We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bear Lodge - Cruise-Tour with Princess 1 night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wedgewood Resort
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Bear Lodge - Cruise-Tour with Princess 1 night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bear Lodge as part of a cruisetour package through Princess Cruises. This hotel was hard to research prior to going on the trip because Princess only refers to it as "Bear Lodge" but it is officially listed as part of the Wedgewood resort.

We arrived around 5pm and left the next morning at 3am, so our time at this hotel was very limited.

Our room was huge! It could have been two rooms, it was so big. We had two queen beds, several sitting chairs, a small baloney, desk. For the size of the room, my complaint would be that the TV was too small, because of its distance from the beds. The bathroom area was also large. There were essentially two rooms to the bathroom. There was a room with locking door with the tub/shower, toilet, and sink. And then, another large counter and sink outside of that room. There was a coffee maker and hair dryer (one of the weakest hair dryers that you'll ever encounter).

This hotel is a little dated, but I think they are working on updating it, as our room smelled like new carpet. There are no key cards...just actual keys for the rooms.

This hotel is not centrally located. There is some sort of shuttle/bus that will take people from the hotel to the downtown area, but we did not use this service. There is an expensive restaurant and bar on the first floor of the Bear Lodge (There are no other restaurants within walking distance.) The property is large with multiple buildings. There talks given by naturalists several times a week at this hotel, a classic car museum, and nature trails. If you were staying here for more than a few hours, I think these things would be worth investigating.

For Princess, we had to have our bags out by 2:30am, get on the bus at 3am (which waited around until 3:30am for the late people) and got to the airport by 4am for our 6am flight home.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    84
    31
    20
    15
See reviews for
57
70
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I checked into the Wedgewood Resort for a one and a half month stay. Everything is spotless, all the amenities that should be here are (dishes, silverware, pots & pans, linens , etc.) Staff are friendly and efficient. The parking lot is clean, the buildings are secure, and the property has exciting activities. I'm going to walk the Wildlife Sanctuary this afternoon, later this evening is a free local program about the area. There is a Bird Sanctuary, as well as a fantastic Antique Car Museum.
We are very comfortable in our one bedroom, living room, dining room apartment. We love the big screen TV. The internet is fast and reliable, we are close to amenities in town, and we enjoyed the beautiful aroma of the spruce trees this morning. Very relaxing atmospher here at the Wedgewood Resort. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pengirl165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I enjoyed this resort very friendly staff ... breakfast buffet was very good with ample choices...The resort is spread out which makes it a quiet atmosphere...definately would return however not really walk to anything rooms were clean great shower.. I was on a tour during my stay

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmanPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The resort is well maintained and has some great "extras". The best for us is the Motor Museam on the property. Even if you don't stay at the Resort when in Fairbanks take the time to visit. Well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandR0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Reasonable room but could not believe that so many facilities were not open at the weekend. Restaurant was closed on friday night and no breakfast on saturday morning. One of the major reasons for staying was the bird observatory and it did not open on Saturday or Sunday!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane in Sunny Queensland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Our tour group stayed in this hotel during our 5 night land tour component of our recent Alaskan cruise. When we opened the door to our suite we were amazed - it had a full sized kitchen, separate dining room, separate lounge room, bathroom and bedroom with two large beds and a walk-in robe!
We ate at the onsite restaurant the night we stayed there and found the food lovely and well presented although like several hotels - too large a meal to finish.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

For an extended stay hotel the Wedgewood was pretty nice. On the upside the rooms are actually small appatments, there is a nice nature path and hiking on the property, there is an antique auto museum that is fantastic, the laundry facilities are inexpensive (by Alaska standards), and the staff are quick to help with concerns. On the downside, the beds are substandard, its difficult to maintain the room at a comfortable temperature (too hot or too cold), there are no elevators, they have this annoying policy of charging guests $.25 for a sheet of paper to use in the business center printer, there is no fitness center at the hotel, and the wireless internet service is unreliable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.3 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
1.5 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Resort

Property: Wedgewood Resort
Address: 212 Wedgewood Dr, Fairbanks, AK 99701-1728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 105 acres, an ideal place to experience the natural beauty Fairbanks has to offer. Surrounded by a 75 acre wildlife sanctuary and a 2,000 acre migratory waterfowl refuge, Wedgewood Resort is the perfect destination for travelers wanting a quiet getaway, but the convenience of being minutes from shopping, attractions and cultural events. The resort is the perfect base to explore Fairbanks. The spacious residential-style one & two bedroom suites are thoughtfully appointed featuring a fully-equipped kitchen and separate living and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wedgewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Resort Fairbanks, Alaska
Wedgewood Hotel Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing