We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$259
$249
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites(Fairbanks)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wedgewood Resort(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
$159
$129
Bear Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn(Fairbanks)(Great Value!)
$175
$126
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
42
13
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
13
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsquiet neighborhoodhome away from homecomfortable bedrental carnice staywould stay here againnorthern lightsfridgevelmaflemingalaska
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 57 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The room was very nice - king-size bed and room for all our luggage. We were in a two-bedroom, one-bathroom house, so we shared a bathroom with other guests. The kitchen was stocked with plenty of food and had everything we needed. Very homey and comfortable. The decorations included several beautiful pieces of stained glass that had been created by Mrs. "Host." There was a wood stove in the living room, also a desk with information on the locale. What we appreciated most was the information from the hosts - Mr. "Host" had many tips for us and suggestions of things for us to do. He made it clear that he was available to help with anything we might need. The only negative was that it was late June, with the midnight sun, and the blinds did not completely darken the room. If we ever get back to Fairbanks, we will definitely call these people for another room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dulcimerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We (two adults and one child) stayed at Al & Verna’s Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway for two nights on July 2 & 3, 2009. We are so glad to have found this bed & breakfast. Their excellent hospitality and comfortable room made our big annual summer trip absolutely memorable. Al’s knowledgeable, down-to-earth suggestions about out plans in Fairbanks, Verna’s scrumptious breakfast, and of course, we enjoyed the delightful conversations with them on various topics. Also, the guest room, pleasantly decorated with an essence of an early Laura Ashley style, in a quiet, well-maintained residential location, which is about 10 min. to downtown, is a great value. If you stay there, be sure to take a few-minute walk to the 1st Ave along the Chena River. Beaver sightings are guaranteed. Don't forget to visit Alaska Pipelines and Chena Hot Springs.
Al & Verna, please give our best regards to your family, especially to your grandchildren: “BFF” & “Godzilla rocks!” The Lees in Anchorage

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masako L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and I arrived in Fairbanks on 6th June with all intention to stay at the Ah Marie Rose, who according to The Lonely Planet was a good place to stay. We had driven for hours on end from Denali Park and were exhausted. John at the Marie Rose had no space and phoned up his friend Al Flemming at the Log Cabin. Al and Verna was just down the road and also within walking distance to downton. They had space. We booked three days but stayed for 5.

We arrived and two elderly people came to greet us. There are several types of accomodation. We opted for the Log cabin which is a house on its own with two rooms.
We took the biggest room. The house itself was beautifuly maintained with a kitchen and lovely lounge with TV and everything you would expect in a house. The fridge was very well stocked with cereal, muffins, spreads etc.
The house had one bathroom with shower/ bath. The whole house was very spacious.
Outsided was a lovely deck to sit on.

We were charged $85 a night. As you can imagine we were over the moon with this price. We had the house to ourselves as no one had booked the other room. Al even said we could use the bicycles for free, which he kindly left in the garage for us. He was very knowlegeable about Fairbanks and he helped us alot. After weeks on the road we often payed $90+ for most accomodation and that would just be a room on it own. With not half the amenities we had at this house.

The downtown was walkable, close by was Big daddy's, a restaurant that at first glance would make you wonder, but step inside, the food is wonderfull, because if your tastebuds have atropied after too long in the interior then they wil spring to life here. No frills food but tasty burgers, ribs etc at a reasonable price. If you are not accustomed to mexican food or do not like seafood there are good alternatives here.

Al and Verna never came to our house. We spoke with them when we saw them, but they generaly kept to themselves. Al did give us some Salmon and Halibut to try which he caught himself. After a day out and about it was great to come back and cook and sit on the couch and relax. The daytime hours was endless and we did experience an earthquake during our stay, however most people seem to be used to this.
Chena hot springs is just outside Fairbanks on a lovely road. Well worth a visit.

I have read some of the other reviews and must feel that I have to set a few things straight.

Over the whole we found Alaska a friendly place, with most Alaskans proud to talk about themselves, their towns and their lives. I think most Alaskans love meeting people as it is a short season tourist wise and that they enjoy meeting people as you can imagine in such a remote region. Al and Verna were no different and Al was very enthusiastic about Fairbanks and talking about Fairbanks. This was our experience with many people we met. The people are open, friendly and sincere - a breath of fresh air. We have never met so many friendly people during our travels. I think people should not always be so defensive/ irritable and have a more open mind and attitude.

Hopefully we will be back to stay at this wonderful place!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My father stayed at Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway for a visit with us, as we were renting next door. Amazing service, cute place, great location and friendly hospitality. We are hoping to put my father and Uncle up at the Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway again this year. The owners are kind, wonderful people with generous hearts. We would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanoleso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Although we were needing a real hotel, everything was booked solid in Fairbanks.

While calling hotels, the Downtown Log Cabin came up as an option. We did not know it was a B&B, but we got the last room Alan and Verna had in their main house.

When we arrived, we were surprised to find it was a private home (we've never stayed in a B&B before), we are private people, and weren't very comfortable sharing a bathroom with strangers, but it was our only option, so we stayed.

We told Alan and Verna the situation, and they were so gracious, they worked so hard to try and find somewhere else for us to stay. I've never met nicer people.

The bed was very comfortable, and we slept well. The next morning's breakfast was delicious, made even more enjoyable by our conversation with our hosts. They know so much about this area, and helped us decide what to do and see.

Although the situation wasn't exactly what we were looking for, it was absolutely worth it to meet these great people.

If you like B&B's, you can't go wrong here, it's a quality location, close to everything, and the hosts are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ducatisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews