We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pan for gold - success guaranteed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Dredge 8

Gold Dredge 8
Ranked #8 of 51 Tours in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join the Binkley family for a trip through Alaska's gold mining history at Gold Dredge 8. Enjoy a close up view of the Trans Alaska Pipeline and a presentation about it's construction and operation. Then take a seat aboard a replica of the narrow-gauge Tanana Valley Railroad and hear the conductor tell tales of prospectors who arrived by the thousands during the gold rush. The train ride takes you to Gold Dredge 8 where you will see first-hand how the dredge worked the gold fields, then receive a brief but informative course on gold panning. Once the train arrives at the camp, you will try panning for yourself! You will find gold- we guarantee it! Finally, explore the dredge camp and enjoy complimentary coffee and freshly baked cookies in the gift shop as your gold is weighed, then hop aboard the train and return to the station.
Gulf Coast Fla
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pan for gold - success guaranteed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The history of the dredge was interesting, the panning fun. Everyone gets a salted bag of dirt, so you will find ~$10 worth of gold. Souvenirs fairly priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kleektours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    319
    63
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
826 reviews
343 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Three events in one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is really three sites. The first is a section of the Alaska Pipeline. A cutaway section show how it works and a little about what it took to build it. The second part was a train ride with stops to explain the gold mining process in Alaska. Finally you get to the Dredge where you get to pan for gold and keep what you find. Makes a great souvenier. Gift shop has free coffee and cookies (worth more than the gold I panned to me). You can walk through the dredge and get some idea what was involved. Most of our group didn't realize you could so spent most of their time in the gift shop. Educational and fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Kind of cool to walk away with some gold flakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was sort of a late addition to our Alaskan itinerary, but it was actually kind of fun. The best part is learning how to pan for gold, which took us a few tries to get the hang of it, but then it's kind of cool when you start to see the gold flakes. We came away with $33 worth of gold, which is now enclosed in a little locket my wife bought. It's a tad cheesy, but it was worth seeing my wife get excited about it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gold Dredge No. ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Part of our package and looked forward to the tour. The train ride was the best part and that was just OK.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoyceS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Well Done and Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This excursion was included as part of our Land/Sea cruise. I thought it was well done. Got to see a little of the Alaskan pipeline and how it functions. The mining operation was very impressive in its day. The original dredge is still present and one can walk through parts of it. The talks were also good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Dredge 8 also viewed

 

Been to Gold Dredge 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing