We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful inn in perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richard Johnston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richard Johnston Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This Inn is beautiful! We stayed in "Olivia's room" which was charming and had a wonderful view of the town. If you are a light sleeper, you may prefer a different room because this one is by the stair case, which creeks as people walk by.

The breakfast was delicious! The inn has a Keurig coffee machine available at all hours so you can easily prepare yourself a delicious cup of coffee when you arrive. There were also fruits and cookies available all day. Yum!

The location is perfect. Across the street is the Visitor Center where you can purchase a pass for all of the wonderful attractions in the area. I really enjoyed the tours of the various sites!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_sunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    58
    14
    13
    4
See reviews for
55
191
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the inn on our way to Hilton Head to get married. We arrived late at night, but we were left the keys and a welcoming note to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. It felt like home. We woke in the morning to the smell of an egg casserole and homeade apple cake. Bonnie greeted us with hot coffee and a smile. What a great way to kick off our wedding week!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mldetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

One of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at! House was beautiful, room was great and Bonnie and her staff do a terrific job to make you feel welcome. Right in the middle of town--close to shopping and the battlefields. And the food was delicious too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

we just stayed one night, just short visit from DC. The B&B is in the historic section of town. Our room as nice, although on a summer night, it got a bit hot, almost to the point where you couldnt sleep. The bathrobes they supplied because the private bathroom is down the hall, still have someones hair on the collars...the very nice courtyard in the back, at one time must had been nice, but its now unkept. It would have been alot nicer if they just broomed it.

The breakfast was very nice in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daninchatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stinesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Absolutely loved it. Smack dab in the middle of old town Fredericksburg so everything from shopping, gift stores, horse & buggy rides, great restaurants, battlefields / history, and antiques right in one location. This Bed & Breakfast was amazing. The Inn Keeper, Bonnie, gave it the perfect and most professional touch. Her delightful disposition and talent in the kitchen made our stay very memorable. The staff went above and beyond to see that our needs were met and yet gave us privacy at just the right moments. Of course, the pets made it even more perfect and we felt very at home....yet pampered. I would also recommend the Inn's sister B & B located about a block away. I had the honor of touring it too. A definite recommend and the Inn Keeper there is also very pleasant and professional. We will definitely be visiting again. - The Owens

Room Tip: The slave quarters face the beautiful and quiet court yard. The other delightful rooms face the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were in town to visit family in nearby Spotsylvania. The Inn is beautifully furnished, with one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. The Inn is centrally located within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, shopping and historic sites.

Full breakfast was very tasty and communal dining provided lots of interesting conversation.

Innkeeper Bonnie and the staff are gracious, welcoming and always willing to assist.

We're looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in the beautiful Virginian room in this well preserved historic home. The inn is very well kept and the room and ensuite bathroom were very clean with attention paid to the fine details. We found the inn to be very quiet and relaxing all around. We enjoyed the variety of options for breakfast. We stayed during the week and Bonnie, the inn's manager, provided a choice of a freshly prepared breakfast dish each morning or you could eat from the breakfast bar which included a fresh fruit salad, a delicious baked good of some sort, cereal and yogurt. During our stay we were offered a blueberry stuffed croissant one morning, an egg bake the following morning and a Belgian waffle the next. Yum!
The inn is located in the heart "Old Town" Fredericksburg in easy walking distance from great shops and restaurants. We couldn't have been happier about the location. Bonnie was a great host to us during our stay and was always offering travel directions, restaurant suggestions and suggestions for things to do in the area. When we arrived she had just baked a fresh batch of chocolate chip cookies that smelled wonderful throughout the inn. There were always cookies in the jar next to a Keurig coffeemaker that was always available to guests. We also enjoyed Bonnie's two very well behaved dogs, Bailey and Scooter. They only added to our great visit. We will recommend this inn to others traveling through the area and hope to return in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdDogUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#11 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard Johnston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard Johnston Inn

Property: Richard Johnston Inn
Address: 711 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richard Johnston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Taylow, architect, and one of the original signers of The Declaration of Independence, constructed this unique, upscale 18th century Inn in 1770. In the 1800’s, it served as the home of the mayor of Fredericksburg, Richard Johnston. The award winning Inn offers seven beautifully appointed guest rooms, 2 suites and caters to small, intimate weddings and other special events in our courtyard or parlors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Richard Johnston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richard Johnston Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing