We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp wherever you want”
Review of Steese Highway

Steese Highway
Ranked #23 of 99 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most of the scenic drives in the Fairbanks region start on this road, which twists through the White Mountains and allows access to mining sites, hot-springs resorts and recreational options.
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Camp wherever you want”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We drove up and down the Steese one time looking for somewhere to camp, so we went over to Ophir Creek... loaded with mosquitoes. We came back out onto the highway and ended up finding a cool spot just off the road next to a small pond. It was really fun, we just did a little off-roading and set up the tent. Good times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chugiak, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Drive!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a great drive. Absolutely beautiful and we always see wildlife when we drive out there. The Roadhouse is a great destination and a fabulous drive. You will not regret driving out there for pictures, the experience and lunch. :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kiri_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“80 miles of pavement, 80 miles of dirt”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I wasn't expecting that much pavement, so it was a pleasant surprise. Climbed up into the mountains and saw gorgeous scenery! Little traffic in October, and very little snow on the road. No wildlife on my trip, but an gorgeous drive!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnswife3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice drive”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Get out of town and watch the Aurora's, well we tried but didn't see much. Still its a nice road, scenic, a few restaurants along the way. A little scary at midnight when you pull over in the dark and get out to look for Aurora's. Makes you wonder whats watching you from the tree line.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oodnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We travelled the Steese Hwy on our Artic Circle Adventure and tour to Dredge 8 and were surprised by the quality of the road. Being in a country area we did not expect double lane divided roads but these were welcomed as, being from Australia, finding where we needed to go was pleasantly easy. Of course, when this road meets the Dalton Hwy such luxuries diminish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank eccarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steese Highway also viewed

 

Been to Steese Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing