We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrific”

Jay's Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #302 of 432 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“horrific”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had an after-wedding brunch at this place. a party of 12 overloaded the staff,even though we were the only people in the place.Orders were wrong, it took 15+ minutes just to get some coffee, and over 1 hour to get the food, and it was prepared poorly, and cold by the time the orders got to the table. Stay away

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdh4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Strange”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here one Saturday night based off of a good review in the local paper. This was probably our first mistake. Jay's doesn't seem to know what it wants to be. Is it a restaurant or a night club? The food is overly pretentious and servers are not at all knowledgable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruther Glen, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

WEnt to this establishment on a Sunday evening. Drinks and food choices over priced. If you are going to serve seafood, should taste fresh and not frozen! The service was okay. The music choice was not ideal. The music playing was very loud and had a lot of curse words. Very unnecessary for a Sunday evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great New Place to try in Fredericksburg”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Quite a FUN place to go... really interesting menu, very eclectic, and not your normal, boring thing that everyone else is doing! Definitely a place for FOODIES and not really for the novice palate, i guess that's the ONLY downside. So aside from having an AMAZING menu, these guys have an AWESOME night club afterhours too... Totally the new hang-out spot in Fredericksburg... CHEERS!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to go!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The most outstanding restaurant and lounge in Fredericksburg. Excellent food, service and atmosphere. I had been dinning with my family here on Sunday Brunch and I loved this place. 4 courses brunch, accompanied with live Jazz music was a great experience, defiantly something unique and classy for Fredericksburg. Their Facebook page updated regularly with events and specials going on every week, so me and my friends are always on it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Fredericksburg, VA
 
Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Jay's Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing