We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richard Johnston Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Richard Johnston Inn. The inn keeper, Lindi, gave us good suggestions for restaurants and things to do. The room was nicely decorated with antique Victorian furniture and was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with several choices. I loved having bowls of candy strategically placed!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindiAnn711, Public Relations Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 389 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

My first experience with a B&B. Our room was a small comfortable, clean and well furnished. Amenities like tv, internet, computers, refrigerators, coffe, water ect are always available. Full reign of the house. Very clean with enough support staff for the breakfast which is incredible and made to order. Bonnie was of course very helpful and made sure things were done right. Parking is a big help and the location allows you to enjoy all of Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindiAnn711, Public Relations Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We are overjoyed that you chose our Inn to be your first B&B experience. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to leave us a great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I spent an overnight on our way back to Philadelphia from a trip to Tennessee.
The Inn was conveniently located with ample parking behind, right in the heart of the historic district. We walked to our dinner, having a number of good choices, and reveled in the luxury of the Inn. There was coffee and cookies available in the dinning room at all hours, television in the room, a charming canopy bed, and even a bottle of scotch for those who wanted a nip.
We seemed to have the entire place to ourselves, as we checked in after 5 with everything taken care of before hand.
The breakfast that Friday morning was sumptuous and made to order by our gracious hostess.
I recommend the Inn as a genuine treat in a delightful historic city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschoenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindiAnn711, Public Relations Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us such kind words! We hope to see you and your wife again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Elegant, Quiet and Superb!

Loved Fredericksburg, Virginia. Go off-season, and enjoy all the wonderful historical town has to offer. Would go back tomorrow, if I could! Yes, it is that good. And, it all started with the chance discovery of the Richard Johnston Inn. I booked the Sawyer Scott room in the 1890 Caroline House, and loved it. All the rooms are lovely, with every possible amenity supplied.
First of all, you can walk to almost everything in Fredericksburg, so bring comfortable shoes. And secondly, you want to stay in a place that is centrally located, but not too busy and crowded.

Loved this house. So tastefully decorated and quiet. It felt like home. (Three words of caution to senior visitors – stairs, parking and food selection). You will need to be able to navigate steps. This is a beautiful old house which is part of its charm, and you must be able to climb steps just to get to the front door, also two of the guest rooms are upstairs, and another is down a few steps in the back of the house. Also, parking could be an issue. You have to park on the street during certain hours – or risk getting a parking ticket. Wasn’t a problem, but something you need to be mindful of the law, and the management will point this out to you. Bottom line, don’t expect to park right out in front of the house, unless you are lucky. In addition, if you have specific food requirements (diabetic or allergies), you should let the management know in advance so that they can adjust the breakfast menu.

All that being said, I really enjoyed by stay. The management made me feel welcome from the start, the breakfast was sumptuous, with ample portions, and enjoyed the fresh-baked cookies in the kitchen. My diabetic companion was unable to eat the French toast (which was heavenly), and our host made every effort to create a special treat the following day for more sugar-free selection. Never have stayed in a B&B where I felt like I had the run of the house, and felt so much at home.

A very relaxing stay in the best B&B I’ve ever had the privilege to stay in.

Kudos to the owners and management team!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixRising88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindiAnn711, Public Relations Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you so much for stopping by our Inns and taking the time out of your busy day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Richard Johnston Inn in Fredericksburg for a few nights. Perfection. The inn is immaculate and so inviting. Quaint and cozy. We stayed in The Kitchen House (#9). Just beautiful. The beds are extremely comfortable. Breakfast was incredible. Do try the french toast with berries. You will not be disappointed. If in Fredericksburg this is the place to stay. The courtyard outside of our room was beautiful. The inn and gardens were decorated for the fall season. We only have good things to say about Lindi. Lindi is also an excellent cook. She was gracious, accomodating and helpful. Unfortunately, due to state shut down the battlefields were closed but we saw many other sights. We will definitely stay here again and think you should too!!! Thank you again Lindi!! Joanne and Mario

Room Tip: Stay in a room that is in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindiAnn711, Public Relations Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I am delighted your stay went so well! Thank you for taking time to share your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our second stay at the Inn, which served as home base during a weekend visit to family in nearby Spotsylvania.

The Inn is ideally located just blocks from the Fredericksburg Amtrak station and in the heart of historic down town. Great eating, shopping and attractions are all within walking distance in a town that oozes history.

Rooms are beautifully appointed and well maintained.

Lindi serves full breakfast with a choice of omelets, eggs benedict, pancakes and lighter fare. Coffee and water are always available (oh, and cookies, too!).

Staff is warm and friendly and pay close attention to detail.

We can't wait until our next visit!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room overlooking the courtyard rather than the street -- Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindiAnn711, Public Relations Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We are so glad you came back to visit us! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a great review. We look forward to your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I went to Fredericksburg in August in order to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose to stay at the Richard Johnston Inn right in the heart of the historic old town . From the time I made the reservations to the moment of our departure, the stay and our experience at the Inn were exceptional. Everyone we talked with and dealt with went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. One of the highlights of our stay was sharing breakfast each morning with all of the other guests in the formal dining room of the Inn. It was so much fun chatting with everyone and sharing our travel experiences. I would highly recommend this inn to everyone!

Room Tip: A B&B like this Inn is like home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historybuff802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindiAnn711, Public Relations Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I am truly honored you and your husband chose our Inns to stay at for your special day! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericks...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#12 of 41 in Fredericksburg
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 41 in Fredericksburg
713 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard Johnston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard Johnston Inn

Address: 711 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $165 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richard Johnston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Taylow, architect, and one of the original signers of The Declaration of Independence, constructed this unique, upscale 18th century Inn in 1770. In the 1800’s, it served as the home of the mayor of Fredericksburg, Richard Johnston. The award winning Inn offers seven beautifully appointed guest rooms, 2 suites and caters to small, intimate weddings and other special events in our courtyard or parlors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Richard Johnston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richard Johnston Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing