We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somehow I knew we wouldn't win much gold!”
Review of Gold Dredge 8

Gold Dredge 8
Ranked #8 of 52 Tours in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join the Binkley family for a trip through Alaska's gold mining history at Gold Dredge 8. Enjoy a close up view of the Trans Alaska Pipeline and a presentation about it's construction and operation. Then take a seat aboard a replica of the narrow-gauge Tanana Valley Railroad and hear the conductor tell tales of prospectors who arrived by the thousands during the gold rush. The train ride takes you to Gold Dredge 8 where you will see first-hand how the dredge worked the gold fields, then receive a brief but informative course on gold panning. Once the train arrives at the camp, you will try panning for yourself! You will find gold- we guarantee it! Finally, explore the dredge camp and enjoy complimentary coffee and freshly baked cookies in the gift shop as your gold is weighed, then hop aboard the train and return to the station.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
289 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Somehow I knew we wouldn't win much gold!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was interesting to hear what life was like during the golden years in Alaska. In the end you pan for gold which ends up being a time where they are trying to sell you jewelry etc. for your new found gold.

You also get a chance to see the Alaska Pipelie up close and personal - also interesting.

This is a very low-key attraction so a nice break in high-energy excursions. But I wouldn't have done this if it wasn't already included in our cruise-tour package.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    328
    66
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mounds, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Alaska”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Drove out to see this dredge just to see what it looked like was very impressed on how big this thing was. The panning for gold was a treet found $40 worth of gold

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigMike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun way to hit "pay dirt"”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Train ride provided historical information and demonstrations of gold mining. We got to pan a bag (extras for $10) and my husband and I found $22 worth of gold, which seemed average. They sold inexpensive jewelry to put the gold in for a keepsake. Complimentary hot chocolate & chocolate chip cookies. Very friendly crew! Great for all ages.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank moonstream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A little touch of the mining industry Enjoyed the tour even though I am fairbanksan Thoroughly enjoyed tour--gold panning was fun--challenging--little gold dust. Get to keep panned gold. Enjoyed by young and elderly. Train ride into mining area. Earl Hughes narrated tour

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gloria246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
535 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait - Weight in Gold, That Is!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we toured the mine, we waited for the Princess Cruise Bus to arrive (for quite a while) before the tour began (late). All worked out in the end as we made them wait on us as we successfully panned for gold, again and again and again. (We were actually showing the Princess Cruise Tourist how to pan for gold...it does take some practice and skill.) That may make for an interesting story, but in reality (not that that wasn't true - it was), the entire tour was really quite interesting and informative - and as I said earlier - profitable!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AKcabingirlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Dredge 8 also viewed

 

Been to Gold Dredge 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing