We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedgewood in winter”
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wedgewood Resort
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed January 20, 2013

During the winter, the hotel portion of the "resort" is not open. I am unsure how this place is classified as a resort. I would call it an apartment complex with an adjacent hotel.

They put you up in apartments adjacent to the "visitor center". Clean efficiency style apartments/rooms, but dated. No elevator to multistory buildings. No fitness/workout room. Okay place, but not a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Wedgewood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Yes, Wedgewood is not the traditional resort one finds in the Lower 49. Rather, we have designed our property as an activity-based campus spread across 105 acres with extensive gardens, a nationally acclaimed automobile and fashion history museum, a private wildlife sanctuary with a network of nature trails, outdoor exhibits of Alaskan artifacts, photographic displays of Alaska history and wildlife, educational presentations, guided naturalist walks and direct access to the Creamer’s Refuge trail system. Most of these are available to our guests in the winter as well as summer, including the Wedgewood Wildlife Sanctuary trails and Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum.

I hope you will try us again in the future so you can enjoy these amenities. We are presently exploring plans to develop a fitness room, as improving the guest experience is always a top priority for us. If stairs are a concern, I encourage you to request a ground-floor suite.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Shane Arnold, General Manager
Wedgewood Resort
(907) 450-2127

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 273 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife took me on a cruise this summer to Alaska. The trip was great but when we got to Fairbanks something wonderful happened.
We stayed at Wedgewood Resort.
My wife explained to me at great lengths how it was the biggest room she had stayed in the whole vacation and then yelled at me for spending extra to get such a large room!
I explained I didn't have anything to do with the size of the room. I even asked the front desk and they explained that the owner wanted his guests to have enough room to walk around the bed and feel comfortable....."see honey I told you so!"
So my part of the deal is that I saw the greatest car in the world at their car museum! (it is at the very back of the property) Paid like almost no money to get in and spent the afternoon walking around looking. My favorite car was the orange one. Think they called it an Auburn. If I could only get the key for a late night back seat make out session with my wife!!!
Go to that hotel, enjoy the room, get to the museum and then get one of their huge burgers at the restaurant! Tell them u want it well done and they will take care of you!
Thank you Wedgewood Resort! You were a highlight in Alaska!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dane90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was the last night of our Princess post-cruise land tour and after being spoilt on the ship and two of Princess's own lodges it was a real let down.
The room itself was fine, very large with good furniture, two big comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. Everything was clean.
But it was cold and we couldn't adjust the thermostat as the cover was screwed down!
The main problems were the food and the staff.
My wife is vegetarian and also has a food allergy. There was nothing for her to eat except a very ordinary green salad. They didn't offer to try to do anything else for her despite supposedly being warned about it in advance by Princess. The only unhelpful staff we encountered on the whole vacation. Luckily she had her own supply of nuts & biscuits.
I had soup and a burger which were OK but I had to send back the apple pie which was like a peice of rock!
They wanted our luggage for the airport out by 4.30am and our shuttle pickup was at 5.10am. This was at least a full hour too early for our 8am flight. The airport was only 10 minutes away and it was 'dead' when we got there. (Maybe they expected delays as it was 9/11?)
How we wished we had been put in Princess's own Riverside lodge like most on our trip.

Room Tip: Some of the upstairs rooms have a balcony so OK for summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufford155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this resort. Staff was extremely helpful with getting us into a ground level accommodation. The unit was more like a timeshare unit rather than a hotel. It had 2 queen beds in the separate bedroom, bath, dining room, living room with big screen TV and kitchen area. Very, very comfortable and much better than a hotel room. Yes, it is a bit off the beaten path, but I liked that as it was a very quiet property. Restaurant is expensive, but food was good.
If Wedgewood Resort was a time-share property, I would definitely invest!

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the buildings. So plan ahead when booking. Best for people who are drivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTDenverDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This complex is the working mans section of the Wedgwood complex. The units are old apartments. They are very clean, with good carpets, lousy beds and depressing furniture. The highlight of the units are the new very big screen TV,s.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Bear Lodge as part of our Princess cruise tour. Here are the positives and negatives:

Positives: The room was clean and well attended. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is about 5 mins drive from downtown Fairbanks and about 5 mins walk to the Antique Car Museum. The free shuttle service is very nice, it takes you to the Antique Car Museum, Fred Meyer, Pioneer Park and downtown. However, it only runs from 11:00 am to 10:00 pm. Princess offers an excursion to Pioneer Park but if you're staying at this lodge, you can simply hop on the free shuttle and do the excursion yourself for way less money. If you plan your visit to Pioneer Park (free admission) in the late afternoon, you can also stay for their famous Salmon Bake ($33) and a show ($?) afterwards. We didn't stay for the show so don't know the price if any. Princess charges $69 each for the dinner and show and not a lot of time allowed in the park.

Negatives: I didn't like the single queen bed assigned to us - too small. The room was very simple with very little furniture. Definitely not for long stay. Yes, the walls were thin and the doors did get slamped by inconsiderate people. The heater was noisy - sounded like someone's trying to start a truck but could never get it started. So the sleep quality is not so good. Restaurant receptionist was not helpful. She tried to place us at a table next to the patio door where people go in & out to smoke. We tried to explain to her that one of us was extremely sensitive to cigarette smokes and would prefer to pick our own spots, She wouldn't let us do so and expressed an "I could care less" attitude. We ended up dining at the Geraldo's nearby, which turned out to be not bad at all! We did have breakfast at the hotel restaurant the next morning as we didn't have time to go anywhere else. We found the food very greasy, especially the hashbrown - completely soaked with oil or lard. The hotel has no swimming pool or hot tub.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jag1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was a nice place, especially by Fairbanks standards. No views from the property but very pleasant rooms and a good restaurant. Would definitely stay here again. There is really nothing to walk to nearby, which was one drawback. We only stayed one night so don't have much else to comment on.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuteBol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
400 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,225 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.1 mi away
Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Resort

Address: 212 Wedgewood Dr, Fairbanks, AK 99701-1728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $85 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 105 acres, an ideal place to experience the natural beauty Fairbanks has to offer. Surrounded by a 75 acre wildlife sanctuary and a 2,000 acre migratory waterfowl refuge, Wedgewood Resort is the perfect destination for travelers wanting a quiet getaway, but the convenience of being minutes from shopping, attractions and cultural events. The resort is the perfect base to explore Fairbanks. The spacious residential-style one & two bedroom suites are thoughtfully appointed featuring a fully-equipped kitchen and separate living and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Wedgewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Resort Fairbanks, Alaska
Wedgewood Hotel Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing