We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Know this before you go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver,WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Know this before you go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel and staff were great, the problem is they have no shuttle service between the airport and the hotel. The taxi cost including tip was 27.00. This amount was unexpected and if known ahead of time would have impacted the decision making process on where to stay in Fairbanks.This is a national chain, you would think they could afford a shuttle like all their other hotels have.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b8teee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear b8teee,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We are pleased you found our hotel and staff commendable. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with airport transportation. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    91
    30
    15
    9
See reviews for
77
59
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The room was a good surprise as compared to my recent stays at Holiday. Inn. Express in London. It was clean and adequate. Staff were friendly and approachable. My only problem was with the rubbish breakfast everything was super processed. Very little fruit ( only banana). The cinnamon bun tasted like it contained some sort of cleaning agent. However this hotel was not bad for the 1 night we stayed. In fact the room was much better than the place we moved to (Chena Hot Springs- separate review).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leylahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Leylahni,

Thank youfor taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that the breakfast was not to your liking, but we are serving all of the reccommendations frm the Holiday Inn Express breakfast food vendors. Thank you for your input.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding our hotel. I hope that if your travels every bring you back our way we will have the opportunity to serve you again

Warm Regards,

Lloyd Huskey,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Didn't spend tons of time in hotel ,but room was clean, breakfast good and staff was great and welcoming. Really enjoyed the artifacts in the breakfast room. Well done by decorators. Breakfast was ample and well prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Kelly C.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind words. It is most appreciated.

I know there are a lot of options of places to stay in the Fairbanks area. I am glad you chose us and hope that we will see you again if your travels ever bring you back to Fairbanks!

Warm Regards,

Lloyd Huskey,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremont, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I used the Holiday Inn in Fairbanks as my base while i traveled up to the Arctic Ocean during my 30 day motorcycle ride this last July. Great location and the service was great. I did have a problem with the air conditioning in the room, but that was ironed out. They placed me on the first floor to enable easy access for all my motorcycle gear. Laundry equipment worked fine. Breakfast was good. Even the pancake making machine worked. I look forward to staying here again the next time I'm in Fairbanks,

Room Tip: Not much in the way of restaurants within walking distance unless you like McDonalds or Hardees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jim M

Thank you for your very kind review. I am glad that we met exceeded your expectations and I hope we get to see you if your travels ever bring you back up our way.

If you are up with us again, please introduce yourself and we can talk "bike" and rides.

Warm Regards,
Lloyd Huskey,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in HIE all over the west and this one is no different from the rest. That is a good thing. One knows what to expect each and every time. Clean room, friendly staff, good parking and close to shopping. Standard HIE breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank newyorker1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Newyorker1953,

Thank you for your review. We have the HIE playbook and try to go above and beyond your expectations in customer service.

Thank you again for your review and I hope that we can see you again if your travels bring you back to Fairbanks!

Warm Regards,

Lloyd Huskey,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tok, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I like to stay here because they have a good breakfast and for those of us who have to travel to Fairbanks often their rewards are nice. The more you stay the more points you earn and you can even earn a free night, I have stayed here a few times and this last time I brought my son and father in law with me. We had a great time at the pool and the service was great. I thought the rooms were large and clean there was no noise. I really enjoyed my stay and my husband and I are staying again on the 24th. We also will be staying again in October. I see that there are a lot of these bigger hotels and they don't seem to care about repeat business well this one does and it such a nice friendly place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dera CherishL,

Thank you for your kind review. We pride ourself on our customer service and friendliness and I am glad you appreciate the effort. We appreciate our return guests and would like to meet you the next time you stay with us so I can personally thank you.

Warm Regards,

Lloyd Huksey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I used to stay here on business all the time due to my wanting to earn priority points. Now I'm done, I can't keep subjecting myself to the sleepless nights.
At this hotel the higher your room the hotter it will be and the only thing you can do about it is open the window, but open the window to let in some of the -30*F cold in and you will be continually woken by the train horns that blast every hour or so, if you do leave window open you can cool your room down to around 70.
I have stayed all over the US and this hotel is the worst for getting a nights sleep, to me 84 degrees is too hot to sleep.
If you get a ground level room it is not as bad maybe 78 or so and one side of the hotel is better as trains cannot be heard as much but then you have the snow plows grating so... I gave it heaps of tries, didn't want to give up because I was obsessed with getting points. Now I stay everywhere but here as sleep is more important. At the hotel they offer little apology for the heat, they give you instruction on where to set the thermostat but none of it helps. It is amazing, this place still gets booked solid.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear LucyJ,

Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the heat issues. Beleive me we are as frustrated as our guests because unfortunately there was little we could do. Being a positive air building, even opening a window would not solve the problem. The We could not run the cooler during 20 degrees or minus temperatures.

Now for the good news, we are puttings a chiller on the roof that can operate at negative temperatures. I now it sounds counter intuitive that we would need to have a chiller operating during the winter, but as you can attest to we do. It is being installed currently and I hope that you will give us another chance this winter to exceed your expectations. Please call me personally at 907.328.1100 if you would like to make a reservation this winter to give us another try.

Thank you for your previous business and here's hoping we can get you back!

Warm regards,

Lloyd Huskey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
1.3 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Address: 400 Merhar Ave, New Property, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks. The newest hotel addition to Fairbanks area. Ideally located the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fairbanks is adjacent to dining shopping and entertainment.Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks, will find this beautifully appointed, state of the art hotel to be well situated for visits to attractions such as Carlson Center, Historic Downtown Fairbanks, and the University of Alaska.Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Boeing, and First National Bank of Alaska.We offer 114 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including suites equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and meeting room. Ask about our Free Airport Shuttle Service 24/7. The next time travel takes you to Fairbanks Alaska , Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing