We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Fredericksburg VA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A truly amazing B&B. The grounds are beautifully manicured with assorted waterfalls, and many different sitting areas. The B&B is equally beautiful with the lovely antique furniture and décor fit for royalty, right down to the smallest of details and comfort. We did a little sightseeing, and Jenny(owner/innkeeper) was right there to assist in our directions and other sites we might want to see. I suggest you make time for breakfast, it is an experience all on its own with wonderful delicate seasonings and fruit, baked peach French toast was heavenly. Jenny is 5-star all the way. We have made plans to go back next year and 2015.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaylenaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The property is beautifully cared for, spotlessly clean and Jenny has impeccable taste with the decor. The breakfasts were lovely, gardens lovingly landscaped. Jenny was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and her local knowledge a bonus. The only pity is that we live in England and it is a little too far to pop over for a week-end. In the future, Jenny could start a business training Innkeepers how to provide such excellent accommodation and service.

Room Tip: We stayed in Miss Ellie's suite and it was really lovely so we cannot comment but have no doubt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaSSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a wonderful honeymoon stay at the Lavender Heights Bed & Breakfast. Our innkeeper, Jenny, made all of the arrangements for in-suite massages and provided us with brilliant recommendations for walking trails and local dining--do not miss the Poppy Hill Tuscan Kitchen on Charles Street (http://www.ciaopoppyhill.com/). Ellie's Suite was well-appointed, and the breakfast delicious. Look no further; this is where you want to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Lovely surroundings and the location across the river from Fredericksburg was perfect for quiet. Drive over took about 5-6 minutes. Excellent breakfasts. Jenny was the perfect host. A 2-3 minute drive from the B&B was a wonderful place for a 3+ mile walk. If we ever return to this area, Lavender Heights is certainly where we will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were very warmly welcomed by the Innkeeper Jenny who immediately made us feel at home. Lavender Heights is a beautiful house with lots of interesting features. Jenny has done a fantastic job with the decor. Our room was full of character, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Her recommendations for places to eat were excellent. We were on a tour of some of the Civil War battlefields and the situation and ambience of Lavender Heights meant we could fully unwind after a hard day on the battlefield! The breakfasts were outstanding reflecting Jenny's high standards and attention to detail.

Room Tip: No problem with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwhittell107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

we spent the night at Lavender Heights last week to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. Just want to say that we had a lovely time. Jenny is the perfect host and made us feel so welcome. The house Is beautifully decorated and all the rooms are lovely. Our room was quite comfortable, the bed slept wonderfully. Lots of nice extras in all rooms. This is a really nice property and the entire outside is really nice as well. We walked all around outside and really enjoyed the grounds. And for those who want a little history there is even a small cemetery in the back of the grounds. Also, the breakfast that Jenny served was delicious. If you want a really nice place to stay this is it! We will definitely go back for another visit!

Room Tip: all the rooms are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandycc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Found Lavender Heights on the Internet and booked because the picture was so appealing. It's the best place to stay in Fredericksburg, convenient to all the attractions and such a lovely locale. The house and grounds are gorgeous and at the same time filled with interesting stories. We found a new friend in innkeeper Jenny Holbert with many interests in common such as gardening and cooking. The Ellie suite was marvelously comfortable and Jenny's breakfasts were awesome. She provided much helpful advice in navigating around the area. Lavender Heights is at the top of our list for our next trip back to Fredericksburg!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericks...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 41 in Fredericksburg
662 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405-2035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $186 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, elegant experience on the heights above the city of Fredericksburg in the quiet village of Falmouth. Beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fluffy towels, soft bathrobes, artisan soaps, TV and Wi-fi. Perhaps a soaking tub to melt your cares away! A full, delicious breakfast will start your day in the Sun Room looking out over the gardens and koi pond. We are just a few minutes from Old Town, University of Mary Washington and Civil War battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing