We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
43
13
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
13
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts b bs home away from home quiet neighborhood place to stay comfortable bed one night rental car nice stay close to downtown train station northern lights fridge velma fleming alaska
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 58 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and I arrived in Fairbanks on 6th June with all intention to stay at the Ah Marie Rose, who according to The Lonely Planet was a good place to stay. We had driven for hours on end from Denali Park and were exhausted. John at the Marie Rose had no space and phoned up his friend Al Flemming at the Log Cabin. Al and Verna was just down the road and also within walking distance to downton. They had space. We booked three days but stayed for 5.

We arrived and two elderly people came to greet us. There are several types of accomodation. We opted for the Log cabin which is a house on its own with two rooms.
We took the biggest room. The house itself was beautifuly maintained with a kitchen and lovely lounge with TV and everything you would expect in a house. The fridge was very well stocked with cereal, muffins, spreads etc.
The house had one bathroom with shower/ bath. The whole house was very spacious.
Outsided was a lovely deck to sit on.

We were charged $85 a night. As you can imagine we were over the moon with this price. We had the house to ourselves as no one had booked the other room. Al even said we could use the bicycles for free, which he kindly left in the garage for us. He was very knowlegeable about Fairbanks and he helped us alot. After weeks on the road we often payed $90+ for most accomodation and that would just be a room on it own. With not half the amenities we had at this house.

The downtown was walkable, close by was Big daddy's, a restaurant that at first glance would make you wonder, but step inside, the food is wonderfull, because if your tastebuds have atropied after too long in the interior then they wil spring to life here. No frills food but tasty burgers, ribs etc at a reasonable price. If you are not accustomed to mexican food or do not like seafood there are good alternatives here.

Al and Verna never came to our house. We spoke with them when we saw them, but they generaly kept to themselves. Al did give us some Salmon and Halibut to try which he caught himself. After a day out and about it was great to come back and cook and sit on the couch and relax. The daytime hours was endless and we did experience an earthquake during our stay, however most people seem to be used to this.
Chena hot springs is just outside Fairbanks on a lovely road. Well worth a visit.

I have read some of the other reviews and must feel that I have to set a few things straight.

Over the whole we found Alaska a friendly place, with most Alaskans proud to talk about themselves, their towns and their lives. I think most Alaskans love meeting people as it is a short season tourist wise and that they enjoy meeting people as you can imagine in such a remote region. Al and Verna were no different and Al was very enthusiastic about Fairbanks and talking about Fairbanks. This was our experience with many people we met. The people are open, friendly and sincere - a breath of fresh air. We have never met so many friendly people during our travels. I think people should not always be so defensive/ irritable and have a more open mind and attitude.

Hopefully we will be back to stay at this wonderful place!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My father stayed at Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway for a visit with us, as we were renting next door. Amazing service, cute place, great location and friendly hospitality. We are hoping to put my father and Uncle up at the Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway again this year. The owners are kind, wonderful people with generous hearts. We would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanoleso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Although we were needing a real hotel, everything was booked solid in Fairbanks.

While calling hotels, the Downtown Log Cabin came up as an option. We did not know it was a B&B, but we got the last room Alan and Verna had in their main house.

When we arrived, we were surprised to find it was a private home (we've never stayed in a B&B before), we are private people, and weren't very comfortable sharing a bathroom with strangers, but it was our only option, so we stayed.

We told Alan and Verna the situation, and they were so gracious, they worked so hard to try and find somewhere else for us to stay. I've never met nicer people.

The bed was very comfortable, and we slept well. The next morning's breakfast was delicious, made even more enjoyable by our conversation with our hosts. They know so much about this area, and helped us decide what to do and see.

Although the situation wasn't exactly what we were looking for, it was absolutely worth it to meet these great people.

If you like B&B's, you can't go wrong here, it's a quality location, close to everything, and the hosts are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ducatisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

My husband and I can't say enough about the wonderful stay we had with Allen and Verna Felming at the Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast. We arrived on a motorcycle after calling the B&B from the Fairbanks Visitor's Center. The Visitor's Center was very complementary regarding this specific B&B and since we had no advanced reservations we were very lucky that they were able to accommodate us. We were given the loft for one night before moving into the main house for our stay of over five days. The loft was comfortable and more that met our needs.

Allen is so knowledgeable about the surrounding areas that we just relied on his expertise to direct us to the best sights. He was helpful beyond our expectations.

Verna's breakfasts were varied and plentiful. Our room and the house as a whole was spotless.

We will definitely return to stay at the Downtown Log Cabin B&B the next time we are in Fairbanks, Alaska.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HD4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

we had a nice stay with Allen and Verna in Fairbanks. At our arrival, they both were at home and gave us a warm welcome. We were in one of the rooms in the main house, with a nice bed and enough space. The bathroom was nice and the price reasenable.
Allen is a man that likes to talk about Alaska and other topics. He can give a guest many good ideas. He brings it like you should visit something, rather than you could visit something. We chose our own way and had a great stay, visiting Cramer's Fiels and Chena Hot Springs (especially the road to the Springs, with many moose). The longer our stay became, the more the talks became serious about all kinds of subjects. At that moment, you start realising more and more that Allen is a nice man.
Verna is a nice woman that (logically) talks less than Allen. She cooks a great breakfast with fruit, pancakes, etc.

Both Allen and Verna tried their best (in their own way) to make us feel at home. We got a bottle of hot water to take along when we left (at other B&B's, we didn't even dare to ask) and could use the internet at any time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Meinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews