We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Dredge 8

Gold Dredge 8
Ranked #8 of 51 Tours in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join the Binkley family for a trip through Alaska's gold mining history at Gold Dredge 8. Enjoy a close up view of the Trans Alaska Pipeline and a presentation about it's construction and operation. Then take a seat aboard a replica of the narrow-gauge Tanana Valley Railroad and hear the conductor tell tales of prospectors who arrived by the thousands during the gold rush. The train ride takes you to Gold Dredge 8 where you will see first-hand how the dredge worked the gold fields, then receive a brief but informative course on gold panning. Once the train arrives at the camp, you will try panning for yourself! You will find gold- we guarantee it! Finally, explore the dredge camp and enjoy complimentary coffee and freshly baked cookies in the gift shop as your gold is weighed, then hop aboard the train and return to the station.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
285 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Even though the weather didn't cooperate (unseasonably cold (about 25F) and snowing) we still had a great time. Everything was well organized, staff was knowledgeable and friendly and everyone gets at least a little gold (my husband liked panning so much he bought an extra bag). In total, we got about $37 worth of gold in three bags. Lots of fun and highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMCPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    319
    63
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
260 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Somehow I knew we wouldn't win much gold!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was interesting to hear what life was like during the golden years in Alaska. In the end you pan for gold which ends up being a time where they are trying to sell you jewelry etc. for your new found gold.

You also get a chance to see the Alaska Pipelie up close and personal - also interesting.

This is a very low-key attraction so a nice break in high-energy excursions. But I wouldn't have done this if it wasn't already included in our cruise-tour package.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Drove out to see this dredge just to see what it looked like was very impressed on how big this thing was. The panning for gold was a treet found $40 worth of gold

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigMike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun way to hit "pay dirt"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Train ride provided historical information and demonstrations of gold mining. We got to pan a bag (extras for $10) and my husband and I found $22 worth of gold, which seemed average. They sold inexpensive jewelry to put the gold in for a keepsake. Complimentary hot chocolate & chocolate chip cookies. Very friendly crew! Great for all ages.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank moonstream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A little touch of the mining industry Enjoyed the tour even though I am fairbanksan Thoroughly enjoyed tour--gold panning was fun--challenging--little gold dust. Get to keep panned gold. Enjoyed by young and elderly. Train ride into mining area. Earl Hughes narrated tour

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gloria246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Dredge 8 also viewed

 

Been to Gold Dredge 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing