We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was horrible” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast was horrible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

There was no power the first night, however the manager went out of his way and expesnse to provide food and comfort items during the outage. The staff however made no effort to help me find another Hotel that had power. Girls behind the counter just sat on the floor holding flashlights. In the dark of my vehicle with my cell and GPS struggled to find another hotel, just as I was about to leave, the power came back on. The outage was Approx. 5 hours. I wanted to leave because the room without power was near 85 degrees. Breakfast was horrible. Eggs were hard as rubber and that ham thing was so chewy I had to spit it out. Worst nreakfast I ever had. Coffee was great all day and night though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4800, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It is our Goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites - South to impress our guests by exceeding your expectations providing positive memorable service and clean, comfortable accommodations.

We have failed to do that, please accept my sincere apologies for the poor quality of food you received while staying in our hotel. I apologize for the food not being of proper standard during your stay. I have reviewed your comments at our management staff meeting. As a result of your comments we have re focused the food department requiring them to use the exact warming instructions as suggested by the manufacturer. We have also re-trained our breakfast staff to not only prepare the food properly but to waste the food if it sits out past an unacceptable time to insure Quality.

Thank you for taking the time to relate your experiences. It is only with guests like yourself that take the time to let us know our challenges that we can become better at what we do. If you have any further comments or questions please feel free to contact me directly at 540-898-5000 ext. 7882.

Terry English
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites of Fredericksburg
540-898-5000
540-898-7250 Fax

i am the possibility of building relationships



Winner Certificate of Excellence 2012
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    217
    40
    15
    8
See reviews for
304
301
48
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

After a bad experience with management at the Warrenton Road Country Inn and Suites decided to try this location just 9 miles away--------good decision!! Staff very friendly. Room comfy and clean. Location on Rte. 1 perfect for avoiding crazy I 95 traffic near DC when arriving in the late afternoon and departing in the AM. look forward to our next stay. Variety of restaurants in close proximity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4800, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It is our Goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites - South to impress our guests by exceeding your expectations providing positive memorable service and clean, comfortable accommodations.

Thank you for taking the time to relate your experience about our Hotel. I want to assure you we will review your comments at our very next management staff meeting. We are also happy you like the easy on/off access to I-95.

We enjoyed serving your needs. Please feel free to contact me directly if we can be of any future assistance to you.

Terry English
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites of Fredericksburg
540-898-5000
540-898-7250 Fax

i am the possibility of building relationships



Winner Certificate of Excellence 2012
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The room was excellent. The room was clean and their claim of clean items for each stay appears to be true.Their breakfast left a lot to be desired. The sausage, potatoes and eggs were marginal. All the other items were good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4800, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
April 13, 2013
It is our Goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites - South to impress our guests by exceeding your expectations providing positive memorable service and clean, comfortable accommodations.

Thank you for taking the time to relate your experience about our Hotel. I want to assure you we will review your comments at our very next management staff meeting.

We enjoyed serving your needs. Please feel free to contact me directly if we can be of any future assistance to you.

Sincerely,
Terry English
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites of Fredericksburg
540-898-5000
540-898-7250 Fax

i am the possibility of building relationships



Winner Certificate of Excellence 2012
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring,md
Level Contributor
135 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We came with another couple for a meeting in Fredericksburg and were all pleasantly surprised at how nice the place was. Staff excellent. Rooms very nice size, lobby beautiful. Breakfast was very lovely and staff who served it were so nice and friendly. They made sure we didn't run out of anything. If in the area, we would return.

Room Tip: all rooms quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seymour E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4800, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
It is our Goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites - South to impress our guests by exceeding your expectations providing positive memorable service and clean, comfortable accommodations.

Thank you for taking the time to relate your experience about our Hotel. I want to assure you we will review your comments at our very next management staff meeting.

We enjoyed serving your needs. Please feel free to contact me directly if we can be of any future assistance to you.

Sincerely,
Terry English
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites of Fredericksburg
540-898-5000
540-898-7250 Fax

i am the possibility of building relationships



Winner Certificate of Excellence 2012
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was pleased with the quality of the hotel and the friendly staff. My family and I had never stayed at this hotel before but we were so happy with our stay, we booked another room on the way back to NY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4800, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
It is our Goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites - South to impress our guests by exceeding your expectations providing positive memorable service and clean, comfortable accommodations.

Thank you for taking the time to relate your experience about our Hotel. I want to assure you we will review your comments at our very next management staff meeting.

We enjoyed serving your needs. Please feel free to contact me directly if we can be of any future assistance to you.

Sincerely,
Terry English
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites of Fredericksburg
540-898-5000
540-898-7250 Fax

i am the possibility of building relationships



Winner Certificate of Excellence 2012
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
817 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night. The hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. The hotel was quiet and we slept well. There was a free buffet breakfast with hot and cold items. This buffet offered more choices than usual- fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, yogurt, French toast sticks, breads,and waffles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4800, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It is our Goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites - South to impress our guests by exceeding your expectations providing positive memorable service and clean, comfortable accommodations.

Thank you for taking the time to relate your experience about our Hotel. I want to assure you we will review your comments at our very next management staff meeting.

We enjoyed serving your needs. Please feel free to contact me directly if we can be of any future assistance to you.

Terry English
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites of Fredericksburg
540-898-5000
540-898-7250 Fax

i am the possibility of building relationships



Winner Certificate of Excellence 2012
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is well appointed and looks very nice. It was super crowded and completely full when we got there. In the lobby they had fresh popcorn for the guests and plenty of people on hand to help you if you needed it. The rooms were spacious and the pillows were full-sized. The beds were very hard so the sleep was slow to come. The heater was on low-heat and when it cycled on and off it was noisy. Additionally, we had to unplug the refrigerator because it too was noisy. At checkout I let the front desk know of the problems and they said thank you but didn't offer a discount, or for that matter an apology. We checked out and later in the day we noticed that we must have left our son's game system at the hotel, because it wasn't in the car. We tried calling them all day and there was no answer. I even called Hilton Rewards and they didn't have an alternate way to contact them. I waited until the next morning and called them again and still no one was answering the phone. We had to drive back to the hotel, two days after we checked out to see if anyone on the cleaning staff had found my son's game system. When we got there, we were initially told that no one had turned anything in. But after a quick conversation with the cleaning staff supervisor, and with a clarification that we were standing at the front desk, it was found. I let the front desk know that I had been calling for two days and was informed that their phone system was out. It was a series of unfortunate events, but hopefully they'll have their phones fixed soon so that other future guests can reach them if necessary. We would stay here again, but leave all the electronics at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4800, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It is our Goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites - South to impress our guests by exceeding your expectations providing positive memorable service and clean, comfortable accommodations.

We have failed to do that, please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you received while staying in our hotel. I apologize for the phone system during your stay, I also believe in 99% of all lost and founds, and we take pride in being proactive to our guests. I must tell you this is not the service we are accustomed to giving. Therefore, I have a need to explain, the phones were out of our control and a challenge with the provider. After researching the dates it became apparent that the Executive Housekeeping Manager and the person in charge of lost and found were on vacation. I have reviewed your comments at our management staff meeting.

Thank you for taking the time to relate your experiences. It is only with guests like yourself that take the time to let us know our challenges that we can become better at what we do. If you would be so kind as to contact me in my office at 540-898-5000 ext. 7882 I would be glad to insure your 100% satisfaction guaranteed!
Terry English
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites of Fredericksburg
540-898-5000
540-898-7250 Fax

i am the possibility of building relationships



Winner Certificate of Excellence 2012
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#12 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Address: 4800 Market Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#5 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Fredericksburg South
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South Hotel Fredericksburg
Hampton Inn Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing