We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the appetizers...”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Blarney Stone Public House
Ranked #209 of 429 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Stafford, VA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Check out the appetizers...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I like this place...the ambiance, service and location are great. The food is good but not great...although the fish and chips are way above average (make sure you try the curry sauce with the fish). The main entrees and the drinks are all overpriced. I guess tourists are willing to pay $18 for shepherd's pie. I definitely love the spinach dip, which comes with soda bread...it is truly top notch. Also try the Mussels Malone, cooked in wine, lemon, peppers and tomatoes...done very well. Again, I recommend the Blarney Stone but with caveats. If you're a local on a budget, just get an appetizer and a draft, enjoy the atmosphere for a while, then go someplace else for supper....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank red69hoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    11
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's just fair”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Fair. Just fair. My girlfriend got the Fish and Chips, which was "award winning" (Maybe years ago). Fish was overcooked and basic Sysco grade. I got the Shepherds Pie, it was quite good though. The staff was attentive. It was a Sunday night, so the joint was deader than John Candy. I was looking to do some drinking, but just couldn't get in the mood. I couldn't bring myself to give 3 stars based on the subpar food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GVMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good fun and solid food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We came across this restaurant and took a table on the sidewalk where we could watch people as they stroll by. My wife loves good fish and chips and we had spotted that on their posted menu, She had that and I had their shepherd's pie. Both were very good and filling. We watched the band members as they arrived for the evenings entertainment, and if they were as good as they were friendly, a good time was had by their audience. Unfortunately we had another engagement and couldn't stay. All in all a good time and certainly worth another visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jawsinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Walk to the back for the bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Small bar in the back of the restaurant. Good appetizer menu, good enough beer selection. TVs for sports. The bar area is small, and it can get crowded. If you are with a crowd chances are you won't be sitting/standing together, best suited for group of 2 -3.

I am a big fan of out of the way drinking establishments. Granted this is downtown and not really out of the way, but out of the way enough for its location.

Slip on to the back for an Irish beer or whiskey, have an appetizer or two. Dinner out front is pretty good btw.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Irish pub and best fish n chips ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for beers first, then came back later for dinner. Fish n chips fresh, firm, flaky...one large piece of fish, perfect thickness and breading. The corned beef cabbage with mashed potatoes served simply and HUGE portions.

Lots of pub like small gathering spaces so we didn't have to watch football if we didn't want to.

Had great entertainment too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Losthorizonlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blarney Stone Public House also viewed

Fredericksburg, VA
 
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to The Blarney Stone Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing