We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard Johnston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richard Johnston Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights while visiting the area. The hotel is beautiful - in an old house right in the centre of Fredericksburg opposite the visitors centre. The beds are comfortable, raised from the ground with beautiful bedding. You get a cooled breakfast, different every morning, which is much appreciated. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanorhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    55
    13
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
180
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

this b&b is not only beautiful with its antique furnishings and magnificent finishing touches but it is immaculate. ever hear the expression, "you can eat off the floor?" well not that anyone would ask you to, but you could definitely do that. small things like a black make up towel in the bathroom and chocolates every day in the room made a great impression. the beds were super comfortable and the rooms were gorgeous. breakfasts were excellent and there was a variety of foods every day. the staff were only too happy to please. lindy is an excellent inn keeper. she is hospitable and friendly and we were met by laura who bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. don't think I will ever be back in fredricksburg but there are other b&b's run by the same owners and I would seek them out if I was ever in the areas where they are located.

Room Tip: there is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabellnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend when I proposed in Fredericksburg. The spot is perfect, the room was wonderful, the whole place is spotless, and the breakfast that Bonnie makes cannot be beat. Seriously I could eat that breakfast every day. My word of caution is that Bonnie is much friendlier in person than over the phone, so try not to be put off (as I was) if she is brusque when you call.

I rate the service as average. Once there, the service was very personal and friendly. However, I called in advance to make a special request to have them place champagne in the room and they were unable/unwilling to accommodate, and kind of rude about saying "no." They are a small business, I get that it is not a typically offered service, and it sounds like she keeps really busy running the inn as is. But that's why it's average service; everything was fine but they couldn't go above and beyond. I really wavered between a 4 and 5 star review here because of the interaction I had with her on the phone. I ended up going with 5 because everything about being there in person was perfectly fine and, as I mentioned before, breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great experience. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a real surprise. My wife loved the apple cinnamon pancakes and I was on a low carb diet and was just going to drink coffee but Bonnie was nice enough to wip up some scrambled eggs for me. She puts the breakfast in bed and breakfast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

1 minor issue, overall very nice, and we would return.

We booked the William Riley suite in the Caroline House for President's Day Weekend. The RJ House is more centrally located, but from what I saw, I like the decor in the Caroline House better. This is a bit more private, as we only saw the other guests 1 time. The only drawback to location could be the Fire Engine, which luckily we only heard during the daytime. The Caroline House is very near the train station, but at the far end of the main shopping area. It's too far to walk to the battlefields, but not the restaurants and antique shops.

The one issue, which resulted from not receiving a 2nd confirmation email from the B&B that gave instructions to tell them our arrival time. Not knowing this, we arrived at check-in time, but there was no answer. After a few minutes out in the cold, We called the main phone at the RJ house. The manager explained that she was working both houses, and would be there in 3 min. 20 min later she showed up (due to another phone call and 2 other couples arriving at RJ house). She was very apologetic, and obviously a bit stressed about running both houses on such a busy weekend. This could've been avoided if, like most other B&Bs, we got a call or another email asking to verify arrival time (Although with 3 couples arriving at the same time, I'm not sure our wait would've changed), or they had hired a weekend manager for the Caroline House until the primary manager returned in 3 mos. If staying at the Caroline House, verify that someone will be there when you arrive so you don't end up like us, standing out in the cold.

The Caroline House had lovely decorations on the front door, and the interior was nicely decorated. The Manager explained that, again because of the other manager's absence, we could have breakfast at the RJ house (8-9am) or get a voucher for a restaurant (11:30am). We choose the voucher. There were plenty of chocolates, cookies, tea and coffee in the kitchen. Our suite was on the 1st floor, on what appears to have been the original porch. There were 3-4 steps down into the sitting room, which had a work desk, reading chair & lamp, civil war chess set, large bookcase, and two armchairs with ottomans in front of the gas fireplace & TV (wall mounted). The manager also had a Valentine's Day treat for us, several chocolate covered fruits and a bottle of sparkling wine. There was also a door exiting to the street.

The bedroom was large w/king bed and another armchair. The ceiling lights were on dimmers, and the fireplace looks thru to the sitting room, with another wall mounted TV above. Controls for both TV and CD/DVD players are in the bedroom. They have DVDs you can uses, which we took advantage of. A small door leads out to the courtyard from the bedroom. There is a slight safari feel to the room with giraffe print accents/towels. There is a big corner jetted tub and 2 vanities. The shower room has a bidet and toilet. The closet has the hairdryer. The only improvement I would suggest is another set of towels for the tub, as towels are only next to the shower - a minor inconvenience if you forget beforehand.

If we go back to Fredericksburg, we would definitely stay again in the same room, and would call to let them know when we were arriving.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie D, General Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am glad these guests enjoyed their visit and we would love to have them return. This was a very busy weekend and we had staffing issues with help, front desk personnel and with both houses filled.
It does state on your confirmation letter that as you are coming into town, to please call us and we will have someone waiting for you at the Caroline House.
Thank you for your review and on your return, we will have corrected check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The William Riley Suite at 528 Caroline Street is totally wheelchair accessible. The entrance is off the sidewalk on Wolfe Street (no steps or lips). All the doorways are 36" and there is a roll in shower. There only three rooms at this address and the execution is drop dead gorgeous. This must have been a $1 million museum quality restoration and was completed by a designer consultant. We only stayed a night, but it should have been a week. Fredericksburg is a lovely small town to explore. The receptionist, Laura, from 711 Caroline Street was most kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

lindsey, i think her name was? was aloof, and very unwelcoming, room waws dirty and breakfast was just average at best. liked old town fredericksburg, but will stay somewhere else next time. the place looks like it hasnt been updated in a long time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank proudvirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie D, General Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
As always, we are upset when a guest has not enjoyed their stay. However, I question this review because the Richard Johnston Inn has been freshly painted, the rooms have undergone redecorating and refurbishing with new beds etc. The room they stayed in was not mentioned.
Quality and service is and always has been our main concern.
If ProudVirginian would like to give us a call, we will gladly discuss their visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard Johnston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard Johnston Inn

Property: Richard Johnston Inn
Address: 711 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richard Johnston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Taylow, architect, and one of the original signers of The Declaration of Independence, constructed this unique, upscale 18th century Inn in 1770. In the 1800’s, it served as the home of the mayor of Fredericksburg, Richard Johnston. The award winning Inn offers seven beautifully appointed guest rooms, 2 suites and caters to small, intimate weddings and other special events in our courtyard or parlors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Richard Johnston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richard Johnston Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing