We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have now stayed 1 week of what will be a 3 month stay. Of all the hotels I have ever stayed in this one is the friendliest. Staff really appears to enjoy working here and makes every effort to get to know you. Have only had one issue with room and it was addressed immediately. (Can opener didn't work). Obviously this hotel is well managed and while I have never recommended a hotel before I felt I had to this time. Too many names to list everyone, but standouts are Stephanie, Jonathon, Lisa, Justin, Ursa(Housekeeping)(hope I got that name right),and Myleigh.

Room Tip: Rear rooms face woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest; On behalf of the hotel team and management, I'd like to personally thank you for the great review! Our goal is to provide exceptional service in a clean, friendly, warm and inviting atmosphere. I am delighted to see we exceeded your expectations from the moment you arrived. I also appreciate the shout outs for our wonderful staff, thank you for recognizing each one personally in your review. Please let us know at any time if we can be of assistance to you. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    169
    71
    44
    36
See reviews for
278
133
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Country Inn and Suites property on Warrenton Road last year. I thought it would be the same at your hotel. I was happy to be informed that my online upgrade request had been approved. We were excited to find a nice room for our evening stay.

It was my tenth wedding anniversary and we came to the hotel after a wonderful dinner, hoping for a quiet, relaxing evening together, before making the trip home.
We checked in about 8:30pm. While the hallway smelled of powdered carpet cleaner, the room air seemed fine. The room temperature was much too cold. Neither my wife or I were dressed for winter and neither of us had coats or sweaters packed since the night temperature outside was between 75-80 degrees in this summer heat. We couldn't adjust the temperature in the room, as only cold air would blow from the unit. I turned off the fan.

The bed had only a bedspread and single sheet. My wife was freezing. I found some woven blankets in the closet, but upon opening the plastic, they didn't seem to have been recently laundered. We didn't want to use them in case they had not been cleaned from other guests.

I went to the front desk shortly after 9pm. Miley at the front desk told me that nothing could be done about the room temperature except turning off the fan. While she was pleasant and professional, she was not helpful or sympathetic. I returned to the room and tried to stay warm with my wife. After several hours we couldn't take it any more. We checked out around 12:30am to drive home where we could be warm. In checking out, the male associate at the front desk asked about my stay. When I described the temperature problem as the reason for leaving, he asked if the earlier associate had offered me a heater. No, she did not. He happily processed my checkout.

I had a great anniversary, up until my stay at this hotel. I'm sure my anniversary is not their concern, but I expected a reasonable evening in a comfortable room. To add insult to injury, they did not offer to compensate my stay, and the manager simply thank me for my comments. Do yourself a favor and pick a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medicmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest; On behalf of the General Manager and team at the Country Inn and Suites, we would like to express our regrets that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, our goal is to always provide exceptional service to all our guests and we apologize we did not meet that goal for you. I understand you spoke with our General Manager and he would like to also say thank you and how much he appreciated your time and your comments, feedback like yours is important and he'd like to personally invite you back to try us again one day so we can show you that we are better than your first experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We do hope you and your wife will consider being our guests again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Very good location for stop-over during I-95 trip, for all other purposes very bad location next to highway. Very good service at check-in (1.30 am), ok breakfast but nothing but basics. You can argue not much differentiate this from cheaper places such as Days Inn except the 30% higher price and slightly nicer room. I paid 80$ + tax with a coupon at "show-up".

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salttoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate you letting us know you received a good value and service. We understand there are other choices and pleased that you chose to stay at the Country Inn and Suites. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Fredericksburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice clean rooms and facilities. Pet friendly ($10 fee per day). Nice free breakfast. Check in and out was friendly and efficient. A little pricey, in my opinion, but it was a safe and clean place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor are very very nice, but more costly. I only want a place to rest my weary bones a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BILLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your very kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure having you and your family as our guests. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis< IN
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

After driving for too many hours I was looking forward to my stay at the CIS.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When I discovered the AC in my room did not work they quickly moved me to another room. Even though the hotel is starting to show its age I found the room clean and comfortable with everything I needed.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby but I choose, for convenience, the Denny's that was attached to the hotel.

The complimentary breakfast was good with plenty of selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for sharing your review with us. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable stay in a friendly environment so our guests feel right at home. We are pleased to see we met that goal for you and appreciate you letting us know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for the business. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

After a long drive, we were looking for a clean, affordable hotel. We had checked another chain across the road and were assured that although the price was very good, the hotel was very clean. Upon entering the room we found a very large, live bug under the table. We opted not to stay and checked out Country Inns and Suites. Very pleased. Jason (?) was very helpful and let us see the room before registering. It was clean, spacious, comfortable and very quiet. The whole hotel is not smoking!!! We appreciated this. Several options available for breakfast lwhich was included in the rate. Even a goody bag to take water or fresh cookies etc for the road. If this hotel is a reflection on other Country Inns and Suites we will definitely use them again.
Hotel was slightly off the main highway but not a problem. Worth the drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorTraveller11_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests; From all of us at the Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South thank you very much for the wonderful review! We take great pride in our hotel and cleanliness, guest comfort and value are very important to us and a goal we strive to achieve everyday. We are so pleased to see a 5 star review as that reaffirms that we met and exceeded that goal. We will share your review with the team and thank you again for the business. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Very large hotel same appeal of all the Country Inn Suites. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.The room was neat and clean. The location was not great. It has a Denny's in house. Although the staff and the room were great, I probably would not stay here again due to the fact there s not many restaurant within walking distance.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg VA South. All feedback is welcome as it helps us know what we are doing well and if there is room for improvement. I appreciate the compliments for the staff and hotel accommodations. I will pass that along and share your feedback with the team. I would like to say that while we were a great fit for you in terms of the hotel and team, it is disappointing to see that you would not return due to no restaurants within walking distance. I understand that you were looking for more variety than what we could immediately offer. We appreciate your business and thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#26 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Address: 5327 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA 22408-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#13 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95) 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Staff at Country Inn & Suites hotel in Fredericksburg, VA takes great pride in offering guest rooms and suites that ensure every guest feels right at home. Rooms include complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, refrigerator and microwave, just to name a few. We are pleased to offer a complimentary continental Breakfast each morning. Don't forget to relax in our pool. We also have meeting space available for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites Fredericksburg South Hotel Fredericksburg
Country Inns And Suites Fredericksburg South
Fredericksburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing