We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Choice for Fairbanks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Good Choice for Fairbanks”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I visited Fairbanks to see the Aurora Borealis, and I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express. I thought it was a great choice because it was clean, spacious and the price was reasonable. Also, the staff was very helpful. When I arrived earlier than I expected, they let me use the gym while my room was prepared. The other pleasant surprise was that they're located next to a strip mall with several stores, including a Wal-Mart. That made things very convenient when I wanted to buy snacks and supplies for my aurora viewing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Jason,

Thank you for your nice review and choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Fairbanks. I know you have a lot of choices when you travel. I appreciate you taking the time to kindly review our property.

Thank Again.

Warm Regards,

Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    97
    30
    16
    9
See reviews for
79
64
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and at first glance this Holiday Inn express is larger than the other HIEs I have stayed in, however there is still the same great service from the staff. My first night appeared to have a couple of school groups / ice hockey teams staying there and appeared quite rowdy when we checked in, however the rooms was nice and quiet and they all checked out the next day. Walmart is a few hundred meters away, plus the book shop across the parking lot has nice nice fireplace and coffee/cakes to spend some time.

Room Tip: There is a Japanese restaurant across the parking lot. Nice food and good service. Apparently room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pabloako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
You traveled a long way to get to Fairbanks! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate the feedback and hope that you can stay with us again soon.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Fairbanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife & I wanted a Jacuzzi Suite for our 8th anniversary celebration. We live in North Pole, just 14 mi south of Fairbanks. With all the winter activities going on it was hard to find one.

Holiday Inn has only been in Fairbanks for about 5 years. My wife & I were both off this Friday so I was lucky and got reservations my wife & I wanted a Jacuzzi Suite for our 8th anniversary celebration. We live in North Pole, just 14 mi south of Fairbanks.

We did not know what to expect. The receptionist was very knowledgeable and courteous as were all other employees. The room was exceptionally clean, spacious room and bathroom, big screen TV with cable, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and king size comfortable bed. The Jacuzzi was looked small but we are 2 full size adults and had plenty of room to relax in.

There was also a 24 hour exercise room which had a big screen TV, 2 treadmills and exercise bike. There we also a medium size swimming pool of depth from 3 to 5 ft. Hot tub with jets. Sat 7 adults comfortably. The continental breakfast was served from 6-9:30am. A very good full breakfast as compared to some others hotels in the area.

Holiday inn is located in the largest shopping mall in Fairbanks. There are plenty of Restaurants ranging from McDonalds to Mr. Boston's, to Brewster’s Steak House. To name a few all within a 10minute drive.

I recommend this Hotel to locals and travelers alike. Ask about Military and other various discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Fairbanks.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review and hope that you can come stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fairbanks in Early March...cold! However my room was HOT! I had to open the window to keep it cool! The AC wasn't working it would just pump out heat. Not a big deal, I liked the window open when I slept.

The hotel has plugs for your car to keep the engine warm.

Bed was standard, pillows are horrible (Don't let that bother you, most hotel pillows are bad to me.)

Cable TV was normal, they offer 2 HBO Channels, but the second HBO Channel was nothing but trailers for movies, and nothing else.

High Speed internet was slow, and my ipad kept getting kicked off and I would have to keep putting in the password for the wifi over and over.

Breakfast area was normal, nothing above a normal HIE breakfast area.

The room cleaners must of had a hard few days, they were there late every day! One night it was after 6 PM and they were still cleaning rooms. I left one morning at 8 AM and the cleaners were on my floor, I came back around 2 PM and they still didn't clean my room. I don't know if they ran out of time, but my room never did get cleaned. NOT a big deal, I can handle a day without my bed being made. :)
Also they had a bunch of high school kids there for something and they were extremely loud. My coworker was on a different floor and he had the same issue. Good thing they were quiet by midnight!

I will return to this hotel if I make it to Fairbanks.

There are a few fast food restaurants in the area and they also have stores within walking distance, Old Navy, Walmart, Lowes, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway, it is pretty loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is a tough time of year for heating and cooling. Still too cold to turn on the chiller but not cold enough to compensate for the heat running through the heaters. I am sorry for the inconvenience. We were (are) slammed at this point and it is a struggle in houskeeping since this blip is an anomaly for the winter/spring business.

Again, thank you for your very reasonable and insightful review. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there early December, had a pretty good experience. Great and helpful front desk clerks, clean rooms, had a better free breakfast than most hotels I've stayed at. Unfortunately, did not have a weekly rate, in which I needed. But, overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I am not sure but it seems to me that these two hotels are sisters! Yet Holiday Inn Express is more outdated. Yes I did love the hot tub feature in our room which we never experience in Hampton Inn. The pool was dirty and I don't blame it to the housekeepers but to the people who stayed there, brought their food yet scattered the garbage after utilizing the place. I mean, customers can always be right but you also have the responsibility to be a better person in public right? Don't leave your garbage scattered all over the place because you're expecting somebody to clean after you. You have to remember that you came to relax, enjoy the place, rented a room including with other complimentary stuff BUT you never bought the entire place...be courteous please. I love the breakfast..This is the place to stay if you love Walmart! Also there's a nearby bank you can use when needed.

Room Tip: We never knew we were getting a room with a hot tub in it... it was the front desk personnel who gav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trizzavis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks is located on the northeast side of Fairbanks, near the intersection of the Johansen Expressway and the Steese Highway. It's a great location for easy access to the main roads around Fairbanks. It's across from the shopping area that has a Sportsman's Warehouse (outdoor store), Barnes and Noble, and other stores. There are a couple of fast food places nearby, however with quick access to the Johansem and Steese, you can get to many other places in town quickly. There was plenty of parking and I noticed many of them with plug-ins, which are certainly needed when the cold winter weather hits.

Check-in was smooth and hassle free. The desk clerk prompt and friendly, ensuring that I knew to contact him if I had any issues. The room was spacious and clean. There was enough room to relax as well as a nice desk to work, if needed. The hotel offered free wifi and it worked perfectly. The room was well lit, making it both comfortable for work and relaxation. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of extra pillows, if needed. My room included a small microwave and a small fridge, which was really nice.

Breakfast was offered at the hotel, with the fridge in the room, I just bought some yogurt, fruit, and granola at a nearby grocery store and enjoyed breakfast in the room.

Overall it was a great stay and I would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a south facing room that overlooks the mall. Road noise from the Johansen Expressway can be bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANC_Globetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
283 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Address: 400 Merhar Ave, New Property, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks. The newest hotel addition to Fairbanks area. Ideally located the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fairbanks is adjacent to dining shopping and entertainment.Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks, will find this beautifully appointed, state of the art hotel to be well situated for visits to attractions such as Carlson Center, Historic Downtown Fairbanks, and the University of Alaska.Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Boeing, and First National Bank of Alaska.We offer 114 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including suites equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and meeting room. Ask about our Free Airport Shuttle Service 24/7. The next time travel takes you to Fairbanks Alaska , Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing