We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“WONDERFUL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I travel a lot with my job, and stay in all sorts of hotels. This is BY FAR THE BEST budget hotel I have ever stayed in. When you enter the room, you are not overwhelmed by that sickening sweet I-don't-know-what smell, the room smells fresh! The sheets smell FRESH! The whole room including the bathroom was absolutely spotless! A nice 6 inch shower head and hot water that is quickly available. Plenty of outlets to plug in all those electronic devices that none of us can live without anymore. The room had, wait for it, are you ready?.....plenty of light!! The a/c unit had a hum to it, but it was a quiet hum and not distracting at all. The tv was flat panel and many channels were available. The grounds are immaculate! The grounds keeper does a great job. If you have pets, you are going to love the HUGE area in the back where you can walk your dog. We heard no barking dogs, in fact, we heard no road noise at all. The breakfast area is next to the lobby, not large, but very adequate, with seating for a couple dozen people. A hot breakfast with a large variety of items, and wonderful coffee. The hostess is constantly running around cleaning, wiping, stocking, and arranging chairs for the next guest. It is on a busy road, but don't let that discourage you from staying here, it is amazingly quiet! Very close to dozens and dozens of shops and restaurants. I honestly can not think of one thing that was negative. Anyone who writes a bad review of this place, either needs to run to the doctor and have their head examined, or stop smoking whatever it is that they are puffing on! This place is worth every red cent you will pay, so stop looking and just make reservations. Do not mistake this Best Western with the one about a mile down the road across from the shopping mall. This one is next to Kentucky Fried Chicken, and Shoney's. Finally, a note to the management; whatever you are paying the maids and grounds keeper, it is not enough!

Room Tip: If you have a pet you will want a room in the back next to the large grassy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PILOT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Owner at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your "raving review", it was so great to read and share with my staff, and now the WORLD!. We take care of the landscaping ourselves, and i mean all of us from the maintenance men, to the housekeepers. Everything you stated-is exactly what we try to be for our guests. I totally agree that staff are worth a higher salary, and that too is our goal.
I hope yopu will return if you get the chance/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    204
    70
    14
    11
See reviews for
228
172
56
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Picked this hotel for location, spending night on road trip. Plus it allowed my pooch to stay too. Easy in and out, fair price. There is a nice neighborhood where I was able to walk my dog and a Dunkin Donuts next door.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank KiskaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Owner at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are very glad you chose to stop here, and you were able to use the adjacent pet area to walk your dog. I hope you will stop in again, there are many things to do and many, many dining options in the area. We are also located near 8 area golf courses!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Possibly the best budget hotel I have ever stayed. Just can't give it an excellent as it IS a budget hotel. Mall (w/ restaurants & bars behind) within walking distance. Convenient location. A bit hard to navigate the ingress road when arriving for the first time. Friendly staff. No problems + continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Depending on preference, may want to ask for a room in the back buildings away from main street -- t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 112PCS112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Director of Operations at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments, we are very thankful for your business. We do try to be the very best we can in our market, and will use your feedback to improve, we hope you will return if In the area again.
Steve Treon
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife, her mother, and I made a quick road trip to Florida from Ottawa, Ontario this past March. We Florda for home about 5:00 AM and finally arrived at Fredericksburg about 9:00 PM that evening. It was a long drive for one day, but we were greeted by a friendly people on the front desk. Our room was waiting for us, with all the required amenities for three ... like towels etc.

The room was pleasantly decorated, clean and sweet smelling. I did have difficulty connecting to the hotel wi-fi as it has a limited number of connections allowed. As we arrived later in the evening, all the cell phones and other electronic divices had taken up all the space. A small annoyance, but something that the hotel could easily address at little cost to them. Cell phones are so common now that this problem will only escalate.

Though we were quite tired, we wanted to have a light meal as we had not stopped for dinner on the way. There is a Shoney's attached to the hotel that was closing shortly, but they were quite willing to allow us to enjoy a meal as their final clients for the day.... a nice group of kids :)

We had a good night's sleep with no interuptions from outside noises and the like... something always expected on March Break road trips.

Checkout in the morning, again early, was effortless and swift. I even was offered coffee and muffins for the road though the breakfast area was not open for another half hour. That was much appreciated, and unexpected.

I would recommend this hotel definitely, if you are traveling I-95 and looking for a nice place with good service, a reasonable rate as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coyote028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very grateful for your business,and we are sorry you had difficulty connecting to the Internet. We installed a complete new system In the past 6 months, so I will be contacting our vendor to remedy this!. Your feedback is very helpful. I hope we will get to see you again!

Steve Treon
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
375 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First time at this BW room was clean location is ok but watch for it as you might miss the entrance turn.The breakfast was one of the better ever in a motel.The only issue would be parking as some of the back rooms have no parking. says its pet friendly but only with a charge so it is pet profitable not friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyhoundlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Manager at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for review, we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, we do try our best to be pet friendly, by letting our guests with pets use the adjacent 5acre lot , giving pet treats, waste pick up bags, and waste disposal stations. We only charge $10, because we must deep clean the room after check out with different chemicals, sterilizing wands, carpet shampooing, etc . It is in no way way meant to be a profit producer, just to help us maintain the cleanliness, and guest rooms, so that we can continue to allow pets. Again thank you so much for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay here for a night due to a family emergency. The room itself was very clean and seemed as if it was recently renovated. Can't say so much for the bathroom. It was very worn and i found a few mold spots in the shower.

The location was very central to everything. Many food options in the area.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nasa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We always look forward to staying here 1 night to break up the long drive from MA to Fl.
We usually have a pet, and there is good grounds for airing them.
Staff is pleasant, rooms clean, best free breakfast we've had.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, I would suggest a room facing the back.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dogdaze75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Fredericksburg, Central Park Area
Quality Inn Fredericksburg, Cent...
#26 of 42 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg

Property: BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
Address: 2205 Plank Road, I-95 Exit 130 A, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fredericksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#10 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fredericksburg Hotel Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing