We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Can't wait to return. The area was just what I was looking for. Great place to relax and get refreshed. Rooms were clean and well decorated - just charming. The owners did everything possible to make my vacation just what I wanted it to be...............Ate well......slept well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi Ross,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! Glad you enjoyed and hope you'll come see us again!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 248 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first time at Schooler, and we had a wonderful experience. From the immaculate house to the cozy gas fireplaces to the sociable and attentive hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast, the bed and the service were all great, and the house is in a very convenient location right down the street from Olde Towne Fredericksburg. Bravo!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sligo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! I've been very late in responding to postings; please forgive me. I' so glad you enjoyed yourselves and our sweet little Fredericksburg! Hope to see you back at The Schooler House!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here after our wedding and were treated wonderfully. Andy made sure we had a keep prior to arrival since we were getting in late in the evening. They were very accommodating and the breakfast was exceptional. The house is so quaint and fun. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi Caitlin,
Oh my, I'm so behind in thanking my lovely guests for reviews. I really do appreciate you taking the time and am so glad to have been part of your wonderful day! I hope you'll come back!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had a great time staying at the Schooler House as we reunited with some Mary Washington friends for the weekend. Wonderful accommodations within walking distance of downtown attractions. Our host was very friendly and helpful. We felt right at home. The breakfast was delicious!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWCAlumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi!
I'm not sure if Eddie or Melissa wrote this review, but want to thank all of you for staying at The Schooler House. It was great fun having you all here. Rich and Zoraida were great company as well. I hope you'll all meet up here again.
Best regards,
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had a wonderful weekend. The house is decorated a Victorian style. Andi was a gracious host and made me feel at home. She also has a lot of interesting friends around town. The breakfast's were "to die for".

Room Tip: The purple room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi Mallen,
Thank you so much for your review! Love the pictures, particularly of Tom winning the battle single handed. :-) It was a great weekend and I thoroughly enjoyed having you all here. I hope you'll come back again for a visit.
Best,
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Staying at the Schooler House was a great experience my me and my wife. We had recieved a gift certificate last Christmas and finally made good use of it over the Thanksgiving weekend. Booking the room was easy and Andi made us feel welcome and comfortable the entire weekend and opened her house and heart as if we were one of the family. We stayed in Willie's room and were amazed by the modern bathroom, the gas fireplace,and numerous other details that showed how much thought and hard work have been invested in restoring and maintaining this beautiful victorian home. The location is perfect in downtown historic Fredericksburg with an easy walk to almost anywhere you want to go and a short drive to everywhere else. The pace was very relaxed and you could get a real sense for the history of both Fredericksburg and this great country.

Room Tip: Willie's room is larger with a large modern bathroom and a great view of Caroline Street and Ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Hi Doug,

Thank you so much for the lovely review!! I enjoyed having you and Therese here during the holiday week. Sharing the house with people who enjoy it so much is what this is all about. Hope to see you both again. Have a great holiday season!

Best,
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Andi is a wonderful host. She went above and beyond making our stay as pleasant as possible. She is very considerate and energetic and took care of us and the other couple as if we were all family.

The property is beautiful, both inside and out. We don't live far away but we are hoping to visit again in the spring to take advantage of the gorgeous backyard. It is also perfectly located on the outskirts of old town and guests are able to walk to downtown.

Our meal there was also amazing; it was one of the best I have had at any B&B. Andi's personality set the tone for the meal and we felt like we were a family sharing a nice Sunday brunch, which is a difficult feat for a host to accomplish but Andi did it well.

For the price, I would highly recommend staying here versus one of the hotels in the area. Overall, I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in or around Fredericksburg or for anyone looking to escape the city for a night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattdrazba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hi Matt,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review; I really appreciate it!! It was great fun having you and Jess here for the Marine Corps Ball. I'm glad you enjoyed the evening and the B&B. Come back and see us again. Remember, the Marine Corps 1/2 is always fun. :-)
Best,
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#6 of 41 in Fredericksburg
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
1.3 mi away
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1303 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3703
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1891 for Mary Schooler, The Schooler House provides guests with an opportunity to live like a Victorian. The home is a true B&B, with 2 rooms, each containing a queen-sized bed, twin sofa bed, bath en suite, gas fireplace, tv, spa robes, and period antiques. The Parlor is a wonderful spot to enjoy the Victorian furniture and pieces, including young ladies autograph books, written in a style and manner from the past.A full breakfast is prepared and served around a Sheridan 3 piece dining room table. The dishes and silver are all over 100 years old, as are many of the serving pieces. In the Winter, the fireplace keeps our guests cozy.The front porch is a great place to watch the town go by. The Trolley and Carriage Tours stop in front of The Schooler House while showing The Rising Sun Tavern, directly across the street. The gardens are full of perennials, carefully selected for their Victorian feel and look. The 1900 corregated metal garage is converted into a lovely garden room for afternoon naps, reading, wine sipping, and just listening to the waterfall in the adjacent pond.For a true Victorian experience where service is our goal, The Schooler House, consistently rated 5 Stars, is the place for your Fredericksburg experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Schooler House Bed And Breakfast
The Schooler House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing