We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Stars......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 11 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five Stars......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stay in a historic house in the most historic town in America! You feel like you've stepped back in time but with all the amenities of today. Located right in town, walking distance to everything. Wonderful breakfast, felt like I was staying with friends and family. Hope to stay here again very soon!

Room Tip: You won't go wrong with either Annie's room or Willie's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agabler, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Katie,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Paul and I enjoyed your Southern charm and loved having you stay with us. I hope you'll come back soon.

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
169
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My Mom and I recently stayed at The Schooler House and it was beyond perfect. Andi was so welcoming when we arrived, which made us feel right at home. The house is gorgeous and really makes you feel like you stepped back in time, but still have all the modern conveniences. We had spent a few days before arriving in DC, so it was refreshing to come to Fredericksburg and have a quiet place to relax and enjoy the rest of our little vacation. The breakfast was equally amazing! Very cute presentation with candles in such a beautiful dining room. It was nice to be able to walk downtown and see historic Fredericksburg. We also ate at FoodE, which was fantastic. Can't wait to come back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agabler, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hi Alicia,

Thank you so much for your review! It was great having you and your Mom with us. Please send her our regards. Hope all is well with you. Hope to see you when you return to the Burg. I'm sure you will! :-)

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

From the moment we arrived Andi and Paul made us feel welcomed. This bed and breakfast is in the ideal spot. It is close to the center of town. We were able to walk to dinner every night. The backyard is delightful. Andi maintains beautiful gardens with a relaxing water feature. It was the perfect place to have a glass of wine after a busy day of touring Fredericksburg. Andi served an incredible breakfast. We followed Andi's suggest and hired Scott from Hallowed Ground tours. His tour of two battlefields was wonderful. Andi and Paul made our stay in Fredericksburg something very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R&RKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agabler, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Leon & Kathy,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We loved having you here and hope you enjoyed your short get-away.

Paul and I would love to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
272 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to find the Schooler House! The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and had all of the amenities of a five star hotel, everything you could want or need. And if you like antiques, the house is full. We enjoyed our short visit and would love to return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agabler, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Leon,

Thank you for your lovely review - you are really fast! It was fun having you and Kathy visit us and so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Loved our breakfast conversation! I hope you were able to do some shopping in town before heading to Williamsburg.

You may take your Seattle rain home with you when you leave Virginia! :-)

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This B&B is centrally located in the historical section of Fredericksburg. Andi and Paul treated us royally and the breakfasts were great. The room was very comfortable and our three days there were terrific. Go to Fredericksburg and stay with Andi and Paul: you will love it all

Room Tip: No fitness centre of course! I couldn't delete the entry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agabler, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Richard,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We really enjoyed having you here for your visit. I hope you had a safe trip home and will come see us again!

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights in March 2014 and were very happy with Andi and Paul's hospitality...right down to inviting my husband to watch March Madness on their gigantic TV. Poached pears and other mouth watering items graced our beautifully appointed breakfast table. We followed their recommendations for dinner and loved Foode and Kybecca. Andi suggested Scott from Hallowed Ground as a personal guide of the battlefields and that made our trip.

gmh

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agabler, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Paul and I were happy to share our TV viewing with Mike. I know he really enjoyed the game.

I hope you'll come see us again; it was fun having you both here.

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you want old world charm with todays facilities look no further. Andi and Paul make you feel so welcome and Andi's breakfasts are something to behold!!
Schoolar House is great and you can walk to the town so easily . It was like a picture postcard of a town in the days when everyone knows you and you can walk without worry.
We stayed in Annies room which is just like the photo shows ..it is adorable.
You won,t find a better B&B in the USA.

Room Tip: Both rooms are such a high standard it won't matter which one you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Lynne,

Thank you for your lovely review! It was nice having you and Joe visit with us. I'm so pleased that you made it to North Caroline to add another pin for Joe!

If you ever return to our area, I hope you'll stay with us again.

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1303 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1891 for Mary Schooler, The Schooler House provides guests with an opportunity to live like a Victorian. The home is a true B&B, with 2 rooms, each containing a queen-sized bed, twin sofa bed, bath en suite, gas fireplace, tv, spa robes, and period antiques. The Parlor is a wonderful spot to enjoy the Victorian furniture and pieces, including young ladies autograph books, written in a style and manner from the past.A full breakfast is prepared and served around a Sheridan 3 piece dining room table. The dishes and silver are all over 100 years old, as are many of the serving pieces. In the Winter, the fireplace keeps our guests cozy.The front porch is a great place to watch the town go by. The Trolley and Carriage Tours stop in front of The Schooler House while showing The Rising Sun Tavern, directly across the street. The gardens are full of perennials, carefully selected for their Victorian feel and look. The 1900 corregated metal garage is converted into a lovely garden room for afternoon naps, reading, wine sipping, and just listening to the waterfall in the adjacent pond.For a true Victorian experience where service is our goal, The Schooler House, consistently rated 5 Stars, is the place for your Fredericksburg experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Schooler House Bed And Breakfast
The Schooler House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing