We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B = Beautiful & Best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This B&B = Beautiful & Best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lavender Heights is simply a wonderful retreat. We never went to a B&B before and were a bit nervous about what we would find. However LH is so gorgeous and the owner Jenny is such a gracious host. She immediately put us at ease with her kind hospitality and loving home. We celebrated our 15th Anniversary and this was perfect. We stayed in the Ellie Suite, which is warm and inviting and large with two rooms plus a large bath with a great jacuzzi tub. The bed linens were sumptuously soft. We really want to come back when her garden is in bloom to enjoy all the little niches to sit and enjoy. Her recommendation for a local French restaurant was perfect! Breakfast was delicious and hearty. Our weekend away was exactly what we needed and more than we imagined.

Room Tip: Lower room (Ellie's) has a king size bed (others on upper level have queen), sitting room and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Owner at Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Come back now--the spring flowers are in full bloom! The wisteria vines throughout the gardens are awesome. Can you smell the wafting scent?? This is an amazing spring and the peonies are about to bloom as the azaleas pop next to them. Thanks for your great comments and hope to see you in full color!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
88
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to Lavender Heights to celebrate both of our birthdays that are only days apart. We stayed in the Elle Suite and this was a first staying at a B&B for both of us. We were completely blown away with our experience! The Inn is incredible and the room was nothing less than amazing. We woke-up each morning to an amazing breakfast carefully planned by Jenny. We felt like we were staying with family and were extremely sad to leave Jenny and her beautiful house. We made a life long friend and will be back very soon!! We purchased the Grapes & Grains package and definitely recommend it! It makes for a fun filled weekend and if you cannot fit it all in no worries, there is not expiration date on the tours and tastings and gives you another reason to come and visit again! Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a weekend at Lavender Heights!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Owner at Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I'm SO happy that your first B&B experience was at Lavender Heights, and that I could make it special for you. What a lovely couple you make, and you had a great idea to do the Grapes and Grains Trail for your adventure in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We checked the reviews before booking, and they were completely accurate. Delicious and generous breakfast, beautiful and immaculate room, wonderfully restored period house, and a kind and gracious proprietor. Talking with Jenny was one of the most enjoyable aspects of our stay. There is a great outdoor space as well. We want to come back to take better advantage of that when it is warmer. This was our favorite B&B experience yet, and it's an easy getaway from Washington. This was our first visit to Fredericksburg--it is charming and there are wonderful dining options, not to mention wineries an easy drive away. We will definitely come back to Lavender Heights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinaD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came to Fredericksburg for our anniversary, looking for a special place to stay --
and we found it!! Lavender Heights is a beautiful home with three very private guest rooms, incredible beds and luxurious linens. The most important aspect of this home is Jenny whose warmth, grace and hospitality envelops her guests, from her personal attention to each guest's interests to her superb, creative breakfasts. Lavender Heights is located on a historic bluff overlooking Fredericksburg, where the Union artillery started their bombardment of the city. A breathtaking drive along the Rappahannock River takes you directly into the historic sites of Fredericksburg and its incredible restaurants. An outstanding holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjf_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I came for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Jenny was warm and welcoming, even calling the day before to see if we had any questions or special requests. The inn is beautifully decorated, and our room had a large bathroom with a soaking tub. The beds were incredibly comfortable, with microfiber sheets that were the most luxurious linens I've ever slept on. Breakfast was delicious. There is lots to do in the area, and Jenny was very helpful in figuring which of the many sites to visit and giving us restaurant suggestions. I will definitely recommend the inn to my friends and would stay there again for the next trip to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan1001_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I wanted a "get-away" trip for her birthday. We've stayed in scores of really nice B&Bs. However, there comes that certain time, when you pick, for whatever reason, a certain place to stay, and everything comes together in choreographed perfection. That's what the Lavender Heights B&B was for us.

To start with, the B&B is really easy to get to from the highways. We traveled south from Annapolis via 301, 206 and 218 on a cold snowy day. Upon driving up onto the property we were so impressed with the peaceful surroundings and the remarkable view of Fredericksburg and surrounding area from the hill upon which the Lavender sits. Everything on the property is immaculately groomed and spacious. Also, you are really close to all of the historical sites and downtown attractions. Now, let's go inside the lovely home.

Jenny, the Lavender Heights inn keeper, is without question, one of the most gracious people we've ever met. She gave us the tour of her home which is immaculate and appointed in such a fashion as to be truly warm and inviting for guests to sit and relax. Our room was the Shannaberry and it was SO cozy. The bed was pure luxury. The shower/bath was really gorgeous.

Breakfast.........Jenny, you are the greatest! There was much thought, care and depth that went into the delicious breakfasts that we savored.

If you're looking for pure relaxation, the Lavender Heights B&B is it. We SHALL return. Thank you Jenny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masterchiefpianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for a weekend since we had a company Christmas party to attend in town. The B&B was neat and well decorated, our room and bed very comfortable. The linens were soft and luxurious. We especially enjoyed the breakfast as Jenny put much effort into providing a first class meal. There's an inviting sitting room with a gas fireplace, perfect for resting & reading. I highly recommend this B&B and we will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.4 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, elegant experience on the heights above the city of Fredericksburg in the quiet village of Falmouth. Beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fluffy towels, soft bathrobes, artisan soaps, TV and Wi-fi. Perhaps a soaking tub to melt your cares away! A full, delicious breakfast will start your day in the Sun Room looking out over the gardens and koi pond. We are just a few minutes from Old Town, University of Mary Washington and Civil War battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing