We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT INDIAN CUISINE - A TRULY HIDDEN TREASURE”
Review of Taj Indian Cuisine

Taj Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Taj Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 430 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT INDIAN CUISINE - A TRULY HIDDEN TREASURE”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We love this little hidden treasure... The Food is really great, Naan Selections beyond belief, never so much to choose from. The service has always been exceptional, very friendly and helpful, with true knowledge of the menu. We have never been there when the Buffet is offered, so cannot comment on that. But the Menu is vast, a great many choices to be made. I love Lamb and both times it was melt in your mouth delicious and tender, Hubby went more dangerous with his curries, and learned to order milder, loved them and the Tandoori dishes.

So thankful to have this great place to get a great meal, within a 45 minute drive of home, and problem parking.

Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother, bad part of town, poor service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for late supper after traveling all day, as was recommended by hotel and area advertising. BIG disappointment! Slow, slow service with bad service, had to ask for our tea several times, were told "a few seconds" which turned into 20". Food was cold and bland, not what you would expect for Indian cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capecoralbeachlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian cuisine”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Delighted to have this delicious, authentic Indian cuisine restaurant here in town. We especially love the Naan breads (great selection to choose from) and the buffet. There is also a great selection of entrees for Vegans and Vegetarians. Service has always been gracious and helpful without being intrusive. This is our favorite local dining spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyseas120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go, go, go... excellent Indian food!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We decided to try Taj after ready the good reviews on Yelp. I was a little worried when we realized which shopping center it was in, but we pressed on because of the reviews.

We were amazed at how nice it is inside. The service was exceptional! We had the mango lassie, naan, chicken samosa, chicken tiki masala, and butter chicken. Everything was absolutely delicious! The chicken could not have been more tender, the sauces had just the right amount of spiciness, the samosas were perfectly crispy married to a very flavorful filling. The mango lassie tasted very fresh.

We will be back and we are so glad it is not far off I95, I think there will be after work, I don't feel like cooking, take out in our future!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very nice!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The sqeeky door not all that great but the food..wonderfull the best food ive had in a while they could improve it by having music in the bacround and dimming the lights but it was great

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hskska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Taj Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing