We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a Bed and Breakfast Should be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is what a Bed and Breakfast Should be”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Where do I begin? From the moment we arrived, until we left just 18 hours later, we have were treated to one of the best bed and breakfast stays we have ever had. From the warm greeting to the tour of her beautiful Victorian home, to the wonderful nights sleep (Willie's room) to the delicious breakfast, we can't say enough on how well we were treated! We not only felt like special guests, but part of the family! We would recommend a stay here if you are in Fredericksburg or even just close by! It is worth you time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hi Michelle,
Thank you for the lovely review! I'm so pleased that you and Brett had a good visit. It was wonderful learning about your upcoming B&B venture in Port Conway. Looking forward to working together. See you soon!
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
169
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here this past weekend for a quick get away. Arrived pretty late because we were stuck in traffic, but were greeted most graciously and we immediately relaxed. Lots to things to look at around the house. Especially loved the artwork on the walls that ranged from period pieces to contemporary. Interesting details everywhere in the room, very comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast (they accommodated special dietary request) and perfect location for walking to downtown.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greeningtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! I know the traffic was a nightmare and glad you were able to shake it off and enjoy your stay. It was a pleasure having you here. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs, co
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in Willie's room and enjoyed the comfort and hospitality. I immediately felt at home and like I was with close friends and family with Andi and Paul. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The house is like a museum, yet a liveable museum where one can enjoy the furnishings and not just look at them. Great homemade food. I also failed to mention that I was in Fredericksburg on a business trip and this wasn't intended to be the vacation it turned out to be. I can't say enough good things about this lovely B&B. I can't wait for my next stay.

Room Tip: Two rooms, both great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank der_wanderer004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Hi Bob,
Thank you for your lovely review! It was fun having you here for the week. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Business is business, but staying in nice surroundings always makes it better. Hope to see you back again!
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a quick visit to Fredericksburg and would highly recommend it. The proprietor met us promptly and gave us a tour of the beautiful house and backyard. She showed us some of the highlights to this unique town. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Breakfast was probably the highlight of the trip- I think I was full for the next 24 hours! I would highly recommend this B&B!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank m053618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review! Our aim is to serve a tasty breakfast that will stay with you for a while. Glad we met that goal for you! We enjoyed having you here and hope you'll come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Schooler House B&B for a little get away. Awesome bed and breakfast! The location was ideal, walking distance to everything and the owners were wonderful. Because there are only two rooms, it has an extremely comfortable feel. The breakfast was very good and the cozy dining room was very nice. Thanks for a great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi Ryan,
I'm so happy you and Sally enjoyed your stay. Sure am glad you were able to spend some time in our cute little town. I hope you'll come back and see us again.
Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My dad and I stayed in Willie's room. We loved it. We loved the reading room, we loved sitting on the front porch and watching the cars go by, and we loved the 1910 original car shed in the back (now filled with lounge chairs). Andi and Paul were great. We had a blast in Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanoftennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi Justin,
Thank you for your lovely review! It was great having you and your Dad visit with us! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again.
Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Schooler House is a beautiful property, both inside and out. The back patio/courtyard is especially charming, with a fountain that is very soothing. I was here in June, so the hydrangea were in full glory--I told my husband that I was staying in "hydrangea heaven".
The breakfasts were sooo good--including home-made warm blueberry sauce for the french toast. Also spectacular were the fresh-from-the-oven scones, the recipe for which Andi guards. Fresh fruit galore and really too much to eat. (I ate it all anyway--totally blew my Weight Watchers discipline!) Altogether it was like staying in a private house with friends who gave me complete privacy--even if I did have to pay to leave!! Andi and Paul are charming hosts who will attend to your every need. PS--If you are sensitive to heat and humidity, this is the place for you!! Air-conditioning first-rate!!

Room Tip: Annie's room is a little quieter than Willie's room, but Willie's room is spectacular wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hi Nancy,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay; I enjoyed having you here! You were really lucky with the weather during your week. Breakfast in the garden was perfect; too hot and sticky now.
Next visit, we can do Weight Watchers! Just let me know and we'll keep you on program. But, I do prefer to pamper everyone, so maybe not. :-)
Hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#7 of 41 in Fredericksburg
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 41 in Fredericksburg
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1303 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3703
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1891 for Mary Schooler, The Schooler House provides guests with an opportunity to live like a Victorian. The home is a true B&B, with 2 rooms, each containing a queen-sized bed, twin sofa bed, bath en suite, gas fireplace, tv, spa robes, and period antiques. The Parlor is a wonderful spot to enjoy the Victorian furniture and pieces, including young ladies autograph books, written in a style and manner from the past.A full breakfast is prepared and served around a Sheridan 3 piece dining room table. The dishes and silver are all over 100 years old, as are many of the serving pieces. In the Winter, the fireplace keeps our guests cozy.The front porch is a great place to watch the town go by. The Trolley and Carriage Tours stop in front of The Schooler House while showing The Rising Sun Tavern, directly across the street. The gardens are full of perennials, carefully selected for their Victorian feel and look. The 1900 corregated metal garage is converted into a lovely garden room for afternoon naps, reading, wine sipping, and just listening to the waterfall in the adjacent pond.For a true Victorian experience where service is our goal, The Schooler House, consistently rated 5 Stars, is the place for your Fredericksburg experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Schooler House Bed And Breakfast
The Schooler House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing