We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, friendly staff, but shower head sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is in a very good location for shopping, it's right across the street from Old Navy, Barnes & Nobel, and Pier 1. The rooms are comfortable and their staff is very helpful and friendly. What I didn't like was the shower head (even when I adjusted it through all the options it still just kind of spat and dribbled water at me), the eggs at breakfast were quite gross (my husband who usually loves eggs wouldn't even eat them after the first try... that definitely says something) breakfast on the whole wasn't great. But.. all and all I would certainly stay here again but just go have breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverdaleraven75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your response,

We are so glad you stayed with us and glad our room met your needs, I have our team updating the shower heads with new ones and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

It may have been absolutely freaking freezing outside. But this hotel seems brand new; and the service made it nice and warm inside. I don't go to Alaska often (thank goodness), but this is my favorite Fairbanks stop!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of your stay. We are so glad you where able to stay warm while the weather outside was cold. I am pleased my staff was able to make your stay great.

Look forward to having you again

Andrew Farrer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Purpose: To see Northern Lights

Food:
Breakfast is hot food which are rotated every other day so it's not the same food everyday though not fond of the eggs (since I gotten used to egg whites -- but that is more of a personal preference).

Room:
Rooms are clean though since we were up all night we didn't want to be disturbed until after sleeping. Left a voice message with housekeeping about possibility removing the garbage; no response. Thank you to the janitor who helped us that day even though he it wasn't his responsibility to make our stay more comfortable.

Pre-Booking:
I spoke to a women when I inquired about room availability and she mentioned several great places to see the lights if we stayed here so I booked the hotel as my original choices are filled.

During our stay:
When we checked-in, I inquired with the staff at the front desk about where the Lights could be seen. The person pointed me to Northern Light tours on the brochure. However, we didn't want to be dependent on anyone schedule since the first night was low visibility and knew it would be a hit or miss. We planned to book a tour if we weren't successful with higher visibility.

Have to give kudos to Leeigh (Night Shift Front Desk) for providing a place for us to start. We were thrilled with the location she provided. She commiserated when we didn't see the lights and joy when we did.

Overall, we are very happy with our stay. Thank you. Hope you will too.

Room Tip: Heard noise from the pool if the swimmers were shouting very loud. It's rare and once in a blue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pctbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your review, As our eggs are brand standard we are unable to change them but I will address it with our breakfast host to make sure they are being made perfect. I am glad the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that you will stay with us again soon.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Andrew Farrer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

the staff was friendly and attentive. rooms were clean and well set up. a step up from the usual holiday inn express experience. they were sold out for most of the nights we were there, with a lot of families and a bunch of teenagers on a school trip. we were there to see the lights so we were struggling to get to breakfast before they closed the doors. despite the crowds and our late arrival the buffet was complete, the food was hot, and the staff very accommodating. very well done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cec49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for the review of your stay. We are so glad our staff was able to make it wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Andrew Farrer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is great hotel. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. They have everything a business traveler could possibly need on the road. The staff was great, the included breakfast was very good and the pool- spa were awesome! I was going to stay at the Marriott, but they were full due to the start of the Yukon Quest dog race which started on the Saturday morning during my visit. Also, the hotel was very reasonably priced too. This chain is seems to be getting better all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsMiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate all of our customers and realize that you have many choices on where to stay in Fairbanks and we're glad you chose us, (Even by default). I hope that if your travels bring you back to Fairbanks, you will choose the Holiday Inn Express, Fairbanks again.

Thank you again for your review!

Warm Regards,
Lloyd Huskey,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel and staff were great, the problem is they have no shuttle service between the airport and the hotel. The taxi cost including tip was 27.00. This amount was unexpected and if known ahead of time would have impacted the decision making process on where to stay in Fairbanks.This is a national chain, you would think they could afford a shuttle like all their other hotels have.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b8teee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear b8teee,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We are pleased you found our hotel and staff commendable. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with airport transportation. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The room was a good surprise as compared to my recent stays at Holiday. Inn. Express in London. It was clean and adequate. Staff were friendly and approachable. My only problem was with the rubbish breakfast everything was super processed. Very little fruit ( only banana). The cinnamon bun tasted like it contained some sort of cleaning agent. However this hotel was not bad for the 1 night we stayed. In fact the room was much better than the place we moved to (Chena Hot Springs- separate review).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leylahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Leylahni,

Thank youfor taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that the breakfast was not to your liking, but we are serving all of the reccommendations frm the Holiday Inn Express breakfast food vendors. Thank you for your input.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding our hotel. I hope that if your travels every bring you back our way we will have the opportunity to serve you again

Warm Regards,

Lloyd Huskey,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
4.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks

Address: 400 Merhar Ave, New Property, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $106 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks. The newest hotel addition to Fairbanks area. Ideally located the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fairbanks is adjacent to dining shopping and entertainment.Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks, will find this beautifully appointed, state of the art hotel to be well situated for visits to attractions such as Carlson Center, Historic Downtown Fairbanks, and the University of Alaska.Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Boeing, and First National Bank of Alaska.We offer 114 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including suites equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and meeting room. Ask about our Free Airport Shuttle Service 24/7. The next time travel takes you to Fairbanks Alaska , Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing