We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to start our Alaskan land tour.”
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wedgewood Resort
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We started out staying the Bear Lodge as part of our Princess Cruise package. The grounds are very nicely taken care of and the lodge itself was very well kept. Our room was oversized for your normal hotel and the bathroom was very clean and had an ample supple of hot water, even in the morning when everyone was getting ready. We arrived a day early for our tour to allow ourselves time to adjust and recooperate from a full day of air travel. We took the shuttle into town and walked around Fairbanks. We also got off at the Pioneer Day festival in town, this was mentioned by our shuttle driver, it was a fun time. Since there is nothing around the lodge in the way of restuarants, we ate in the bar area, and had really good food. Our bartender, Vespa, was fun to talk with and she worked hard taking care of the full bar.
The hotel does have a laundry so we took advantage of it and did our laundry before we left which was a good help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cape8101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Wedgewood Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We checked into the Bear Lodge for our two night stay and found the check in process to be very disorganized. We were given keys to our room that already had other occupants. That was a little embarrassing to say the least. The Manager apologized and gave us another room. The Hotel advertised a complementary shuttle to the airport, but when we inquired about the shuttle service they advised that they changed their policy regarding the shuttle, so NO shuttle for us, but they would call a Taxi for us. The local shuttle service seemed to be operating at capacity, but we didn't use it. Rooms are nice, but without alot of extras. Grounds are quite large with multiple Lodges/Hotels/Apartments on the property. Our stay was OK, but better organization would have made our trip more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Hard to say, it's such a large property.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tedley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Bear Lodge Wedgewood - we loved our stay at Bear Lodge! Terrific accommodations, courteous help, beautiful flowers everywhere. Do need a little more trained help in the restaurant - lots of long waits for service and food, but the food was very good. The grounds at Wedgewood are absotlutely beautiful. We were very comfortable in our room and appreciative of the location - close to everything we wanted to see on our visit; also appreciated the FAIRBANKS DAILY NEWS MINER each morning! We enjoyed our walk around the grounds and visiting the various sites though we missed the antique car museum. We give this resort 5 stars! Sally and John Howard, Atlanta, GA

Room Tip: No tips needed - all the rooms were excellent. Very comfortable beds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We didn't have a great start at the Bear Lodge, which was part of our Princess Cruise trip. Although we notified Princess that we would be arriving at 1am on the first day of our trip, no room was ready and we were forced to sleep on the couch in the lobby (which is not heated, by the way) until 8:30 am. The manager on duty was nice enough to give us blankets and pillows for the four of us, but let's face it, it was ridiculous. They had room, but they were going to charge us a full night to sleep for 5 hours. When we refused, we had to sleep on the couch. While it may have been Princess' screw-up, the Lodge should've given us (4 adults) a room. The only reason we probably got the room at 8:30 is because they didn't want others to see us sleeping in the lobby. Skeptical? I have pictures of us sleeping on the couch to prove it.

Moving on- the room- large and spacious with a small balcony. Definitely needs updating in both the room and bathroom. Still, it was clean and we had no complaints for our 2 nights there.

Location- Not situated near anything other than an Italian restaurant.

Would we stay here again? No.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oojaded26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

From the antique auto museum to the wildlife refuge on the gournds, the modern, neat, and clean suites are phenomenal. Shuttles carry you everywhere you want to go and the buffet meals in the Bear Lodge are delicious. We feel lucky to have found this place.

Room Tip: In August the sun does not set until 10:45 and there is another hour change in Alaska. We were on a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Wedgewood Resort in Fairbanks is part of Fountainhead Hotels, which includes the Wedgewood (and Bear Lodge, on site at the Wedgewood); Bridgewater and Sophie's Station. Wedgewood and Bear Lodge are on a quiet 100-acre setting that includes walking trails and a pond (with an active beaver colony), and is adjacent to Creamer’s Field Migratory Waterfowl Refuge, a former dairy farm that is currently a 1,000+ acre bird observatory. In addition to the tranquil setting, Wedgewood has enough self-contained amenities to make you want to stay on-site, so to us, it is a destination AND a home base for exploring other Fairbanks attractions. As others have mentioned, this complex was originally built as apartments for pipeline workers, but has of course been rehabbed into hotel guest suites. Units have a separate bedroom, full kitchen, living room, dining room, full bath and access to an outside deck. Living rooms have large flat-screen TV’s and large sofa, decorated in basic “lodge” décor (not high end, but serviceable and pleasant). Bedrooms have old-style A/C units under the windows, which we’ve had mixed luck with – they work very well, but in one of our stays (we’ve stayed on three separate occasions) the unit was a little loud.

Kitchens are equipped with everything you need to cook meals, including an apartment-size fridge, coffee maker, stove, microwave, etc. Two grocery stores are very nearby for stocking your kitchen. We always mean to save money and do this, but the Golden Bear Restaurant in the Bear Lodge has very good food, and we end up eating our meals there when not out and about in town. I’ve had the Snoqualmie Falls Oatmeal for breakfast, which takes oatmeal to another (good) level. Dinners are good too: the horseradish-encrusted salmon was cooked just right and the service has always been good.

Also on the grounds: the Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum. This is a high-end gem of a museum, with beautifully exhibited restored antique vehicles. There is detailed historical information about each vehicle, as well as period clothing of corresponding era. For motor heads, this museum is heaven. If you are really into this, you could spend a good half-day in this museum. Discounted prices for Resort guests.

There is a nice gift shop in the Bear Lodge with some unusual finds, and the “commons” area on the resort grounds has a bush plane and a couple of early Alaskan log cabins to explore. Wedgewood provides a free trolley for their guests, which travels to downtown, the University, Pioneer Park, etc.

Folks at the front desk went out of their way to help me with some tech questions in the business center, as I was juggling some business with a family vacation. The quiet setting appeals to my kids, who can walk around the grounds with a feeling of safety and security.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrowdAvoidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We are on a Celebrity Cruise/Tour started at this resort. It is one of the best places to stay in Fairbanks and relaxing. This was originally an apartment complex for workers of the Alaskan Pipeline. They did a great job converting them and each unit has a small kitchen with full size regridgerator, separate dining area, living room area, full bathroom and separate bedroom. Pleanty of room for up to 6 people.
A wonderful car museum on property nd many activities for all ages.

Room Tip: If you want a room close to the dining area, the Bear Lodge is the best bet. If you want to stay cl...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carib-Travel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
4.3 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,204 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.1 mi away
Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Resort

Address: 212 Wedgewood Dr, Fairbanks, AK 99701-1728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $89 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 105 acres, an ideal place to experience the natural beauty Fairbanks has to offer. Surrounded by a 75 acre wildlife sanctuary and a 2,000 acre migratory waterfowl refuge, Wedgewood Resort is the perfect destination for travelers wanting a quiet getaway, but the convenience of being minutes from shopping, attractions and cultural events. The resort is the perfect base to explore Fairbanks. The spacious residential-style one & two bedroom suites are thoughtfully appointed featuring a fully-equipped kitchen and separate living and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Wedgewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Resort Fairbanks, Alaska
Wedgewood Hotel Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing