We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discover old town Fredericksburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Bethem

Bistro Bethem
Ranked #33 of 426 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Discover old town Fredericksburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The food was great. The service was phenomenal. Give this local business a chance. You could spend about the same money at a corporate restaurant on route 3 but you won't be able to experience the historic district.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanis43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    83
    23
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“HIt or big miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This place can be amazing or awful in regards to the food. When food was undercooked we were told that this was how the chef prepares it-chicken should not be eaten if pink no matter how the chef wants to prepare it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank larbfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Trendy and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I visit downtown F'berg a few times a year, and I almost always have at least one meal in this cute litte eatery. The menu is pretty interesting, offering twists on old favorites, and the staff is lovely, helpful and efficient. Given my druthers, I'd wish the menu were a bit more expanded, and more bread was given before the food arrives (this last visit, there were 3 of us, and only 2 pieces of breat in the basket. Once it was gone -- within moments, actually -- the bread and accompanying balsamic/EVOO was whisked away, never to be seen again -- or even asked if we wanted more :-( ) However, this won't deter me from eating there again -- fixing it will make a very good restaurant even better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonethat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Are you kidding!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wife and I sat at the bar last night August 23, 6pm. as we try to do when in town. We had the worst customer service experience in a very long time. The women behind the bar was rude, unattentive and just scrowled at everything. If you are sick-stay home...if you are in a bad mood leave it in the car before you get to work...we paid hard earned money for the rude and obnoxious behavior..the pizzas were cold because she just sat and watched them sit on the pizza counter..the vibe was all negative. This is the first time we have not enjoyed our experience there..it will be a while for us to get the nerve up to see her face.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank arl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

his was our first time for dinner here. The menu was small, but very innovative. The knowledgeable waiter (Sean) described every dish we asked about and also pointed out the signature dishes. He was also a help with the wine selection from a well chosen wine list. It was a very good meal. even for my wife who is not an adventurous eater.

Some small negatives. We ordered two glasses of a nice crisp Italian white, they took a tad too much time getting to our table. Our starters and entrees were delicious with the French Sauvignon Blanc, but not piping hot. I think that is intentional given the VA heat. Does someone know?

In summary, this is a great place. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bethem also viewed

Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 
Fredericksburg, VA
 
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Bistro Bethem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing