We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Another Visit in the Future!

2nd time returning to Arctic Dog Adventure Co for a husky walk! You can tell that Lisbet clearly... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Otto S
Three days dog sledding , White Mountains

We had the most amazing 3 day adventure in the White Mountain National Recreational Area with... read more

Reviewed January 13, 2024
Ellen S
Read all 55 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fairbanks
from $99.00
More Info
from $220.00
More Info
from $169.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
54
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
54
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white mountains authentic experience packing list day trip bucket list northern lights once in a lifetime huskies mush hike gloves gear scenery harness stories bear alaska
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 55 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2021

My wife and I did the Husky Hike with Lisbet. It was a lot of fun. She was a very friendly and knowledgable. We got to select the dog we wanted to hike with and then we went on our hike. About half way through we stopped and she gave us hot tea and a homemade muffin. The views were awesome too. The whole experience was incredible.

Date of experience: September 2021
1  Thank W265OTcodyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2021 via mobile

This was an AMAZING activity! I’m not in shape, so I was huffing and puffing, but it was beautiful! Definitely book this experience if you have even the slightest love for dogs. I got Yksi, and she was pretty mellow, which is good for my pace. Lisbet is a wealth of information about the area and the history of sled dogs, and she’s genuinely interested in her guests’ hometowns, so it was wonderful to have conversation with her. She gave us homemade rhubarb muffins at the top of the ridge and they were to die for! Overall a wonderful value.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 562ashleyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 2, 2021

This trip was unforgettable! Lisbet is the owner and we were lucky to have her as a guide on our trip. She's SO friendly, knowledgable, sweet, easy to talk to and patient with all the questions we had and explaining us how to care for the dogs. The scenery and landscape was absolutely breathtaking- going through a winter wonderland. The stars are her dogs! They are athletes and I'm still in awe how they run for hours uphill, breaking trail through fresh powder and sleeping in -30F outside. They are SO sweet, obviously well trained and absolute joy to watch what they love to do. Truly Lisbet made all the difference on this trip with her positive and kind personality. Can't wait to come back for more :-)

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank HexeTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 1, 2020

I brought my dad on this tour as an early Christmas gift and we both had an absolutely amazing experience. I couldn't recommend Lisbet enough as a guide and as a host. She loves what she does, and that carries through into every aspect of the tour.

From the moment we arrived she was professional and friendly, and she took Covid-19 precautions that made me feel safe and comfortable. (During the Fairbanks winter wearing a mask not only keeps you safe, it keeps you warm!) I think we were both a little uncertain at the idea of driving our own sled dog team, since we had zero previous experience, but Lisbet is the type of expert that is so confident in what she does that it makes you feel like you can do it too. We were able to get to know the dogs (they're so sweet) and help get the sleds set before we went out. Lisbet explained everything and patiently answered all of our questions. As soon as we got going, we both realized there was nothing to worry about- the dogs are very good at what they do, and it is such a special feeling to be part of something they love so much. The tour was the perfect amount of time and was full of beautiful views. (I recommend giving yourself some extra time as you drive to your tour, as the views along the road are beautiful and worth pulling over to gape at.) Lisbet took the time to explain the landscape we were mushing over, pointing out tracks in the snow and peaks in the distance. When we returned, she took extra time to answer more questions about the dogs and the surrounding area.

This is an absolute "must-do" experience if you are visiting Fairbanks, or like me you live here and have someone visit you. The tour was personal and informative, the views were stunning, the dogs were smart, sweet, and well trained, and Lisbet's knowledge and personality really wrapped everything up and made this experience the whole package. It is an "authentic Alaskan experience" because Lisbet is the real deal- an Alaska who loves the land and loves her dogs, and loves to share these things with others.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank maggiek_0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 16, 2020

We planned our entire vacation around this trip. A quick synopsis: Lisbet or Nils will pick you up in downtown Fairbanks and you head to their off-grid home. Lisbet fits everyone for snow pants, a parka, and boots (use all of her items, you do not need to buy these yourself). She can also fill in gaps on gloves or mid-layers as needed although those are items you should bring. Each person receives a snack bag which is tailored to any dietary restrictions and a duffel to pack their items in. You then go out to meet the dogs which is an absolute dream. Some are shy, as is expected, and some think that pets are the greatest thing in the entire world. Each person is assigned their own dog team and you actively participate in harnessing your dogs. Lisbet provides a quick mushing lesson and off you go! It's not too hard to learn and a lot of fun.

Once you reach camp you help with putting the dogs on the line and feeding them. The one caveat on the camp conditions - this is not really glamping. Everyone stays in one large tent and the stove is actually hard to modulate so it can either be really hot or really cold at night. That said, still a five-star experience, but as someone who really hates camping ,and dislikes sleeping in the same room as other people even more, this was an adjustment. Lisbet is an excellent cook and you eat a delicious dinner, have hot beverages, and then decide if you want to wake up to see the aurora. In the morning Lisbet serves a great breakfast and you help give the dogs their morning treats. After breakfast it's off to the trail again with a quick stop for a camp lunch. You end the day back at Lisbet's home, take the dogs back to their little hosues, and get dropped off back in Fairbanks.

The best part by far is meeting the dogs and getting to know their personalities. Laura, another guide on the trip, is fantastic as well and really helped us hone our mushing skills on the second day. It's an experience unlike any other, the customer service was superb, and we're still talking about each of our dogs 3 days later. Cannot recommend enough!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank CMM1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews