanana Valley State Fair.

One night we left most of our stuff in our room and took just what we needed for a drive on the Dalton Highway to Coldfoot and Wiseman (north of the Arctic Circle); that night we slept in a cabin in Wiseman while most of our stuff was in the Wedgewood, in Fairbanks. When we came back the following night, everything was in our room just as we had left it.

This is not a fancy place. It is utilitarian with enough space for a family of two adults and a few children who like to save money by eating in instead of going to a restaurant. It certainly was not dumpy as one reviewer said. I can see where he was angry because he had to carry his luggage to the third floor. We also travel with lots of luggage. At the time we make a reservation we have a checklist of questions. We always ask is there an elevator and please describe how you get in. So we knew in advance that we'd have to carry our luggage from the car to the room. Thus, when the reservation was made in January (if you're going to Alaska on you rown always book your lodging by January), we asked specifically for a room closest to the entrance. Hence, we got a first floor room, so the trudging with the luggage was minimized.

One thing we were disappointed in was that the Internet wireless did not work in the room. We had to take the laptop to the lobby in the main building.

Because we spent one day driving to north of the Arctic Cirle, another day driving back down to Fairbanks, and a third day in Barrow (plane there and back in the same day), we were not physically in Fairbanks that long even though we slept here four nights. Wish we had more time to walk around the grounds as it was near a bird sanctuary and there were some other interesting things on the grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TravelLawyerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
421 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,284 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.5 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Resort

Address: 212 Wedgewood Dr, Fairbanks, AK 99701-1728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $79 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 105 acres, Wedgewood Resort is an ideal location to experience the natural beauty of Fairbanks. Surrounded by a 75 acre wildlife sanctuary and a 2,200 acre waterfowl refuge, makes Wedgewood the best destination for travelers wanting a quiet getaway while they explore Fairbanks. Seemingly miles from anything, yet just minutes to shopping and attractions. Wedgewood is minutes from downtown and an easy walk to the Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum located on the resort property. Spread out in an expansive residential-style one or two bedroom suite with fully-equipped kitchen or relax in a spacious guest room at Bear Lodge. Either way, you will enjoy the onsite restaurant, bar and Internet Café offering complimentary computers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wedgewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Resort Fairbanks, Alaska
Wedgewood Hotel Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing