We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to do and see at Wedgewood Resort”
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wedgewood Resort
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Anchorage
Level Contributor
113 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lots to do and see at Wedgewood Resort”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Wedgewood Resort in Fairbanks is part of Fountainhead Hotels, which includes the Wedgewood (and Bear Lodge, on site at the Wedgewood); Bridgewater and Sophie's Station. Wedgewood and Bear Lodge are on a quiet 100-acre setting that includes walking trails and a pond (with an active beaver colony), and is adjacent to Creamer’s Field Migratory Waterfowl Refuge, a former dairy farm that is currently a 1,000+ acre bird observatory. In addition to the tranquil setting, Wedgewood has enough self-contained amenities to make you want to stay on-site, so to us, it is a destination AND a home base for exploring other Fairbanks attractions. As others have mentioned, this complex was originally built as apartments for pipeline workers, but has of course been rehabbed into hotel guest suites. Units have a separate bedroom, full kitchen, living room, dining room, full bath and access to an outside deck. Living rooms have large flat-screen TV’s and large sofa, decorated in basic “lodge” décor (not high end, but serviceable and pleasant). Bedrooms have old-style A/C units under the windows, which we’ve had mixed luck with – they work very well, but in one of our stays (we’ve stayed on three separate occasions) the unit was a little loud.

Kitchens are equipped with everything you need to cook meals, including an apartment-size fridge, coffee maker, stove, microwave, etc. Two grocery stores are very nearby for stocking your kitchen. We always mean to save money and do this, but the Golden Bear Restaurant in the Bear Lodge has very good food, and we end up eating our meals there when not out and about in town. I’ve had the Snoqualmie Falls Oatmeal for breakfast, which takes oatmeal to another (good) level. Dinners are good too: the horseradish-encrusted salmon was cooked just right and the service has always been good.

Also on the grounds: the Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum. This is a high-end gem of a museum, with beautifully exhibited restored antique vehicles. There is detailed historical information about each vehicle, as well as period clothing of corresponding era. For motor heads, this museum is heaven. If you are really into this, you could spend a good half-day in this museum. Discounted prices for Resort guests.

There is a nice gift shop in the Bear Lodge with some unusual finds, and the “commons” area on the resort grounds has a bush plane and a couple of early Alaskan log cabins to explore. Wedgewood provides a free trolley for their guests, which travels to downtown, the University, Pioneer Park, etc.

Folks at the front desk went out of their way to help me with some tech questions in the business center, as I was juggling some business with a family vacation. The quiet setting appeals to my kids, who can walk around the grounds with a feeling of safety and security.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrowdAvoidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    87
    33
    20
    15
See reviews for
62
71
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We are on a Celebrity Cruise/Tour started at this resort. It is one of the best places to stay in Fairbanks and relaxing. This was originally an apartment complex for workers of the Alaskan Pipeline. They did a great job converting them and each unit has a small kitchen with full size regridgerator, separate dining area, living room area, full bathroom and separate bedroom. Pleanty of room for up to 6 people.
A wonderful car museum on property nd many activities for all ages.

Room Tip: If you want a room close to the dining area, the Bear Lodge is the best bet. If you want to stay cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carib-Travel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Spacious suite with lots of closet room was conveniently located a short walk to the main lodge, gift shop and restaurant. Dinner was outstanding. Enjoyed the evening show that featured a naturalist and owls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This lodge was the start of our Cruisetour with Princess. We liked it. Large room with a balcony. Confortable mattress. The in-lodge restaurant was good and the price reasonable. On the grounds of the lodge we visited the antique car museum. It was the best we had seen. Also we went to the bird observatory gift shop and were impressed by the quality of the displays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DidiD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We started our Alaska vacation at the Bear Lodge as part of our Princess land/cruise package. Rooms were large and clean. Beds comfortable with nice sheets and lots of pillows. Bathrooms had two sinks and lots of mirrors. Air conditioning thermostat worked flawlessly. It was summer solstice and I appreciated the heavy curtains to block light. There was a tiny balcony that was pretty useless since the air conditioner exhaust emptied onto it. I did step out to take a photo, but otherwise kept the door closed. The on-site restaurant had excellent meals. The salad with grilled salmon was especially tasty. Grounds of the hotel include an antique car museum that we were told was excellent by other guests. Next door is a nature preserve with walking paths. The hotel provides free hourly bus service to select Fairbanks locations. Gift shop offers quick breakfast and snack items as an alternative to the restaurant. The only restaurant within walking distance is an Italian restaurant with no air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MI_gooddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Wedgewood resort for 3 nights. Our suite was located in the Katmai building. The suite included a kitchen, bedroom with a large walk-in closet, dinning room and a living room. The kitchen had silverware and plates for 4 people. A coffee pot along with coffee and cream were also included in the kitchen. Our suite was very spacious, clean and freshened every day. We dined at the Bear restaurant which is a short walk from the Katmai building. While there we visited the Antique Automobile Museum which had a fabulous collection of antique autos.

We had a wonderful stay and I highly recommend the Wedgewood Resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor. We had to schlep our luggage up three floors and for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What more can I say. After spending a day touring Fairbanks and returning to our room, the first thing I noticed was all our suitcases had been gone through, and all my prescription medications that I had hidden were missing. After reporting it to front desk, with no help from them other than the wrong number to call police, and a very rude asst. manager (if that is who he was), the police arrived and informed me this was not the first time they visited this place for complaints of theft. When asked to speak with the manager, I was told I would have to "wait till next day". It was only 4pm, and I was not getting anywhere with this gentleman (sic) behind the front desk, who was obviously in charge. When I asked if the manager was contacted regarding this incident, I was told again and again to "wait till next morning". After going to front desk the next morning, I was told the manager was not available, and we had to check out. It has been 3 weeks now, and no one has contacted me about this.

I would definately NOT recommend this place to anyone!!!! It is very outdated and obviously needs a lot of improvement concerning customer relations.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend a good room. Air conditioners noisy and don't work right. Bedroom tv not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.3 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
1.5 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Resort

Property: Wedgewood Resort
Address: 212 Wedgewood Dr, Fairbanks, AK 99701-1728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 105 acres, an ideal place to experience the natural beauty Fairbanks has to offer. Surrounded by a 75 acre wildlife sanctuary and a 2,000 acre migratory waterfowl refuge, Wedgewood Resort is the perfect destination for travelers wanting a quiet getaway, but the convenience of being minutes from shopping, attractions and cultural events. The resort is the perfect base to explore Fairbanks. The spacious residential-style one & two bedroom suites are thoughtfully appointed featuring a fully-equipped kitchen and separate living and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Wedgewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Resort Fairbanks, Alaska
Wedgewood Hotel Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing