We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in the historic district”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent one night at this lovely B&B in December as part of a holiday “getaway.” From the minute we arrived Andi made us feel comfortable and at home. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated and the remodeled shower was a delight. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed sitting and chatting with Andi. The B&B is a short walk to the shops and restaurants; we had a great dinner at Foode, where the servers were well acquainted with Andi and her husband, (as well as their dog!) We highly recommend this great B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtn2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! I know how it is to get caught up in life after returning home so I really appreciate you taking the time to post. I hope you'll come visit again!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 248 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place was the ideal location for us. The coziness and charm of the Schooler House made us feel right at home. Breakfast was phenominal, and the hosts were absolutely accomodating in every meaning of the word.
I would recommend the Schooler House hands down to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi Mark,
Thank you so much for your review! I've been very slow in responding; please excuse me. Loved having you here and hope you'll come visit again!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Can't wait to return. The area was just what I was looking for. Great place to relax and get refreshed. Rooms were clean and well decorated - just charming. The owners did everything possible to make my vacation just what I wanted it to be...............Ate well......slept well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi Ross,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! Glad you enjoyed and hope you'll come see us again!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first time at Schooler, and we had a wonderful experience. From the immaculate house to the cozy gas fireplaces to the sociable and attentive hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast, the bed and the service were all great, and the house is in a very convenient location right down the street from Olde Towne Fredericksburg. Bravo!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sligo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! I've been very late in responding to postings; please forgive me. I' so glad you enjoyed yourselves and our sweet little Fredericksburg! Hope to see you back at The Schooler House!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here after our wedding and were treated wonderfully. Andy made sure we had a keep prior to arrival since we were getting in late in the evening. They were very accommodating and the breakfast was exceptional. The house is so quaint and fun. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi Caitlin,
Oh my, I'm so behind in thanking my lovely guests for reviews. I really do appreciate you taking the time and am so glad to have been part of your wonderful day! I hope you'll come back!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had a great time staying at the Schooler House as we reunited with some Mary Washington friends for the weekend. Wonderful accommodations within walking distance of downtown attractions. Our host was very friendly and helpful. We felt right at home. The breakfast was delicious!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWCAlumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi!
I'm not sure if Eddie or Melissa wrote this review, but want to thank all of you for staying at The Schooler House. It was great fun having you all here. Rich and Zoraida were great company as well. I hope you'll all meet up here again.
Best regards,
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had a wonderful weekend. The house is decorated a Victorian style. Andi was a gracious host and made me feel at home. She also has a lot of interesting friends around town. The breakfast's were "to die for".

Room Tip: The purple room is great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi Mallen,
Thank you so much for your review! Love the pictures, particularly of Tom winning the battle single handed. :-) It was a great weekend and I thoroughly enjoyed having you all here. I hope you'll come back again for a visit.
Best,
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#6 of 41 in Fredericksburg
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.3 mi away
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1303 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3703
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1891 for Mary Schooler, The Schooler House provides guests with an opportunity to live like a Victorian. The home is a true B&B, with 2 rooms, each containing a queen-sized bed, twin sofa bed, bath en suite, gas fireplace, tv, spa robes, and period antiques. The Parlor is a wonderful spot to enjoy the Victorian furniture and pieces, including young ladies autograph books, written in a style and manner from the past.A full breakfast is prepared and served around a Sheridan 3 piece dining room table. The dishes and silver are all over 100 years old, as are many of the serving pieces. In the Winter, the fireplace keeps our guests cozy.The front porch is a great place to watch the town go by. The Trolley and Carriage Tours stop in front of The Schooler House while showing The Rising Sun Tavern, directly across the street. The gardens are full of perennials, carefully selected for their Victorian feel and look. The 1900 corregated metal garage is converted into a lovely garden room for afternoon naps, reading, wine sipping, and just listening to the waterfall in the adjacent pond.For a true Victorian experience where service is our goal, The Schooler House, consistently rated 5 Stars, is the place for your Fredericksburg experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Schooler House Bed And Breakfast
The Schooler House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing