We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun in Fairbanks”
Review of Gold Dredge 8

Gold Dredge 8
Ranked #8 of 52 Tours in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join the Binkley family for a trip through Alaska's gold mining history at Gold Dredge 8. Enjoy a close up view of the Trans Alaska Pipeline and a presentation about it's construction and operation. Then take a seat aboard a replica of the narrow-gauge Tanana Valley Railroad and hear the conductor tell tales of prospectors who arrived by the thousands during the gold rush. The train ride takes you to Gold Dredge 8 where you will see first-hand how the dredge worked the gold fields, then receive a brief but informative course on gold panning. Once the train arrives at the camp, you will try panning for yourself! You will find gold- we guarantee it! Finally, explore the dredge camp and enjoy complimentary coffee and freshly baked cookies in the gift shop as your gold is weighed, then hop aboard the train and return to the station.
california
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great fun in Fairbanks”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The gold dredge was great fun, plus informational. I thought it was going to be hokey, but it turned out great. Pa naming for gold was super organized and we all got some. Recommend it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceci60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    330
    66
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
508 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Really interesting place, one of the greatest tourists traps in Alaska but all your choice whether you decide to spend money or not. Free coffee, cookies while they clean your wallet out, but still very educational.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WPEVLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You really should try this!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very interesting tour and explanation of gold mining and panning followed by 'having a go' at panning. We got $28 worth of flakes which we put in a locket. We had fun and learned stuff too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angel58Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Globus Tour Stop”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Not to be missed while in Fairbanks. They give you a "poke" containing some gold flakes and show you how to pan. Always a winner! I wound up with $12.00 worth (they weigh your find) which I put into a locket (very reasonable) for my sweetheart. One of our group found a $100.00+ nugget.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anglerted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Looking for something to do one afternoon we decided to go gold panning. On the ride from our hotel we were able to see the Alaska pipeline. Once at the gold dredge we walked under the pipeline. Then we boarded a train and were entertained to guitar music of Johnny Cash tunes. The train then took us to where we panned for gold. Somewhat touristy but lots of fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank reidbo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Dredge 8 also viewed

 

Been to Gold Dredge 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing