We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Kenai, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are flying in from the bush, this is an ideal location as there is lots of shopping within walking distance. This property is consistent with their other hotels----fairly new and well furnished. It has a large area for the breakfast which is consistent with the other properties. The staff was friendly and helpful. It didn't get the highest rating simply because the bathroom tub/shower area had black, slimy mold and darkened grout which shouldn't have happened. I did let them know and am sure the problem has been taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Patricia S,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you liked our hotel features and friendly staff. I apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you may have experienced in your bathroom. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    97
    30
    16
    9
See reviews for
79
64
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The staff was pleasant. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There is some construction happening next to the hotel, but that not their fault. The breakfast was nice every morning, but the cinnamon rolls were only there the last 2 days. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Carl Jr's side until the construction is finished, if you like to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwetz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel property... room large enough for our grandson to sleep on sleeper sofa. Clean and LOVE the "no smoking/no pets" policy.Staff very helpful and eager to please.

The included breakful is always good at Holiday Inn and Suites. We had warm cinnamon rolls, and yes... they are awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMorgans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my daughter. She is a graduate student. The room was neat and clean. The staff was friendly and patiently answered our questions about the area attractions. The breakfast was adequate. There is one computer for the whole hotel in the computer center. That meant that there was a line. Nearby, there is a Wal-Mart and chain restaurants, so it is convenient. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EilSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a fairly typical HI Express -- which is mostly a good thing. Only two complaints here -- the Wi-Fi was very spotty and unreliable, and there were no cinnamon rolls at breakfast. When I asked about the cinn rolls, I was just told that "we're out". Might sound like a trivial thing, but those rolls are one reason I like to stay at HI-Express!
This hotel is in a newly developing area of town, which was good.
Quite a few things to see and do in & around Fairbanks, and this hotel was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN BAY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I travel to Alaska each summer and stay at the Holiday Inn. I have been very pleased with the entire experience (hotel cleanliness, staff, bedding, room size, location, value, etc.) until my last stay. It was a disappointment. I booked a ground floor room, didn't get it, but that was ok. What wasn't ok was room 220. It was above the hotel entrance, below a jacuzzi suite, next to vending machines, with the constant sound of an engine running and a rthymic dripping sound for good measure. We did call the front desk to see about a different room but the only solution was to have someone come up to the room at 11:30PM and listen to the sound. Don't stay in Room 220.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a newer hotel. Our room was very clean and very spacious. The bed was comfortable and the location was convenient. Nothing is cheap in Alaska during the summer months, but this was one of the most comfortable hotels we stayed in during our trip. Silver Gulch Brewing and Bottling was a fun place to eat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
283 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Address: 400 Merhar Ave, New Property, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks. The newest hotel addition to Fairbanks area. Ideally located the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fairbanks is adjacent to dining shopping and entertainment.Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks, will find this beautifully appointed, state of the art hotel to be well situated for visits to attractions such as Carlson Center, Historic Downtown Fairbanks, and the University of Alaska.Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Boeing, and First National Bank of Alaska.We offer 114 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including suites equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and meeting room. Ask about our Free Airport Shuttle Service 24/7. The next time travel takes you to Fairbanks Alaska , Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing