We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite go-to restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Bethem

Bistro Bethem
Ranked #32 of 429 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A favorite go-to restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was surprised to see several negative reviews for Bistro Bethem because our experience has always been first rate - both for food and service. Blake is a master craftsman in the kitchen. He has an especially deft touch with seafood.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    83
    23
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst eating experience that I can recall”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

How do they get their raving reviews? We ate there for an anniversary and it was anything but special. Split pea and ham soup had 5 or 6 split peas. Was more like dishwater. Had some steak strips that may have come from a can. Ordered potato fingers and got 4 tiny potatoes that were covered over by the few little strips of beef and cheap sauce. All were NOT even warm. Dinner for my wife and I, with tip, came to $78. I guess we could have had 3 strawberries for dessert for an additional 12 dollars each. What a joke. Oh, on the positive side: The bread was quite good but we got only two small pieces which after eaten, the bread plates and the dipping plate were quickly removed. Additionally, they did keep the water glass topped off.

This is the first review that I have ever written but it is certainly a place that deserves it.
If there was ever a restaurant in which I would never return, this is it. I'd like to interview anyone that ever went back for a second visit. I suppose they get the unsuspecting visitors to downtown Fredericksburg.

In summation: Poor food, poorly prepared, scant servings, noisy atmosphere, and exorbitant prices for what you get. We went away hungry, poorer and very disillusioned.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JSDorfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Terrible service, slow food at ridiculous prices. Went to celebrate graduation weekend with long-standing reservation. We were the second table seated after they kept everyone waiting outside opening late. It took forever to get through the meal -- about 2 1/2 hours and we skipped dessert because we didn't want to waste another hour waiting around for it. Small over priced portions; several of our party had a "Beef Two Ways" special which despite being ordered medium rare showed up as shoe leather. Expected much more from a restaurant that's been around a few years and has the hype. (I have no idea what was wrong this day, but am guessing the chef didn't show up or something which would explain the slowness and food quality.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mariner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This restaurant was the #1 recommendation from our B&B manager when we checked in, and it certainly lived up to her glowing description. The restaurant is located in the heart of Fredericksburg. We walked a few blocks from our B&B to reach it. I had made a reservation, but there were plenty of tables when we arrived at 7:30 p.m. The tables did fill in by 8:30. It's a relatively small storefront that runs quite a way with tables along the middle and side walls to the back. The bar runs along the opposite wall and can seat a dozen or more people. The menu was extensive, but we both opted for one of the "special", the braised short ribs. It was wonderful! Service was very prompt and the servers were very attentive. At a nearby table, one diner got up from the table to go to the bar, and while he was gone, the server came along and refolded his napkin and placed it on the table where he had been sitting. Very attentive! Our bill for two including tax and tip was just over $100 and included 2 glasses of wine, a shared appetizer, two entrees, a shared desert, and 2 cups of coffee. We considered it a bargain for a highly frequented tourist town like Fredericksburg. Would highly recommend this little romantic restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelcriticfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place for a special evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

A small some times noisy eatery with a truly superb menu, attentive but not intrusive wait staff, and a excellent selection of beverages. A little pricey but very special.
If you are a big eater expecting large portions, you'll probably be a little disappointed. But if you want very well prepared food of reasonable portion size, give this one a try. For a senior citizen couple out for the evening, the meal is filling and satisfying.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bethem also viewed

Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Bistro Bethem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing